Cover Versions #2 - Let's put it to the vote

in #music7 years ago

The previous 'covers' post was a match up between Barbara Streisand and Gladys Knight and the Pips. Today we have a song covered in a different genre so the comparison takes a subtle twist.


Recorded in 1964 the inimitable Simon and Garfunkel's Sounds of Silence

A brilliant song I must suggest.... but FORTY ONE years later Disturbed brought out a rock version of the same song. Give it a listen and give me your thoughts.


The official video was uploaded onto YouTube on 08 December 2015.... and has had an astonishing 279 MILLION views

Thanks for listening ... please give me your thoughts on the two versions. I personally am still firmly in the Simon and Garfunkel camp.

Sort:  

Hi @themagus :) thank you for the cool post. The Simon and Garfunkel original version never really touched me that much, not saying I did not like it but I never really touched my heart. But when I heard the Disturbed version I was blown away! That was actually the first time I really understood what te song was about. So I am definitely more into the Disturbed version. Simon himself postet it on his Facebook page. Well, either way, this song is a masterpiece!

Thanks for the reply. I reckon mine is mostly association with memories that puts me in the Simon and Garfunkel camp. In our household the Disturbed version gets far more airtime I can assure you. I brought up rockers :)

good job! :) but of course, music that sets free memories, especially good memories is just one of the best things in life

Checked your blog out...welcome to Steemit. If you go further back in my blog you will find that I covered Music Legends from the 60's and 70's ... some good rock amongst some mundane stuff.

thank you for checking out! I will definitely have a look at it!

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @themagus. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

Amazing post!
I think that the Disturbed cover is much better than the Simon and Garfunkel song.
I don't say, that the original song is bad but I like the voice of the Disturbed vocalist way greater

Yeah, sounds a bit 'threatening' ... like darkness... 'much better' ?? debatable.... thanks for stopping by and taking the time out to respond. Appreciated.

posting a very nice song comrade, the music is very soft. thanks for sharing @themagus

Thanks friend.

You are welcome my friend

I absolutely love them both. Listening to them again just now, I would say that they both affect me in different ways. The Disturbed version is very visceral and I can feel it in my body - round the solar plexus. S&G is lighter and more uplifting, possibly affecting the higher chakras.

If you make me choose, I'd have to go with S&G, but I'm greedy and want them both! (Did you see all my belated comments on your earlier posts?)

Hi @kiwideb ... I did indeed see them but on my cell phone which is useless for responding on. was away for the weekend (my uhum..fiancée did another mountain challenge which she duly won {sigh}) ..I will get back to you once I listen to your tunes !!

@themagus thank you for the nice post cheers :)

This post has received a 19.27 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @themagus. Send at least 0.100 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid for a portiona of the next 100% upvote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 32.26 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @themagus. Please vote @swelker101 for witness

This post was resteemed by @boostupvote

All the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82