Why most musicians are stuck!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

If you're too lazy to read the whole post just read the last sentence.


Hey Guys, this is not a big blog post - just a quick tip/inspiration if you are stuck in a rut as a musician. 

I will always link some music in my posts that you should listen to while reading. It helps a lot getting the right vibe, and you will remember much (MUCH!) better.


Most music newbies that are fresh in the game have a big problem finding themselves as a creative. Actually, I think "keeping themselves creative for a longer period" is much more appropriate in this context.

Newbies are so obsessed with one genre, that they lose their obsession in the obsession. 

Let me explain:

If you only listen to one particular genre, you will not get better as a musician. Here's the line you probably heard a lot of people say before me, but it's true: LISTEN TO AS MANY GENRES AS YOU CAN


Consider thinking like this:

Having a root genre, so your style that you like and feel the most is standard for millions of musicians. But let me say something... it's useless if you don't listen to other ones. Truth hurts I know.


Let's just think a bit musical in this topic: The tonic of a scale also makes no sense without the subdominant/dominant..or whatever. And it is the same with your music. 

The tonic is your root genre(let's take jazz as an example). If you only listen to jazz, you have nowhere to go/to develop - you are not moving. So there are no other functions you can go to, like RnB as your subdominant or hip-hop as your leading tone for example. You get what I want to say... Basically, life is music - and music is life. You have the opportunity to listen to everything so use it and take the best of both worlds!

Finding yourself and creating the music you aspire to create is not possible to do without listening to multiple genres because you're just copying everything people have already done before you - you don't have any creative grip.

As long as you keep this in mind, you will always be musically free. If you're stuck, just remind yourself to listen to another genre, and you will be free again.


Here's my picture to verify, that I am a real person.



Listen to as many different genres as you can!


Sort:  

Couldn't agree more. Since I started to get involved in the independent music scene I've broaden my listening a lot and that has made me a much better songwriter.

Looking forward to read more of your thoughts.

Thanks! Check out my new post. I'm sure it will help you!

I also couldn't agree more and what a fantastic idea to always include some music to listen to while reading!!! Such a simple idea that I will be copying!! :-)

So with that in mind here is a track from my good friend @JonMagnusson who is the reason I found this post: https://musicoin.org/nav/track/0x59b2dd36b269a43997e4a2c0dd713e8306493792

Listening to as many different styles of music as possible and by as many different artists as possible really does pay dividends. I have only been a musician for a few years even though I was 50 last year and I seem to have found this untapped reservoir of music that has obviously been building up in my subconscious over all these years! I have recorded punk, electronica, folk & even some minimalist electronic music.
I don't think I would have been able to do this if I hadn't spend the first 50 years of my life constantly searching for new music!

Feel free to copy! You're never too old to really get started with music.

this is such an important point to make man, so many musicians get stuck it a rut of repeating patterns that they have grown comfortable with, trying something completely fresh to your norm is so good for the creative juices to get flowing again, great article

Thanks, ​Bro!

Super message. Although I'm not a musician, or artist of any kind, I deal with creating new propositions and services. I adopt similar tactics as your suggestion, look at much as possible in all sort of areas, even those that may seem not relevant. Since I do believe creativity is not building something from the ground up, completely on your own island, but to use whatever you see around, and us this to create something new and unique.

Thanks! Creativity develops with your life. Every event you've gone through is part of your creativity - subconsciously. You just need to dig deep till you find it through whatever​ method you're using.

Agree! A while back I wrote this article with a great video by David Lynch about creativity: https://steemit.com/creativity/@edje/how-to-be-creative-fishing-and-catching-instead-of-inventing

@thesedays I agree we need to listen more to know more I on my end I read as many pair here to know how to be a better blogger. Giving some love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52