Musicians shouldn't be afraid of Los Angeles anymore!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #musicians7 years ago

My name is Jessie Covets and I am the lead singer/guitar player in the all female band True Violet. I also DJ in a duo project called DYAGONAL. As you might already assume, trying to make it in Los Angeles as a musician is very much like being a little fish in a big pond! Instead of shying away, I decided to become very focused & I learned the in's and out's of how to be a successful musician in such a transient big city!
One very important this is being social! When I started mingling with the right people, I found my way to writing sessions which led me to getting my name and voice out there slowly but surely. Ever single inch forward in this industry leads to a new opportunity of success. Through those sessions I've learned how to be a current song writer, how to make money recording demos, how to find successful artist that True Violet could open for, how to get connected to more established producers & how to sharpen my craft as a studio singer/guitarist/producer. Even though there are 63360 inches in a mile, I've had & continue to have the patience and confidence in myself & my art. I look at each inch forward as a blessing and opportunity!
Through "word of mouth" my band True Violet has become one of the locally known bands in the city of Los Angeles and I am very proud of our hard and dedicated work. You should never lose sight of who you are because if music is something that can make you happy, it's never worth giving up no matter what. A lot of people don't understand what it's like to be a musician especially our own flesh and blood.
At the end of the day I always remember to keep this quote in mind, " It is a great fortune to have an occupation that allows us to be happy, to help others & to generate compassion & understanding in this world". For more advice & updates on how "Musicians shouldn't be afraid of Los Angeles anymore," stay tuned! I'll give you more reason to stay focused & to keep dreaming :).

Sort:  

Good post my friend nice to me you i am @djnoel ;)

Congratulations @jessiecovets! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jessiecovets! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40