Cover Versions - Let's put it to the Vote

in #music7 years ago

On more than one occasion in the past I have stated that I do not like cover versions. Yesterday I did the 'Love Songs' post and while planning it I came across other recorded versions of my favorite songs. And some were really very good

So I decided to do a couple of comparisons and see what feedback is derived from the comparison

For today we will look at two performances of a ballad I first heard as part of the soundtrack to "A Star is Born" performed by Barbara Streisand...


The Way We Were - Barbara Streisand

Brilliant performance that .... for me gooseflesh time. Second version, be patient she takes a while to get into it and hit her straps the inimitable Gladys Knight...listen up and cast your vote in the comments below.


The Way We Were - Gladys Knight and the Pips

Lets hear your thoughts.. and thanks for reading and listening to two great female artists! I have a cracker double lined up for tomorrow so look out for it.

Sort:  

Beautiful . wonderful .best of luck.go ahead bro.

Sorry I haven't popped in much lately - with Dad being sick, then both our Dads passing, and other stresses (see my post about it a week or so ago).

But here I am now and listening... For me, I think it's not so much about whether a cover is better or not, but often it's whichever version I heard first becomes imprinted.

Star is Born - loved all the songs, loved the movie.

The Way We were - love the song, but hated the movie (also The Way we Were) - what a pair of irritating tossers!

The Gladys Knight version also very good - I think I have to give them a first equal for this one.

Off to see what else I've missed.

Had to reply to this again - I've just been down a rabbit hole called Mr Youtube, here, there and everywhere and come full circle back to cover versions.

Did you know that Tainted Love by Soft Cell was a cover?

Here's the original by Gloria Jones from 1964

I further learnt that Marilyn Manson covered it later (you don't have to watch more than 30 seconds of this one)

Much as I used to love the Soft Cell version, after listening to Gloria Jones, Soft Cell seemed a little, well, soft... Isn't that interesting, given what I said earlier (about usually preferring the one I heard first)?

In the comments, someone said they were head banging to Gloria Jones. Me too!

Did not know that Tainted Love was a cover {blinks} ...wow, they hardly changed a note.

It was a surprise to me too. The Marilyn Manson one, on the other hand, was an unpleasant surprise ;-)

This is very nice. I like it very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30