How to make silence the most awesome music? Ask Mr. Cage!

in #music6 years ago

Too predictable

Reading @derosnec's excellent post about theory in art, I engaged in a small talk with her about how theory and knowledge do matter a lot when making art. We briefly mentioned a theme I like a lot and I think a lot about: free improvisation. I wrote my master thesis on this.

The first question regarding free improvisation is "isn't improvisation always free, for start"? There's only one answer to this: yes. It is. That's the very concept of improvisation: an extemporaneous creation that doesn't obey to a pre-established form. We improvise every day, for example when speaking or even moving and acting.

But there's also a dubious concept when I say "we don't obey to a pre-established form". Don't we use the appropriate words and build phrases according to grammar? Don't we stick to only one language even if we are bilingual? And habits, and words and expressions... Without noticing, we do obey to a pre-established form and content, although unconsciously or without notice.

"Living Room Music", meant to be played with common living room objects such as books, glasses, etc. It's a true fun piece to be played with friends, making it a true "living room music"


On the other hand, if we try at best as you can to free from formats and contents thus creating true randomness and indeterminism, we will always end in some predictable values. A study published on PLOS.one asked people to create a random number sequence, and generated a model that would, after a very quick learning period, predict which number was coming up next. Because if you try to be random, you search for the most unpredictable value, thus eliminating all the "obvious" ones, making you more predictable, not less. You can practice as much as you want, but at the end you'll state the obvious: we just suck too much at trying to be unpredictable, and we're miles away from true aleatoriety.

“I became interested [in improvisation] because I had not been interested. And the reason I had not been interested was because one just goes to one’s habits. But how can we find ways of improvising that release us from our habits?”

John Cage


Composer John Cage worked a lot about this and about determinism in music, having written many works that relate to it. I'm a fan of John Cage's music and work, and I performed some works of him such as "Five", "The wonderful widow of eighteen springs", "Living Room Music" and many others.


This is where I-Ching - The Book of Changes, comes in. If you wonder what it is, I invite you to hear a great podcast episode about it in Stuff to Blow your Mind. John Cage used I-Ching in "Music of Changes" to compose indeterministic music, applying it to a large chart of sounds, durations, dynamics, tempo and densities. By delegating those decisions to true aleatoriety, he was able to create a more indeterministic work.

"Music of Changes", in which the I-Ching played a crucial role


He still was, though, miles away from pure indeterminism. For example, the power of a specific sound is still dependent on player's performance. The instrument he's playing also determines a lot of things. The same for the room itself, the acoustics and background noise from the audience. We can even talk about the "unmeasurable" and say the "quality" of public's attention can make an explicable ambience that can affect the player. Not to mention the various ways people percept and assimilate sounds, since one can argue music only happens in our mind (if we play The Beatles in the forest and nobody hears it, is it still music?).

Famous work " 4'33'' can also be interpreted in an indeterministic way. Shifting the focus from the players to the public, one can achieve a less formal outcome. It's kind of poetic, thinking the ultimate free improvisation is silence. John Cage thought a lot about this and his work is a must for those who seek to understand XX century art and music. I do recommend reading his famous book "Silence".

4'33'' can be interpreted in many ways.

Did you knew John Cage's work?

Have you ever trusted I-Ching to make decisions for you?


DQmS1SF61LjKWUuHRToDmXTHysQHtjsBLomDLTnuw58UsPJ_1680x8400.png

Do you want to earn SBD forever? I'm giving away 2 Steem Basic Income shares :) Just drop an original comment in this post!


If you enjoyed this post please consider:

upvote follow resteem


Sort:  

I used to use the I Ching a lot. One of my favorite bits about it is that, in the absence of meaning, which is what chance really is, the only influence is the divine. I haven't pulled out my I Ching in ages, but I still flip quarters to make major life decisions. It's really cool to think about integrating that with music.

The simple fact you need to make a decision is proof that all the solutions are good enough to consider... So chance just really strikes one to keep away from us the fear of failing :)

That's an interesting perspective. I'm not sure the fear of failing ever goes away for me. I like to see failure as a gift, but I can't always get there.

