Classical Musical Exploration: The Alternative Tuning and Just Intonation of Ben Johnston

in #music7 years ago

Have you ever wondered why there are 12 tones in the musical scale? What if there were other ways of dividing the octave? What would the resulting music sound like?


As usual, the musical abundance of the internet has been my blessing and my curse. Over the past few days I stumbled upon the string quartets of Ben Johnston - and they hit me with such a strange, fascinating sound that I've since spent dozens of hours listening to his work and learning as much as I can about it.

There's a lot to dig into here, and I'm just starting to understand it. I'm thinking a series of posts on Just Intonation and Alternative Tuning might be helpful, as I've been struggling to find a good step-by-step source to educate myself on the subject. For now, though, I'll just ask you to click on the video so you can listen to a performance of Amazing Grace that's unlike anything you've ever heard.

This presses all of my musical joy buttons. Readers of my previous music posts will know that I love music that can be considered "challenging," but it still has to evoke a strong emotional response - none of that avante garde banging around for the sake of attention. I love stuff that sounds richer and more rewarding the more times you listen to it. And I appreciate artists who use traditional instruments in innovative ways.

So what's going on with this performance? It's a sort of Theme and Variations on the melody of Amazing Grace. And the variations take us into some pretty far-out, spine tingling territory.

And it sounds this way because Ben Johnston has thrown out the traditional "tempered tuning" system we (and our ears) are used to.

Here's a one minute, layman's explanation:


There's no getting around the fact that an octave change in tone represents a doubling, or a 2:1 ratio, of the frequency. 440 Hz is the A of your standard tuning fork. You can go up an octave or two to hear 880 Hz and 1760 Hz., or down to hear 220 and 110.

Mathematically, all the other intervals we're used to hearing in music follow basic ratios. A major fifth is a 3:2 ratio (A to E would be 440 and 660 Hz, for example) and a major third produces a frequency ratio of 5:4. The more complicated the ratios, the less harmonious they sound to the human ear.

But here's where it gets interesting: the tones you hear from your piano keyboard are only approximations of those ratios - even if your piano is in perfect tune! For all kinds of complicated reasons, singers and instrument makers all started compromising somewhere around the Renaissance, and ever since, this tempered tuning is what we've come to hear and accept as "normal music."

Johnston has done a tremendous amount of work to compose music based on the purer ratios of just intonation tuning - and it's hard to imagine how difficult this is to notate and play. It's no surprise that it took the Kepler Quartet fourteen years (!!!) to record his ten string quartets. These musicians are hitting notes that deviate from their regular training by semitones that lie on the verge of human perception. (You can see them celebrating the end of this arduous project here.)

At first, when I heard his music, I thought Johnston was just playing with these micro-tones for the sake of being "edgy" or "experimental," but it turns out that every note has been precisely selected to adhere to his complex mathematical calculations.


Source

This is why the music doesn't sound discordant, per se, especially after you listen for several minutes. It makes the music sound grander and richer - thicker, somehow, as if there's a small orchestra playing rather than just a quartet. And I think it's why the harmonies give me such hair-raising, spine tingling chills.

Have you gotten to the last few minutes of that performance yet? Seriously, don't cheat yourself. I know you've got lots of other stuff to read and vote on. Just click to the 8 minute mark if you're in a hurry and hear it through to the end.

Possibilities for Electronic Musicians?


Ben Johnston had to do all his composition and mathematical manipulation with pencil and paper.

Surely electronic musicians could be able to produce some wildly original stuff in a fraction of the time? I would love to see some of these just intonation principles explored in techno, house, dubstep, whatever, but I can't seem to find anything like that online.

If I'm missing something, please enlighten me.

In the mean-time, I'm so excited about the harmonious possibilities of these tunings that I'm thinking of digging into Sonic Pi a bit. It's an open-source, "live coding music synth," and it seems like it should be perfect for this kind of experimentation. Of course, I've got a bit of math to learn before I'll know what I'm doing. And I didn't exactly start out this week thinking this was the sort of project I'd be putting time into. (But I suppose it could be more rewarding than playing more Minecraft...)


I've got this video on virtuousity from Adam Neely to thank for my discovery of Ben Johnston. If you're a fan of classical (or any) music, and like to learn a bit about what makes it tick, you owe it to yourself to clear out an afternoon and dig into Adam's Youtube channel.

