Music Soothes the Savage Beast.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

zd5ax7s0ru.jpg
Img Source

I was going to start off with a little bit about the title. However, I am not feeling in the mood to discuss

"Musick has charms to soothe a savage breast

-William Congreve
It seems it is one of the most misquoted lines in literature and history. It does mean pretty much the same thing.

Music has the power to enchant even the roughest of people.

A lot of people turn to music to calm themselves when they are angry, savage or just rough (like in a mood due to a bad day) beside just being that cranky person that everyone stays away from.

Anyway, back to the post. Since doing the Freedom is Music post, I wanted to cover music a bit more. Mindfulness Monday is a no go for this week. I can't seem to find a good balance to write on the subject or anything in particular. Missing 1 week out of 26 not too shabby.

So the song I picked today, plays more into my mood and how my day went.
Narcissitic Cannibal by KORN

Don't wanna be sly and defile you
Desecrate my mind and rely on you
I just wanna break this crown
But it's hard when I'm so run down
And you're so cynical, Narcissistic Cannibal!
Got to bring myself back from the dead!
Sometimes, I hate, the life, I made
Everything's wrong every time
Pushing on I can't escape
Everything that comes my way
Is haunting me taking its sweet time
Holding on I'm lost in a haze
Fighting life to the end of my days
Don't wanna be rude but I have to
Nothing's good about the hell you put me through
I just need to look around
See that life that has come unbound
And you're so cynical, Narcissistic Cannibal
Got to bring myself back from the dead
Sometimes, I hate, the life I made
Everything's wrong every time
Pushing on I can't escape
Everything that comes my way
Is haunting me taking its sweet time
Sometimes, I hate, the life I made
Everything's wrong every time
Pushing on I can't escape
Everything that comes my way
Is haunting me taking its sweet time
Holding on I'm lost in a haze
Fighting life to the end of my days
Holding on I'm lost in a haze
Fighting life to the end of my days

Songwriters: Jonathan Howsman Davis / Reginald Arvizu / James Christian Shaffer / Luke W. Walker / Sonny Moore / Jacob R. Stanczak
Narcissistic Cannibal lyrics © Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd., Universal Music Publishing Group, Cypmp

When this song came out a few years ago, it struck a chord inside me. Some of the lines are thoughts that go through my mind. Years of being told 'Everything is my fault' 'I'm always wrong' 'My life isn't worth anything' and so much more. Each time recently I manage to pick myself up to start again. I'm wrong. My husband really isn't in the category, but he is a selfish bastard. He does think of himself first and self-gratification, even to the point if it means I go without. I understand how he is and I accept him for how he his. On the flip side, he does actually treat me well. We have a good relationship, when he talks. He doesn't talk much which is why I end up so chatty. I don't doubt his feelings he takes care of me. He actually likes to baby me. Probably because he knows it drives me nuts, since I am so independent.

Again, the shiney flashed and we chased it. My ex-husband is the narcissist. He did enough damage. Rather than beat myself up. I let the song do it. Neither is healthy, but this actually starts to calm the rage when it happens. The biggest lesson with me is 1) Don't yell at me. 2) Don't yell at me 3) Don't yell at me through someone else have the balls to say it to my face.

Work did not go well today. I don't know why I end up working for places where the owners/managers don't know how to manage their money? The owner was mad because the items I listed for sale (on Amazon) aren't selling. I should have priced everything lower than everyone else. Funny.... I did. I so wanted to walk into his office and say " So there are these programs called bots, that automatically change the price to be the lowest price. That is why some items aren't the LOWEST) I kept my mouth shut and put my music on. The other reason is we're selling stuff on Amazon that will only sell on Ebay. Why all the ruckus? Oh let's see, their family took out 12k for personal use (on top of the consultant's salary one of them makes) for the month. Yes the month. They didn't pay rent on the building. They actually haven't paid rent on the building for 3 months now. The same thing happened to Ebay. They paid July's bill (in the beginning of September) and have not made a sale since. This is my fault because ... Oh yeah I worked there and things didn't sell. Um no, I was still at the other job. NONE of this had anything to do with me. It was his own stupidity and he had to blame someone. Blame the NEW PERSON.

I did not intend for this post to be a rant of a sort. I wanted to explain how closely music relates to different aspects of our lives and how one song can speak to our souls and others we just don't get. I guess that's why I ended up on the tangent, is this person made me feel like my ex-husband did. I swore I would never again let anyone treat me that way. He got upset my music was too loud. My friend who is my manager also told him to leave me alone, that if he came in and asked me to lower the music I would either walk out or turn up the volume. That his lack of respect and poor treatment of me is what triggered it. Yes, I gave you guys a simple summary, it is only a portion of what happened.

Thanks for bearing with me. I hope you do enjoy the song.



Pay It Forward Contests


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



3esw6fdctc.jpg
Steemitcentral


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support.
Love,

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.468 which ranks you at #6459 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 150 places in the last three days (old rank 6309).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #8.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01