[Opinion] How does Classical Music differ from other Genres of Music?

in #music7 years ago (edited)

This post is a response to @yonah's post entitled "Why is classical music so GREAT?".

For the longest time, my viewpoints and musical tastes have evolved. I can remember as a young child, riding in my father (@remlaps)'s red truck, listening to country music. Likewise, my mother played U2 in the car around the same time. So. . . for a while, I loved to listen to songs such as I Saw the Light and Vertigo. From third grade to about the beginning of 8th, I was obsessed with Billy Joel, and soft rock [piano] artists from Elton John to Ray Charles. Then, towards January of last year, I dipped a toe in Classical Music when I changed Piano teachers from a lady who lives down the street from me to my church organist. I remember last year, my 70 song playlist (about 68 Billy Joel songs) saw the introduction of 3 classical pieces: Rondo a Capriccio, Ode to Joy (From the Dead Poet's Society), and Piano Sonata no. 8 Movement 2, all of which are by Beethoven. Over the Summer, I was given the extraordinary opportunity to study with a virtuoso who has worked with the Philadelphia Orchestra. It was at that point that I dove into the deep end. I hold no regrets about my decisions to study a classical repertoire. The more I learn, the further I end up away from the music I used to love. Anyway, I recently read @yonah's post where she talks about the difference between Classical music and other Genres. I felt she had a lot of good points, and wanted to add a few of my own.

My beliefs are that Classical Music is a tool that the composer uses to display their will (what they're thinking) on the audience. There is not much room for interpretation because the composer writes using strictly the emotions he feels. Now, there is a certain interpreted aspect added by the performer, and another aspect of interpretation in how the audience perceives the piece. But, overall, the piece affects the listener as the composer intends.

Here's a scene from Immortal Beloved where Beethoven explains music to Anton Schindler.

@Yonah said that you listen to other genres based on the emotions you feel. I disagree, sometimes I listen to happy music when I'm sad, and sad music when I'm happy. I feel the difference is that in modern music (not classical), the composer gives a guide, and the performer and audience do most of the interpretation (draw their own conclusions). In this case, a composer might be sad, and write sad music, but the audience member is happy, and interprets it as more happy than sad. For example, listen to this song:

Read this when your done making your first impression:

At first glance, this piece sounds like a hit piece on short people based on your interpretation of the lyrics. Newman actually wrote this song as a joke, kind of busting society for making assumptions on people based simply on characteristics. Now listen to it again, it doesn't sound as much like a hit piece, and more as a light and playful joke.

Now, listen to this piece of classical music, and comment the emotion you feel Mussorgsky is portraying:

Don't read this before commenting the emotion:

I get a sense of fear when listening to this. It is dark. Was your emotion similar to mine? Want another example? Listen to this piece by Giuseppe Verdi, and comment your thoughts on the emotions behind it. This is from a requiem, so listen to the same portion of text from the Fauré requiem. Comment what emotion you hear.

Don't read this until you've listened:

From Verdi, I get a hellish sense, while with Fauré, I get more of a sense of peace yet sadness. Did our views match?

I will say that I think why people listen to music has evolved over time. In the time of Bach, music was something that the upper class would listen to and admire for the skill behind making it. I think as the enlightenment took effect, music evolved into something all of society used for entertainment, and the spotlight turned away from the music, and more towards the performance of the music. Of course, this was a gradual process. Beethoven, Schumann, Mendelssohn, and Wagner had to have skill to experience the success they had. Nowadays, I think music is mainly used for entertainment still, but overly so, and as an accompaniment to another skill. For instance, now artists can lip sync and get away with it because people care more about the choreography than the music. I also think that as time has progressed, lyrics have become more of a favorite for society than music (Not much instrumental music is listened to by a majority of society unless it is a soundtrack for some other form of entertainment).

Anyway, that's my thought on the matter. Please, comment your beliefs below, I'd love to compare our views. Make sure to check back later!


Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts
Come play on my minecraft server! The Ip is: SteemCraft.mcph.co

Sort:  

Folk music also has skill and tradition behind it that everyone through history has enjoyed, not just upper class citizens enjoying classical music in opera houses in Bach's era.

Of course classical music has a certain refinement and sophistication but at the end of the day almost all genres are built on the same musical elements and principles of melody, harmony, rhythm, tempo, beat/meter, dynamics, pitch, texture, timbre, etc... classical music excels because of the dynamic range of the instruments available to the composer I reckon, which allows a greater palette of emotions to be expressed through sophisticated arrangements....

Words represent the closest instrument we have to the soul, the human voice and we all have a voice!

Great Post!
Following.
Thanks

Thanks for this comment, it is well thought out. Many composers actually composed using themes from forgotten folk music in regions around them. For example, Béla Bartók's Mikrokosmos uses themes from folk music. Bartók uses scales, and forgotten themes from folk music in this. Another classic example is Percy Grainger's Lincolnshire Posy. We played Lincolnshire Posy this year in wind ensemble. It was a lot of fun to view how Grainger incorporates themes that had never been written down, and in most cases only sung for centuries (passed down orally). It has a lot of weird time signatures as a result, but it is quite beautiful (especially the second movement).

You are right that almost every genre uses the same foundations, I feel that classical music has a much more strict definition of how each of the principles is to be used, while other genres, Jazz for instance, have looser rules that allow composers to almost always go out of the box. I guess it's a question of musical taste.
Thanks for commenting! I followed back.

Thanks for the follow! It's nice to see/hear classical music represented in the music section on steemit. I'm following someone on here who plays piano and is a composer inspired by Strauss, Wagner, Schubert, Brahms, etc.. You may like to check out some of his work/posts. His username is @senzenfrenz and he's great! The composition in his first post is amazing.

Hello,

I wanted to let you know that we shared this article on our Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page and included it in this week's roundup post: Steemit's Best Classical Music Roundup [Issue #4].

Thank you for your contribution of high quality content relating to classical music!

This post can't live without Chopin's Waltz Op.64 n.2

A very nice piece!

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 also worth listening. There's also an interesting story behind this masterpiece. He was so depressed because of failed 1st concert(1887) that he have lost selfconfidence and felt into creative block. It could have never seen the world. And it would be so if some of his friends didn't suggest him to go to a genius physician Nikolai Dahl. He used a brand new approach a hypnosis and after three months Rachmaninov was cured. In 1901 he dedicated his 2nd Concert to Dahl.

Yes, I have heard this piece and the story behind it. I became aware of that story when researching for this article. Thank you for sharing though! I never had heard of the hypnosis approach. Rachmaninoff is one of the greats!

He was very lucky because Dahl was among the first physicians to use hypnosis and the only in Russian Empire. Hypnosis is a very interesting field i know that it can open some doors to unconscious.

Interesting

Geniality and providence steps side by side)

Outstanding post and narrative! Thank you for sharing.

Now this is a beautiful piece, more impressionist than traditional classical music but wow! Talk about atmosphere, moods and emotions. It kind of loses it's sense of meter and paints a wonderful picture... The flute motif intro, along with the Harp, makes me feel like I'm in ancient Greece or something...
Folk Music inspired?

Debussy Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune - Leonard Bernstein

The composition was inspired by the poem L'après-midi d'un faune by Stéphane Mallarme

It would appear it was inspired by a poem.

Bernstein went to the Curtis institute of music. My piano instructor also went there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26