Music Monday (feel free to add your own music)

in #musicmonday6 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture it’s true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

I hope everyone is well has enjoyed a good weekend. I did try to get online for last weeks #musicmonday .. but as you are probably aware the site was down. Anyway, my choice for today is a modern musical masterstroke that invokes memories of the 80's infused synth laden soundtrack of my childhood. I hope you enjoy.

This isn't about making me Steem so please save your upvotes and reward the songs that you feel are worthy, although equally if my song stands out to you then I'd appreciate the vote. Any resteems would be much appreciated, all are invited and welcomed to join us in sharing and listening to a diverse range of music.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: You Opened Up My Heart
Band: The Slow Readers Club
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

Hey hey dude, it’s been a while since I dropped you a tune...
This one is short and sweet however it’s a truly beautiful piece.
A solo composition by the insanely talented RHCP guitarist
John Frusciante, headphones on dudes this is class.
John Frusciante - Ramparts

EDIT.
For those interested, here is a much, much longer version. It never gets old...

Hey my friend .. its been a while .. but like the prodigal son you return with a breathtaking composition and a captivating slice of musical nirvana .. music for the soul @tremendospercy .. love it!

Plus the long version is going to aid me greatly in writing down some ideas I've been mulling over. Thank you for the music dude .. I really enjoyed this one!

One of my favourite parts of Mondays on STEEMit,

This one caught me funny this week. Weezer has recently covered Africa by Toto. Well, Toto has answered by covering a Weezer song! Sounds good too.

I think more bands should be doing this.

That’s awesome lol I think they did a good job! Cool coming from an old band. This is also my favorite part of Monday’s!

Ha awesome I think someone posted the Weezer Africa cover recently (it may have even been you) so it's interesting to hear the reply .. which is actually pretty awesome .. and certainly has my seal of approval! Tit for tat covers could be a great new musical movement that would be sure to unearth some unexpected gems, equally an excellent way to revive some flagging careers. I like it!! Thanks for the music my friend, I really enjoyed this one.

Another Irish one this week. I saw Sinead O'Connor perform in this in The Olympic Ballroom in Dublin in 1986 supporting the Waterboys and it just blew me away.

oh this song, and her voice so powerful, so raw and full of emotion, I was only listening to this yesterday, a live recording of it xxx

I think the entire Lion and the Cobra album was pretty amazing.

Hey @deirdyweirdy another great choice .. what an artist, and a voice that both creates an entire genre and encapsulates a moment in time .. some balancing act eh? Alas I've not yet seen her live .. but I caught The Waterboys a few years back and they're still excellent! Thank you for the music my friend .. I very much enjoyed this trip down memory lane.

oh I do look forward to this on a Monday, yeah xx
here is mine for today

Not heard this before @trucklife-family but I thought it was both great and hauntingly bewitching .. dark and ethereal and yet at the same time quite beautiful .. the dancing is awesome as well :) Another inspired choice my friend, and one that once again prompts me to say .. thank you for the music! :)

I am a huge fan of radiohead and Thom Yorke and his work with this band is pretty awesome, there are a few layers to this song indeed and the video just adds to that xxx glad you liked it friend xxx

Interesting. Haven't come across these guys before.

you would know Thom Yorke though from radiohead, thats him singing xxx

Oh, even more interesting. I've found a load more tracks on youtube. Thanks a lot!

Bit of a different one for you this week, a little Thai with a little English Reggae.
Hey come on bro, I am a traveling man. :-)

Thai English reggae .. that sounds like a new brand of herb tea ;) lol Ha I like it though dude, a cool mixture that shouldn't really work .. but strangely it really does!! They've even managed to work in a guitar solo .. I'm impressed :) Excellent choice my friend and a perfect pick for #musicmonday .. thank you or the music @shepz1 .. I hope your week is off to a great start!!

Every weeks a good one, and every day, glad you liked it bro, it was my favorite tune in Thailand, and I even got to meet the band.
Have a good one and catch you soon.

Nice song I think this band has a very similar sound to Muse.
In the spirit of that, this is perhaps one of my all time favorite songs. It just resonates with me more than so many others not sure why.

Muse - madness

Hey @cmplxty . great choice! I love Muse, in fact they grew up not far from me and they still often come back to do the off gig. I've seen them a few times (Glastonbury festival being the last time) and they are brilliant, such talented musicians. This is a great track .. love the reverberating sounds. Excellent choice my friend, thank you for the music.

Nice! You certainly are into the music scene. I'd like to see more shows for sure.

Thanks for this blast from the past mate .. in terms of music, I'm in an 80s frame of mind at the moment so it fits like a glove. Another excellent and leftfield choice my friend, thank you for the music.

Ha now I do remember this one @rosgard .. in my country it was called "all the things she said" it's great to hear it in its native language :) Thank you for the music my friend .. I enjoyed listening.

Happy Monday ev1...Have a great day/night!

Hey my friend .. another stone cold classic .. I love this track! I love how they worked it into the film Apocalypse Now, brilliant scene! I've been meaning to watch the Doors movie again for some time now and this has just spurred me on. Definitely right up there as one of their very best songs, such brooding atmosphere and presence .. pure class. Thank you for the music my friend, I really enjoyed this one!

Nice song. In its style somewhat very familiar
I contemplated a little and came up with this song. Heppner made many popular dark songs in the 90s and 2000s, here with Witt.

Never heard this before @miela .. but I must say it was a pleasant surprise! Nice melody .. dark & brooding but with a quite beautiful and moving chorus .. I like it :) Thank you for the music my friend .. this one hit the spot!

Actually I had to check out Heppner afterwards and found out the very same Heppner and Witt from this song from 1998 are releasing two albums twenty years afterwards, this end of september - 28 september that must be - :D!

I never heard it before either. It's really good. I even found the lyrics in English.

hehe that's cool!
dann kommt die flut to then comes the flood or something like that :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04