[Music Discovery] This week I 'ave been mostly listenin' to...

Does It Offend You, Yeah? - You Have No Idea What You're Getting Yourself Into

Label: Virgin Records

Genre: New Rave/Indie Rock

You don't hear about the New Rave era of music these days, probably for good reason to be honest. I was big into the indie rock/new rave scene during the mid-00s, but I rarely listen to any of those same bands anymore, with one major exception. Does It Offend You, Yeah? were a British band who you've probably not heard of, but they were the ninth most-listened-to new band of 2008 on last.fm. They had two albums, although their second wasn't as well received, and it wasn't really my cup of tea either. I think by 2011 when it came out, that genre of music was dying if not dead. They referred to themselves as dance-punk, but I discovered them along with the likes of Klaxons, CSS, Late of the Pier, New Young Pony Club and The Sunshine Underground, the latter of which I also recommend you check out.

You Have No Idea What You're Getting Yourself Into has to be one of my most listened to albums of all times, more likely than not because it became part of the soundtrack to my early 20s. I'd listen to it to and from work, and almost any other opportunity I could find during the six month period that I first moved to York. There are so many good tracks but Dawn of the Dead, We Are Rockstars and Let's Make Out have to be my favourites. You can listen to Let's Make Out with the YouTube video below.

Sadly, the band played their last gig on 12 December 2015 at the Electric Ballroom, Camden and the final song of their set was appropriately Epic Last Song. I wish so much that I'd known about that gig, I'd have been there without a doubt. Another band where I still have the sweat stained t-shirt that will have seen it's fair share of gigs, although it's a little tight these days.


If you've heard of this band, definitely let me know as there can't be many of us fans! What did you make of Let's Make Out? Let me know your thoughts and feelings down in the comment section and as always, make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates. If you're a fan of strange YouTube videos, you might want to follow me on Twitter. Until next time, take it easy!


Sources:
Does It Offend You, Yeah? on Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_It_Offend_You,_Yeah%3F)
Does It Offend You, Yeah? - Let's Make Out on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6_ubiAzoSk)

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc with support of @curie and its vote train.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; All witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations, including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

I found myself thinking of this other great tune:

I love QOTSA but never heard this track before, is it off one of their newer albums?

Reminded me a bit of the new romantics!

I'll just have to grab a copy and get caught up, I always really enjoyed Qotsa but the album Era Vulgaris put me off a bit I think.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You just planted 0.28 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 5246.66 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25255.52
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Please refer to our user guide. You submitted this post more than once so we will be keeping the excess amount as donation as declared in our user guide. When you submit a post more then once it creates more work for our service and delays our upvotes. Thank you for your cooperation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61475.37
ETH 2485.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61