Fitinfun on steemit for 8 months MY-NICHE contest entry

in #my-niche6 years ago (edited)

my-niche and steemit fitinfun.jpg

What do you know about steemit?

My niche is natural weight loss and I came to steemit in June 2017 for the Alexa ranking. I hoped to drive traffic to my blog, videos, art, and social media sites. Steemit has done that very well over these last months.

But surprise! Right from the get go; I started to make money for my work here. Not very much at first, but enough to get me more interested in posting here.

Your experience on steemit

Steemit has changed my life in many ways. I have a very low expenses in Thailand and steemit money has been covering a lot of them since mid-November 2017. This is a big relief and a big help to me.

Steemit’s benefits

  • This is my first time into crypto and I did not need to have money to get in on it
  • Finding people who care about and comment on my posts
  • Connecting with people who support my posts with regular upvotes
  • Getting my son @bxlphabet to join and be happy to post in steemit
  • Connecting with other people I enjoy working with.
  • Getting increased traffic to my other sites
  • Learning and accumulating other crypto coins through referral links

The downsides

  • I’ve dropped many balls I was juggling before I got into steemit since I work here so much now. Most of my other work is being neglected now.
  • I feel worried about things like whale wars and large power downs from major players
  • I feel despair that more newcomers do not succeed here. I look at this @arcange report and wish the numbers of little people like me were bigger. The small number of people at the top does not seem healthy.

acrange stats.PNG

Overall – steemit is very positive for me, I will keep working here with optimism.

This is my entry for the MY-NICHE contest by @awolesigideon with the theme of steemit.

fitinfun before and after difference.jpg

Sort:  

You might think your niche is natural weight loss, but I think if you look closer it's about motivating people. First you motivated yourself to reach your own goals and then you decided to share your story to help others.

If you accept that your niche is motivating others you will open your range of topics and honestly feel you'll see a large step forward in your steemit growth.

Keep plugging away, keep motivating, keep growing.

You really have no idea how much I needed to read this today. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and I will keep going.

Well I'm glad that my words found you at the right time. Funny how sometimes we get exactly what we need at the time we need it most.

My words are sincere and look forward to reading your posts.

Your niche is unique and we hope you have encouraged some Steemians to see it's possible to lose weight if you have done it in the past 10 months or so. The results show.
It's disappointing to see the charts especially the 'Inactive' accounts or some say 'dead fish'. The retention rates are low and many give up easily and we can see why. You can put in hours and hours into your post, but get cents and this annoys the author. It takes persistence and a hell of a lot belief. We share your philosophy of never giving up. Maybe changing your angle or your stance on how you will be active or approach Steemit, but the overall experience on here can be positive and beneficial in the long-run. Thanks for sharing this. Will we be seeing you today? @maverickfoo is doing a 100Degree workshop in Bangkok for new and existing Steemians. For us, it's a way to meet some Steemians and gain some more tips and tricks. If you didn't know, there's a link to his post and then the event in our latest post. Hope to see you there, if not then next meet-up in Bangkok! :)

No! - There's no way I can get there today and this is the first I heard of it although I did know he was trying to get it together. Have fun for me - I'm so sorry not to attend. I think he was charging a fee and there's no way I can do that now; but I hope everyone learns new skills and posts about it here. Please make sure I see yours when it's up.

The point you mention about working hours on a post is why I do short posts now. Before November I was doing gigantic posts a few times a week - for nothing and no one. I changed strategy to do 2-4 short posts daily and more interacting. This is been a big improvement. 80% of my posts go into some challenge or contest now - but I mostly stay to the themes of my work while doing this.

Losing "half my size" took 4 years; ending in 2011. Since then, all I do is try to help other morbidly obese people get out of the mess too :)

Nope, this one is for FREE! And sorry not to have told you earlier. Should have contacted other Bangkok Steemians to let them know about this event. This is our bad, we can't assume other people would find out this information for themselves. We should spread the word too!

