How to be Creative? Fishing and Catching instead of Inventing!

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

Are we all Creative?

When thinking of creative people, we tend to think of artists, architects, people who create brands, corporate identities, and so on. Someone who create pieces of art of any kind, perform and execute indeed the act of creativity. But what about all other professions like managing a group of people, working in a retail shop, developing software, working in accounting and so on? Do these professions not require creativity? And what about the things you do in your personal life? Is creativity not required to solve problems you may have to deal with? It seems to me, creativity is undervalued in many of the professions and in personal life itself.

Creativity Undervalued

Having worked for more than 20 years in the IT and Telecommunication industry, I experience many times creativity is not at all stimulated in tech companies. The daily pressure to answer emails, to attend meetings, to deliver the next set of document helping your colleagues and customers to continue their work, etc etc leaves in fact no time for creativity. Also in private life, we spend our time executing the things we need and want to do, while we leave no time for creativity. The result is that we fall into the trap of boredom and stress. When new situations are presented to us that we never dealt with, we have difficulties to solve them, since we simply do not know how; We cannot copy/paste; We have to think for a solution and that requires creativity and creativity requires time.

definition of "Creativity" by http://www.dictionary.com/

creativity [kree-ey-tiv-i-tee, kree-uh-]
1. the state or quality of being creative.
2. the ability to transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships, or the like, and to create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations, etc.; originality, progressiveness, or imagination: the need for creativity in modern industry; creativity in the performing arts.
3. the process by which one utilizes creative ability: Extensive reading stimulated his creativity.

definition of "Creative" by http://www.dictionary.com/

creative [kree-ey-tiv]
1. having the quality or power of creating.
2. resulting from originality of thought, expression, etc.; imaginative: creative writing.
3. originative; productive (usually followed by of).

Anything and Everybody requires Creativity

Creativity is something we require in ANYTHING we do, especially when we want to have more than mediocre results and like to enjoy our daily lives with low(er) stress levels. If we are not including creativity in what we do, we will do the things as we did them in the past, or as others around us are doing; We are copy pasting without questioning; We are getting stressed when situations occur we didn't experienced before.

Although the act of being creative, to create a new idea or to solve a problem is different for each individual, the basic need is TIME. Anything else is for you to discover what gives you inspiration, from watching a movie, walking around the block, reading a book, sitting in a park, to taking a day off work or even a entire vacation.

My Way of Creativity

My creative moments starts with thinking about the issue at hand (new business idea, how to convince a prospect to buy my products/services, solving a problem, ...) in time. I do not particular seek peaceful environments, or block time in my calendar, but use any moment that presents itself, from the couple of minutes I wait at the cash register when buying groceries, the half an hour I sit in the car while driving to me next appointment, to the time I spend in the shower or in the restroom. Inspiration I can get from almost anything, I do not have to focus on something specific.

In these moments I develop different ideas. Sometimes these ideas require some research, sometimes it requires more detailing to identify if those ideas are good enough. When so, I do the work for the various ideas I got, not that much but at least use pen/paper or digitally with a word processor to write down and structure the ideas (high level only). The time required for this phase could be minutes to hours, but I make sure I do not spend more than 2 or 3 hours maximum (depends also very much on what to find solutions for, what time I have to find those solutions). This phase I finish by analysing the results and qualifying the ideas that are good enough. Then I leave those to rest and jump to something else to do. At some later point in time, I go over the ideas again, and make a choice. Since generally I perform better under stress, I not only make the decisions last minute, but I may execute the whole process from A to Z within a short timeframe (hours, sometimes even minutes).

I love to be creative, I love to solve problems, I love the fact I learned how to be creative, and I love the fact I can be creative. It determines part of my happiness in life!

I hope I inspired you finding your way to creativity.


David Lynch on Creativity

David Lynch is one of my absolute favoriete creative persons on our planet, and I underwrite his message with regards to creativity being the act of fishing instead of inventing. Meaning inventing comes from fishing. I have not much experience with the idea of having to go through rough times to come to creative moments, therefore I do not have an opinion on that. However from my own experience I can say that I do not need rough times to be creative.

---

media sources [0][1][2][3][4]

---

follow me @edje

Sort:  

Yes you inspired me! By giving a reminder that the time spent waiting in line can also be used creatively, wisely! Thank you!

Any time can be used, when sporting, when thinking about your day late at night, maybe just before going to bed, you then also can take 5 to 10 minutes to think about things to solve or the invent. I spend many times just a couple of minutes, maybe 10-15 minutes. Talking with other may also help. Anyway, glad to be of support and inspiration! :)

I had posted this a month ago, thought you might appreciate it:
https://steemit.com/creativity/@alexpmorris/do-schools-kill-creativity

And as for "going through rough times to come to creative moments"...

You know, I think that allowing somebody, one mere person to believe that he or she is like, the vessel, you know, like the font and the essence and the source of all divine, creative, unknowable, eternal mystery is just a smidge too much responsibility to put on one fragile, human psyche. It's like asking somebody to swallow the sun. It just completely warps and distorts egos, and it creates all these unmanageable expectations about performance. And I think the pressure of that has been killing off our artists for the last 500 years.

https://steemit.com/creativity/@alexpmorris/managing-your-elusive-creative-genius-before-you-go-nuts

Thank you for the articles. I do indeed think Schools kills creativity, however I hear some more schools in The Netherlands are trying to stimulate creativity more than when I was in school (but that is 30 years ago).

Good.. nice posting about creativity... :)

Thank you! A topic that is really important in life I think, not only for me but for anybody. Since creativity gives us the ability to change, to create new things, to escape from getting bored. Thank you for reading and appreciating the article :)

David Lynch is a great choice to add to your inspiring and emotional article!

David is absolutely brilliant! Thank you :)

I watched this clip again. He is the man :)

Excellent post my friend - I hear you working almost 18 years in marketing and sales

Thanks! :)
Even more years: started mid 90s in presales after some research job :) also in product management positions btw.

A very experienced mature professional guy - great you are here on steemit

Thank you! And glad to be here! Learning cryptoworld inspired by Steemit!

Yeah I have seen it trader no. 1

hahaha :)

Good post !
Thank @edje)

I like this one! Very helpful @adje Followed friend.

Thank YOU :)

Creativity to me is a higher form of intelligence or tapping into the unconscious mind or collective consciousness. And yes you can really find inspiration from anywhere, every moment is an opportunity to be creative and to expand on that creativity. Enjoyed this post! Will follow!

Thank you for reading and your thoughts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39