Music From the Underground #2 - Crywank

in #music7 years ago

In last week's installment of Music From the Underground I introduced you to the wonderful sonic stylings of GAIKA and his dark impressions of the modern urban landscape.

But this week I'm going to share with you something altogether different. Instead of running through the claustrophobic cityscapes we are instead going to look inward to the sometimes even more overwhelming claustrophobia of our own hearts and minds with the introspective, self-deprecating harsh truths of Crywank.

crywank.jpgImage Source


Ok, I have to be honest here, I've only started listening to Crywank during the last month or two so I'm not going to be as comfortable trying to share material in any sort of chronological order, instead I'm just going to share the songs I've enjoyed most. I also don't know too much about this band so I'll let their bandcamp page introduce them for me:

"Crywank are a Manchester based anti-folk band. They mostly write sad songs and have been told they are the worst named band in the country."

That says it all really. Although, I'll happily fight any man who says Crywank is a bad name. The only other thing I would add is that sometimes Crywank is a band of one sometimes a band of more than one, I don't really know how to refer to them sometimes.

Ok, before I start sharing a bunch of songs here I'm going to suggest you check out Crywank's bandcamp page and if you like what you hear you can pick up their whole discography for as little as £1.50, that works out to only fifteen pennies per album! Also, if you're not so flush with cash but still want some Crywank on the go, some of the albums can be downloaded for free.

All right, on with the show...


This is the first Crywank song I listened to and is definitely the reason I decided to give them a chance. Actually it was probably the name that made me give them a chance, but this song made me want to listen to more.
[Crywank - I am Shit]


And here's a live version of another of my favorite Crywank songs. This one, to me, really shows off the absolutely fantastic lyricism that permeates Crywank's body of work, or at least the parts of their body of work I've listened to.
[Crywank - Song For a Guilty Sadist]


And here is a song that exemplifies the pure honesty of emotion that is Crywank. As somebody who likes to write songs I know all too well the feelings expressed in this one.
[Crywank - I'm a Cliche]


If I'm not mistaken this was the first song written by Crywank.
[Crywank - Welcome to Castle Irwell]


I think I'll just let this song speak for itself.
[Crywank - Hikikomori]


Ok, I think I'm going to leave you with one last song. This is another live one.
[Crywank - Crywank are Posers]


I hope that wasn't too much for you. I also hope that you've enjoyed some of the music from another underappreciated artist. I'm only after realising that most of the songs I've shared here are on the same album, and it's one of the albums you can download for free if you want, or if you have money to spare you can support Crywank too.

I guess it's time to start thinking about what band/artist I'm going to share with you all next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11