It seems like this event will be a starter kit session to Steemit, but we might learn a few things that we didn't know before. We shall see. It's just Sam attending as Becca is working. Must come next time or when there's a general meet-up and we'll be sure to spread the word. ;)

Yes - please do let me know.

But last night, one of the Aunties of my Thai friends' was in town and worked me over in a massage to help my arthritis. I had sweat running down my face, was shrieking, and the drinks kept coming! It was great fun for all! I think it helped but today I have pain on my pain lol. I'm not going anywhere today for sure.

Also - if you two ever want to come to MRT Sutthisan. We have a wonderful weekend market Sat and Sun 3 PM - dark. I would be happy to shop and eat with you :)

I miss so much here on steemit. My feed is impossible and I'm not in chats. I never get to everything in any given day.

What do you two do here? I think I need to find some real work soon possibly - not sure. I decided not to go the teaching route, but maybe I should have.

Ah! Yes, after a night like that you do need a rest day to recover. The event was great. Turnout was lower than Sam expected. About 10 Steemians, mostly new. Didn't take as many photos but will do a write-up about it.

We'll take you on the invite if we're ever in the area of Sutthisan.

There is a lot going on in Steemit and we struggle to keep up with great content and our upvoting is only limited as we don't want to go below a certain amount for voting power. Still we try our best in two.

Sam is currently studying for a MBA and will be done at the end of the year. Becca has gone down the teaching route, but is enjoying it! 😊 There are several part-time opportunities if you want to test out the profession and school since you'll only enjoy the work if they go hand-in-hand. If you learn the Thai lanaguage then more doors in different industries will open up.

I have my MBA and my BBA is Accounting. I was a uni prof in the past. I taught little kids how to ski for a brief time - I'm not sure that teaching children is for me, but you never know.

Kids usually are drawn to me but not so much here in Thailand. It's striking, since kids have always come to me, but here they are shy. I think it's because they know some English but don't want to speak it maybe.

What ages are at Becca's school?

I'm glad you went to the meetup. Small is a start at least. My son @bxlphabet just went to one in San Diego and got motivated :)

Definitely keep your power up here. I try never to go below 85% and better at 90%+. It makes a difference over time.

My Thai language skills are very poor. I could win a prize on how bad I have caught on :)

Wow, you're well qualified. There could be some business oriented jobs, but Sam hasn't started liking yet. He was told there are recruitment agencies that could help out too!

Thai kids are curious, but yes, they can be shy to speak. Becca teaches from 1.5 yrs to 12 yrs. It's quite diverse and she says she likes it as she learns how to deal with different age groups.

The meet-up was good and Maverick did say he only gave people less than a week's notice, so next time there will be a longer notice period. It's good to hear your son managed to go to one too and get motivated to be more active on the platform.

If you are here for the long-term, it would be beneficial to try to get into the language. Sam was reminded last night by his dad's former colleague who has been living in Thailand for the past 15 years or so to get learning! Start off with flash cards and progress from there.

I think I should go the recruiter route with my quals. I do know there are a couple of good agencies here and I will send links when I dig them out. I love kids - but I really don't think I have that type of energy at my ancient age :)

Well, congratulations on all you've accomplished-- both on Steemit, and especially off. Wow!

I, too, worry a bit about the future of this community... too much greed and short sightedness; I hope it doesn't destroy us.

I'll have to check out his contest!

It's a good one - One theme per week and it's helping me clear my thoughts :)

Great job! Great changes! Congratulations! I really want to visit Thailand! :).

I hope you do - It's a wonderful place. Thank you for the compliments.

There is no confusion that steemit is a great platform.I am introducing people my blog by commenting.Sometimes I share my blog on facebook.You are a responsable person that I know.Thank so much.I am always with you.

Commenting is a good strategy here especially in the beginning. You just have to keep all the balls in the air here and be persistent. Thank you so much for your support. I really appreciate this.

Thank you so much

great information.i appreciate you...

That's really amazing,.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33