My 2017: Welcoming the new year - Movies, Bowling, Gaming, Sleeping

in #my20176 years ago

@anomadsoul thanks to @blocktrades is doing a contest here asking people to explain what new years is like for them. Unfortunately, my new years has never been that "amazing", but I can't pass up the chance of winning 250 Steem and everyone's new years is unique correct?


SOURCE

FAMILY

For the last couple of years I lived at home we had a tradition of watching movies until the New Year hit. I'm not talking about any movie, but trilogies or series of movies that generally started at around noon and last until midnight. If my memory serves me correctly the first year we watched Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and then Die Hard. The day was filled with soda, junk food (such as chips and queso, pizza, weenies and bbq, pizza rolls, etc), and laying around as a family. The first year my younger brother was going crazy before midnight between the sugar high and all the excess unburned off energy. Throw in some candy and the picture below would be close to our spread most of the day.


SOURCE

Random Years

Some years in high school I would go with the church youth group where we'd bring in the new year bowling under the blacklights. It was a fun "safe" way to bring in the New Years and hang out with friends. Back in high school I really enjoyed bowling and had some friends that enjoyed it as well so it worked out and kept us out of trouble. My wife's sister has wanted to go the past couple of years, but with our son who's around 2, it's not an adventure we're wanting to take at this stage in our/his life.


SOURCE

One year, at a friends house, we went and toilet papered "TPed" a house. It was across the street from her house and we were caught in the first 5 or 10 minutes of starting so we didn't get much done. If I remember correctly that was the first and only time I tried that. My brother, on the other hand, spent many of nights TPing houses with his friends. He had the added help his friends dad was the fire chief and had a police scanner. Any time the cops were called about wrapping houses his dad just rounded them up and drove home.


SOURCE

Present

Nowadays my wife and I are lucky to make it past 10 PM on New Years Eve. Exciting I know, but any time our son stays up passed 8 PM he's up the next morning at 6 AM or before and usually the later he stays up the earlier he wakes up. I don't regret it though because over the next few years as our kids grow older it will be a chance for us to develop new traditions together as a family.


SOURCE

Just a reminder @anomadsoul thanks to @blocktrades is doing a contest here. Share your New Years experience for all to see and possibly win up to 250 Steem.

Sort:  

nice post.

Lol - my kids are the same way. Up super early if they stay up late. Yep, we rarely make it past 10 PM ourselves. Too funny how our lives change as we have kids and get older. :) We invited some friends over this year and I asked them if they were "at home in bed by 9 or party until midnight" kind of people. I'm hoping for the 9PM kind of party. ;)

Haha yeah we are usually the first to leave anywhere.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00