Music from the Underground #6 - Denzel Curry

in #music7 years ago

In this edition of Music from the Underground I want to share with you a hidden gem of what I’m calling the new wave of rap. I came across Denzel Curry when I was at my friends’ house and one of them was listening to his recent EP, 13, on the stereo, and when the second song on the EP, Hate Government, comes on I almost instantly have to ask who it is. This is a rare thing for me, I find it very difficult to find rap and hip-hop that satisfies my very discerning palate, haha.
Anyway, let’s get this party started.


000000000_13.jpg

I’m mostly going to focus on 13 because it’s what I know best, and it’s also his best work to date from what I’ve listened to. But, to give a bit of background, let’s have a look at some of Mr. Curry’s earlier work. If you don’t care to see/hear the development of this artist just scroll down to where I start talking about 13, seriously, it’s ridiculously good.

First up I think we should listen to N64 from Curry’s 2013 debut full length album, Nostalgia 64. This isn’t something I would go out of my way to listen to but it is a good example of Curry’s artistry, although I don’t think it does a good job of showing off his talent as a rapper.

[Denzel Curry – N64]


Next up is probably Denzel Curry’s most well-known song considering it was (is?) a meme. This track can be found on Curry’s 2015 double EP, 32 Zel/Planet Shrooms. I really like the energy of this one, and for yet another braggadocious rap song it’s not terrible. I’m going to share two versions of this song the original and a live version with the band BadBadNotGood, if you only watch one of them make it the BBNG Sessions version, it’s fantastic.

[Denzel Curry – Ultimate]

[Denzel Curry – Ultimate (BBNG Sessions)]


This song is from 2016’s Imperial album. I think this might be my favourite from the album that I’ve heard so far. I don't have much to say about the song or the album except that it's a clear step forward into the territory of 13.

[Denzel Curry – Gook]


Ok, that was a little background just to give you a flavour of Curry’s earlier work to compare to what comes next.
In my opinion 13 is Curry’s best work, it shows how he has matured as an artist even compared to last year’s Imperial. Obviously there are some things about this EP that I don’t like, the main one being that it’s too damn short!

Right, let’s get cracking. This is the first track on the EP and as an opener it really sets the mood for the rest of the EP. It introduces the darker feel while still having elements of his earlier work, it bridges the gap between what’s come before and what’s coming after.

[Denzel Curry – Bloodshed]


And this is the song that has instigated this whole mess. This one really grabbed me when I first heard it, and it hasn’t let go yet. Track two on the EP and we’re already being thrown in the deep end. The most disappointing thing about this track is how short it is, it feels like it’s really about to start kicking in and then it’s over.

[Denzel Curry – Hate Government]


Yep, over already, see what I mean?


And now for track three. Ok, I’m just going to say it right now to just put it out there and get it over with: Ronny J’s horrible autotune vocals and even worse lyrics ruin this song for me, and it’s such a shame because his production is fantastic. Seriously, the beat is brilliant, Denzel’s verse is terrific, but Ronny J comes in and ruins it all with his verse. Luckily Denzel only has one verse on the song so you really aren’t missing anything by skipping to the next song before Ronny J shits all over everything.

[Denzel Curry – Equalizer (feat. Ronny J)]


Seriously, Ronny, I know you’re never going to read this but please stick to what you do best and make some fantastic beats, leave the vocals to somebody else.


We’re almost done guys. This is track four, another criminally short song that goes hard, as the kids would say. I’m not sure but I think this might be my favourite song on the EP. In an interview I watched, Curry said that this was a freestyle he recorded into Garageband with a crappy microphone which is why the vocals sound like they do. I’m going to use a line from the song that sums up my feelings towards it rather well.

“This ain’t what you heard before, roll up the green like a herbivore.”

[Denzel Curry – Heartless]


And now we close out the EP with a much more familiar sound. This one is just a decent hip-hop song that wouldn’t be out of place with some of Curry’s earlier work. The hook on this one is where it’s at though. And despite a clunky first few lines Lil Ugly Mane lays down a good verse. I’ve heard his name before but this was my first time actually hearing Lil Ugly Mane and I think I would best describe his voice as like a skinny Action Bronson.

[Denzel Curry – Zeltron 6 Billion (feat. Lil Ugly Mane)]


Ok, folks, that’s it for another edition of Music from the Underground. This might have been the longest one yet and I’m not even much of a Denzel Curry fan, I just really appreciate that EP. He has a new album in the works called Taboo and if it’s anything like 13 I’m sold, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Anyway, I hope you’ve enjoyed this and found some new music to listen to. If you’ve got any thoughts or opinions on Mr Curry’s work let me know in the comments.


Music from the Underground #1 – Gaika
Music from the Underground #2 – Crywank
Music from the Underground #3 – Various Artists
Music from the Underground #4 – Admiral Angry
Music from the Underground #5 – Benjamin Clementine

Sort:  

I love your post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

Thank you. I will enjoy it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85