Why is classical music so GREAT?

in #music7 years ago (edited)


This is just my personal point of view. People have their own thoughts, and their thoughts can always be different.

I love non-classical music(jazz, pop, rock, folk, even metal...) as well as classical music. And this post is not about blaming non-classical music, but about the benefits of classical music.


Why is classical music so great?


Non-classical music is usually 'music that fits my mood': like a friend who comforts me when I'm sad, and a friend who is happy when I'm happy.

But the classical music, especially the great works, lift my spirit: like Master who develops me beyond my own personal feelings.

This is a crucial difference. Non-classical music is music that fits my mood, so the downside is that it can get deep into my feelings.



For example, suppose you break up with a lover. If you listen to pop songs about love, all those sad words seem to point to yourself and make you the main character of the tragedy. It makes you feel more self-esteem. But what about classical works? It gives us the strength to overcome the pain. I think it is easy to say the difference.

Instead of sinking deep into your feelings,
You can sublimate your anger, get the courage to move forward from sadness, or turn frustration into a triumphant joy(e.g. Symphony No.5, Beethoven).


Just as delicious food is not necessarily good for my body, I do not think that music that fits my mood is necessarily beneficial to me. As I said above, you can get too deep into your feelings(especially if you are those who are more interested in music). These things happen unconsciously, so you are not easy to identify by yourself.



This is my personal experience.

I have been suffering from severe depression and anxiety disorders for the past several years. I did not know how to get out of this deep melancholy. Just lying down and listening to sad and gloomy music, I swam in my thoughts.

There was no motivation for life. I thought I wanted to disappear, I thought that the world would be destroyed, I thought I would die without knowing it, and these thoughts did not leave me.

Then one day, I thought I should not do this anymore. I have decided to stay away from these music that only amplify my feelings (though these are the music I love) and listen to music that gives me hope.

Music of hope, to me it was Bach. His music was not just music, there was something more. This music has given me the courage to go a step further while understanding my pathological feelings.

I got courage and began to take care of my life that I had neglected in desperation. I went to the hospital and started counseling and medication.



This is my personal story, so it may sound not convincing. But in classical music, there must be something more than music that resonates with the soul.

Just as Bach's music did to me, if you find classical music that's right for you, then that music might change you. Why do not you try the "greatness" of classical music?


yonah.png

I'm Korean, but I'm trying to write posts about music and art in English. If you like my writing or want to communicate with me, please follow me!

Sort:  

Hi, I wrote a response to this article. You can read it here. I also upvoted your article a few days ago (when I wrote the response). Have a nice day!

oh I didn't know that. I'll read your post and upvote it! thank you for reading this :>

Hi @yonah,

I wanted to let you know that we shared this article on our Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page and included it in this week's roundup post: Steemit's Best Classical Music Roundup [Issue #4].

Thank you for your contribution of high quality content relating to classical music!

Thank you for sharing my post :>

I advise you to listen to different music https://metrosaga.com/machete-restart-mikhail-peleg-spoke-about-filming-the-movie-and-releasing-new-music-albums/ Here Michael Peleg says a lot of good things about the Machete band, maybe it will be interesting to you just the same

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67644.39
ETH 3483.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65