My 2017: Welcoming the New Year~ Southern Style!

in #my20176 years ago (edited)

I live in Atlanta Georgia USA and the way Southerners celebrate New Years is to eat blackeye peas, greens, and cornbread.

blackeye peas.jpg

In my lifetime,
I have heard many reasons why we eat these specific foods on
New Year's Day.

One of my favorite stories is that during the American Civil War, when General Sherman came through and burned down MY town, he also burned the fields on his way to the sea at Savannah. In his ignorance, he left the blackeye pea fields because he deemed them unfit for human consumption and only good for animal fodder. He just didn't know a cook who knew how to cook them proper. And they are eaten on New Years's Day to remember those lost in the war.

Whether that is true or not is debatable. I am inclined to disbelieve it because we have confederate memorial day to remember the southern soldiers who fought and died in that war.

The peas represent pennies.

The most common folklore / wives tale is that if you eat the peas on #NewYear'sDay then your coin money in the coming year will be proportionate to how many peas you eat. The more you eat, the more coin money you will have.

Greens are paper currency

They represent dollars. The more greens you eat , the more dollars you will have in the coming year. Greens can be collard greens, turnip greens, kale, cabbage, spinach, or even salad greens.

Cornbread is gold!

I think it is from the golden color but in keeping with the wife's tale... the more cornbread you eat, the more gold you will have in the coming year.

So it is all about the money and prosperity.

Or is it?

MY theory is that the expense of thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, Christmas presents, parties, and New Year Eve celebrations put a burden on family fianances and come the new year, money is tight, and these foods are quite inexpensive.

The reward is just incentive to make it more palatable. I personally love them all, especially with tomatoes, onion, and porkchops!

New Year's Dinner (2).jpg

I made my own new traditional addition this year. The red disk is a slice of a root vegetable called a beet. They are both sweet and savory. They are very healthy for you and are best steamed...

You GOT IT!

For me they represent

CRYPTOCURRENCY!

How cool it that?

*Special thanks to @anomadsoul for this contest and @blocktrades for their support.

May you all have a very safe, prosperous, steemy and Happy New Year!!

Sort:  

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Awesome! Thank you @qurator for including my post in the #tastytuesday competition!

@rastalikelove thank you for your encouraging comment and support. I hope you have a wonderful New year!

and you I hope you have a wonderful New year thank you @strypes

Thank you!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 03:00:51
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 428.65/800.00
Total Photos: 59
Total comments: 86
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

#photography
only this time I was amazed to see it, something really beautiful

Thank you for your comment

#photography
I see where you go, I want to go there too

I only ate a few black-eyed peas after midnight... hopefully I earn more than 3 pennies this year haha. Love the symbolism of the beets (even if I don't actually like beets)! Happy New Year!

Thank you @therovingreader for your encouraging comment and support. I hope you have an awesome year despite the lack of southern veggies in your diet on New Year's Day.

Looks healthy, love the story attached to the whole detailed meal @strypes

I am glad you enjoyed it. @joanstewart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60875.99
ETH 3386.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57