It never goes away for me neither... I guess it's also the pressure of society to want you "successful" and not "wiser". Society still measures success instead of effort and resilience.

We can see that on mainstream social networks, where everybody seems to have better lives than ours. That messes up our motivation towards our life and our failures (it's also very harmful to adolescents and kids in general!).

There's a lot to be said about this... I need to think more and maybe write a post about it! Thank you for making me think! :)

It reminds me of this video:

Without a doubt the current cultural ideas of success are incredibly skewed. That video was incredibly depressing. I'm certain my honesty has gotten me blocked from a number of pages, even though everyone is lying all the time. It's such a big part of why I love Steemit so much. I am normally very honest on here. Funny thing about kids and social media is that, far as I can tell, they're not near as bad as most adults. My 19 and 16 yo's are almost never on fb. They do Instagram and Pinterest, but there's not near the toxicity on those that exists on Facebook. They have both told me they can't stand Facebook. The oldest one is on there some to spread anarchist ideas, but that's pretty much it. My daughter doesn't go on at all. Anyway, my generation is absolutely addicted, and I'm so glad to be mostly away from it.

I agree with you in part... Your kids have a nice education and they don't need social networks although they use them. But some kid's education is really shaped (and based on) by the use of those networks, where everyone seems to be mentally healthy all the time and nobody feels sad or demotivated... This happens when their parents have also some stuff to solve themselves and don't even care about their kids... It's so sad :(

Absolutely agreed. It's another symptom of a very toxic and sick culture.

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. You can find details about us below.


ClefCM.png

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto

I love that I prompted a post! :D Cage is a fantastic example to use for this concept - his stuff is definitely some of the most unique of his era imo. I actually didn't know that he was so influenced by I-Ching!

the power of a specific sound is still dependent on player's performance. The instrument he's playing also determines a lot of things. The same for the room itself, the acoustics and background noise from the audience. We can even talk about the "unmeasurable" and say the "quality" of public's attention can make an explicable ambience that can affect the player.

Yes! This is why multiple recordings of the same piece can be so interesting to listen to. I have favourite recordings for example of one piece that I have might have 3 different versions of. There are so many factors that shape the sound - it's nearly impossible to recreate anything exactly. I love that fact.

Yes, Cage was deeply involved with the non-existence of indeterminism in improvisation, among other interests of his...

About recordings, I agree 100%! I also think a lot about how recordings actually shape our ears and constantly influence our "raw" natural performances. Listening to many versions of Kodaly Cello Sonata will definitely influence your own interpretation, because "I like this phrasing", "I like this power", "I like this rubato". That will gradually prevail over your own ideas, your own sound and rhythm.

But then, what's best? Your own "natural" ideias (which are never only dependent on you anyway) or the ones who come from your hearing/life experience (making you a copy cat)? How much balance there should be on that? How strong should be your ideas to stand up for their own?

The same happens for any kind of art, I guess. A photographer friend of mine once told me "even if you have no experience, if you go out two weekends in a row with a camera in your hands, you'll develop your style". But making that raw "style" prevail after years or shooting and seeing and criticizing and life experience in general... That's also a point worth considering.

Thank you @derosnec for so much you've helped me thinking :)

Honestly I think humans are shaped by influences - but because there are so many variables, it's impossible to ever really "copy". Especially with music! You could love someone's phrasing at a performance that you heard or on a particular recording, and you can practice it until the cows come home to match it, but when you perform it it's still at the whim of of hand/voice/etc which is uniquely yours and will ultimately do what it does. Plus I believe that "copying" is in of itself an art form - it takes considerable skill and practice to do that! But it's a launching point - because you'll take what you learned from copying one person and end up having some of that influence seep in when you're trying to copy someone else.

Not that I'm promoting plagiarism, but honestly copying styles is an important part of learning - especially in visual art and music. As long as you're acknowledging where you learned your skills... ;)

Sure, it's impossible to copy, as much as it's impossible to be 100% "genuine". It's the inevitable balance between both arts that makes the artist a performer, a creator, an impersonator or just a good learner...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zpedro from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56577.01
ETH 2981.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14