Sort:  

Myself I explore a lot on different tuning on every string instruments I play and barely never use conventional tuning. This open a various range of possibilities. Harry Pratch was one of the first 20th-century composers in the West to work systematically with microtonal scales, came up with the math behind his system and created custom instruments that allow to play his compositions. If you are looking for challenging music you might dig it.

Yes! I discovered Harry Partch while researching Johnston. There's a decent documentary on YouTube (though the sound quality is terrible - it's a VHS rip).

Johnston studied with Partch, but decided rather than maintaining his warehouse of handmade instruments, he wanted to write music that could be played on traditional instruments - but those poor string players, man!

Strangely enough I'm rather tone-deaf. My singing can kill small animals, and I can't tune a guitar without one of those electric sensor things. But these carefully produced harmonies really do have a unique effect on me.

"My singing can kill small animals", really good skill to have.

Takes care of the mice! (Unfortunately doesn't work on mosquitoes, though.)

Very good information and understanding that well tempered (Bach-well tempered clavier) music is actually out of tune or out of natural overtones. I have myself worked to find and tune music with the human nature or structure. Like the solfeggio tones of the chakras. This would work to tune the vibrations of our body and consciousness and help to elevate the spirit of the being. I know I have never had chills from a piano performance, though there are many beautiful ones played. They lay solely in stings, vocals, brass, woodwinds played at the master level. The performances that can make the micro adjustment of the pure tuning. I feel their is a correlation with the disharmonies in the world. Our music is out of tune and so is humanity. I am new here and have joined to post my compositions and to dialog with others. Music to come from me... Peace

I'll look forward to hearing your compositions!

I'm still wrapping my head around the maths involved in music, but what I'm finding is that the 12-tone system seems to be a necessary compromise that allows for key changes, and for singers and instruments to play together. It's starting to feel a bit like Godel's incompleteness theorem! But you're right, voice and strings allow us to approach "pure harmony" in a way that keyboards and fretted instruments never do.

You may love this one. It is amazingly crazy..
It makes me want to retune my harpsicord and try to play some Bach.
It is great until there is a modulation. Like you said...


Happy Holidays.

Thanks, @energikar. Just looking at that guitar makes my eyes hurt but the sound really is lovely.

Happy holidays to you as well!

The mathematical aspect of music has always intrigued me.

It's fascinating, isn't it?

I think if math teachers really dug into some of this stuff, they'd get the kids' attention much better.

I can't do a lot but listen (and I'm long overdue to be laughed on a TV show due to a candid camera that somehow got smuggled into my car) however it seems from my experience that a lot of the really serious composers and players have a good ability in math.

That clip has some parts near the beginning that are very entrancing. I've never heard anything like it. It makes me remember way too long ago when I was first introduced to syncopation and how different that was from anything I'd previously heard.

Are you a closeted car singer? Is that what you're saying? We'll have to talk to Doug about sneaking a camera in with you.

Johnston really gets into some crazy syncopated rhythms in his piano pieces.

Here's one with 6 over 5 polyrhythms (another way of putting your performer through some pretty brutal paces!) Parts of it make for pretty challenging listening, and other parts are absolutely entrancing - like melodious rain hitting the roof. (The whole thing is only a few minutes long.)

That is pretty powerful stuff. A lot of layers. The first part of this piece is so like rain - one of my favorite sounds. I love the unpredictability of the music. It takes some serious concentration to listen to properly so I can't even imagine how challenging it is to play.

When the music transitions about 1/3 of the way in it reminds me a bit of something I saw on TV a long time ago. The TV special's music left an impression on me at the time. The dance (it's hard to remember well but I think it was ballet) was something about a puppet with broken strings. I loved the correlation of the music and the way the dancer portrayed the broken toy that was uncoordinated and uncontrolled.

P.S. I deny all accusations of car singing and want to call my lawyer. 😉

We could do the math of the Beatles or Led Zeppelin.. Rock On.

Yeah - all the old classics, except for Pink Floyd. 'Cause they don't need no education.

If not by HIS GRACE, where would we be. Beautiful song.

very interesting post...
Thanks for sharing it...
upvoted and followed...!!!

very nice and informative post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50