Reflecting on passed on music legends

in #music6 years ago

The last few years have seen the passing of some seriously influential music icons. I am including a tune (or two) from three that played a large part in my life over the passed three decades.

First up is the absolute KING of blues in my opinion .... none other than BB. King. Well, the King is gone... and along with him a lot of the thrill


The Thrill is Gone - BB.King, this recording in 1969


Sweet Sixteen - BB King


refelections.jpg


Seeing as I am reflecting on the passing of legends..... my office park taken this morning

I first came across BB King when taking an album out from a record library called Beat Street in Rocky Street, Yeoville in the very early 80's. The album was called Live at Cook County Jail and I was hooked on the clean, cohesive guitar sound... and the gravelly voice.

Next up ... and anyone who knows me would have suspected this guy would feature... Leonard Cohen. What a loss to music and his legion of fans. I did a tribute the day after he passed away.


I decided to include a track from his last album.... which was released just days before he passed away.

It may just be a fanciful thought in my mind but the more I listen to his last album the more it sounds to me like he was ready to go


You Want It Darker - Leonard Cohen from the album of the same name

I heard the snake was baffled by his sin
He shed his scales to find the snake within
But born again is born without a skin
The poison enters into everything

I was twixt and tween who the third artist should be ...Gary Moore or Dolores O'Riordan and finally settled on the latter as she had a bigger impact on my daily life, imparting far more happy moments. Moore was a great guitarist but his music did not really resonate with me.

Dolores, the lead singer for The Cranberries passed away suddenly earlier this year. Not only could she sing I reckon she was gorgeous {smile}


Linger - The Cranberries

Just for the record this particular video has been watched a stagerring 152.1 million times in 9 years. So some basic arithmetic sort of indicates that for NINE YEARS every SECOND of EVERY day there were roughly 112 people watching and listening to the video. {jaw plops open} .... (41959 views per day, 1748 per hour and 29 per minute and the video is 4 minutes long.)

Thanks for stopping by and supporting my piffle posts {grin} ... Have a lekker weekend all !!!

)





Sort:  

A very unique post @themagus :)

Very Classic Friends!

Thanks for share @themagus

Amazing @themagus, i like music,visit my account, i like paint.

Excellent selection, and good call with Dolores instead of Gary. However, all the choices poked my heart - so sad to think these amazingly talented folks are no longer with us.

Fortunately their music lives on, small blessings. Another problem is when a rocker passes away I hold a wake in their memory and my liver takes another hiding {sulk} ... my neighbours took a pounding when Lennie passed on {grin}. Come to think of it...@fempower is away for the week.... time to light the incense and crank up the music.....{dances little jig.... yelps in pain as tired old hips grind bone on bone}

Definitely time to get your Tom Cruise on!


via GIPHY

And in my experience, if your bones protest it means you need another drink...


via GIPHY

Spot on sister .... gonna have to throw me a stiff one tonight !!

I'll drink to that!


via GIPHY

Bwahahaha ...... Now thats my kinda girl ....

It's one of my all time favorite gifs. 😊

And I just discovered there's a followup...


via GIPHY

Oh man, the master himself, BB King. I love one particular show in 73, he used to say that was his best performance. That man could play!

It's so sad seeing all the legends passing away.

Yes, the whole rock and early blues muso's are now in their late 70's - 90's ...so we will continue losing more and more this year.
thanks for stopping by.

The last few years have witnessed the passage of some very influential music icons. I include one or two songs from three that have played a big part in my life over the past three decades.

we also live the same life full of music. We are lovers of rock music. i am a music lover .. my life is full of music. Men have a friend's taste. Good. If there is time to spare, give me support for me

very nice post @themagus, i like to read your post, the music is also very beautiful, you are indeed a lover of music, may you success continue, please help me
i will upvote and restem

photography and video amazing, I like the posts you exceptional, I hope you always successful friend Yes, I will restem, I hope you can help always @themagus yes

I also really like the music of my friend. and I really need support from you my friend. @themagus

La canzone è molto melodiosa e bella da ascoltare i miei amici vogliono solo trasmettere i tuoi desideri sempre con successo ti sostengo sempre saluti ita

Grazie per la visita al mio blog. Apprezzo il tuo supporto...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61