Music to Steemit By - March '21 Edition - Track 4

Whilst writing about my choice of track 3 and the tinge of sadness that came with it, my choice for track 4 was obvious to me. Open the link below in a new window to play the track whilst you hear my story.

Pachelbel - Canon

To many, this track will evoke memories of joy and happiness as it's probably one of the most played songs at weddings. In fact, it was played at my younger sister's wedding as she was walked down the aisle by my mum. That's right, not my dad. He passed away a few years before with his final words to my brother-in-law being "look after my daughter for me". I can't listen to this or write this without crying. The reason? It's also the track that was played at my father's funeral.

I've played the violin since I was 5. For my GCSE music, I had to perform a group piece and so I chose to play Pachelbel's Canon (1st violin) in a string quartet. This meant hours and hours of violin practise at home in my bedroom. Unbeknown to me at the time, this brought my dad immense joy hence its appearance at these memorable events. I'm blubbering like a baby. I miss you dad. I so wish you'd been here to meet my wife, baby boy and my next little boy. I hope I've made you proud.


March '21 Edition so far

  1. Pharrell Williams - Happy
  2. Boom! Shake the Room - DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince
  3. Jive Bunny & The Mastermixers - Swing The Mood
  4. Pachelbel - Canon

image.png
Source License

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54