Music from the Underground #3 - Various Artists

in #music7 years ago (edited)

This week I'm going to do something a little bit different. Instead of focusing on one artist today I'm going to share a few songs from a couple of different artists. The reason I'm doing this is because sometimes I don't know enough about an artist to write much about them, other times I might not have listened to/liked many of their other songs, but mostly it's because I can't think of one particular artist to feature. I may in the future feature some of the artists here in their own post but for now, this is it. Consider this post a sampling of what's to come.

Anyway, on with the show.


This first track is a fantastic piece of late 80's/early 90's electronica. If Maggie Thatcher had ever invited me to one of her acid parties I'd probably find it very hard to refuse no matter how much of a (insert swear word of choice) she was. Seriously, this might be one of the catchiest songs ever made, I find myself singing it quite often.

[V.I.M - Maggie's Last Party]


While we're on the topic of electronic music I'd like to show you this interesting glimpse into a subculture I know nothing about but love to see. Normally I wouldn't share a song with a few (17, in this case) million views on youtube in these articles but I think I can make an exception for this one. I mean, it's certainly not something from the mainstream...

Go grab your gas mask and furry boots because it's about to get all cybergoth up in here.

[Eisenfunk - Pong]


One more from the electronic scene and then we'll move onto something else. This is a nice bit of bass, if you're into that sort of thing (I know I am). I really like that warning on the album cover too: "The bass levels in this music may be hazardous to your speakers".

[Quad Force - Feel the Real Bass]


I know I said we'd step away from electronic music for this one, but we're only taking baby steps. This is a great little rap track that you can download for free from here

[Ramaj Eroc - Tom Foolery]


Let's have another rap song, shall we? This time we'll make it a live one.

[Busdriver - Barbs Over Breakfast Scones]


And now for something completely different. This is a fantastic piece of music. Thirteen minutes of pure, zoned out groove. Class. This song is so good that you won't even notice the thirteen minutes go by. Seriously, just give it a listen, I'll wait for you to finish before I move on.

[Stoned Jesus - I'm the Mountain]

See, I told you I'd wait for you.


Alright, I was going to try and find something a little bit easier to listen to before this next song because it helps to be eased into something like this... but sometimes it's more fun to just be thrown into the deep end. If you're not a fan of loud abrasive noises you might want to give this one a miss, or not, you never know, you might like it. Either way, you have been warned.

[Daughters - Hyperventilation System]


If you made it through that last song unscathed I applaud you, and you can relax now because we are going to change direction once again, and oh what a change it will be. This video is from Later... with Jools Holland.

[Benjamin Clementine - Cornerstone]


I think that's enough music for you to check out for now, hopefully you'll find something you like.

Hey, now that we're at the end of this article would you mind if I asked you a question or two (or 6)? How do you define "underground" music? What is it that makes a song/artist a part of the "underground"? Is it based on popularity or is it based on style? Or is it something to do with record labels? The reason I ask is because I have plenty of artists that I'd like to feature here but I consider them to be popular enough to no longer be part of the "underground" even though stylistically they are very much not a part of the mainstream. So, what I'd really like to know where's the cutoff point? When is something no longer "underground"?

Anyway, peace out and remember to stay tuned for future MftU posts.


Music from the Underground #1 - GAIKA
Music from the Underground #2 - Crywank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83