Introducing Doctor Worm's Minnow-Making Machine

in #steemit6 years ago

I was doing some math last night and discovered that because of the way curation works and the broken SBD peg, votes given earlier in the life of a post have substantially more value than the same vote given later, not just to the poster (which we knew) but overall. I may make a longer, mathier post about this over at my main account @tcpolymath, but for now the important thing is that it finally motivated me to set up SteemAuto so that I can help the posters I'm supporting more.

I still want to be able to manually curate on that account, so I've delegated 1500 SP to this account in order to support certain small posters' growth through consistent immediate upvoting. I'm starting it with 12 accounts I've come to like for one reason or another, and who have less than 500 native SP:

The first class is: @archisteem @cobmaximus @elsiekjay @gibber @guri-gure @joyart @lilixblack @lillywilton @paintingangels @photocircle @samidbarid and @timmolloy

Very few of those accounts post even daily, so I'm hoping to be able to expand the list a little bit once I've monitored how the voting power goes for a while. For the moment, this account is set to sell its vote to SmartMarket if it becomes in danger of sitting at 100% voting power; funds raised from that will be used to grow this account. @doctorworm will continue to self-vote, and @tcpolymath will be autovoting its posts, for the same reason. Ideally the project will become self-sufficient eventually.

The intention is that this vote will be used to grow the users' accounts, and that when they get to 500 native SP (which will happen pretty fast for some of them) they will be asked to recommend a smaller user to replace them on the list.

And don't worry, part of the reason I'm doing it this way is so I can still manually give you @tcpolymath's vote from time to time as well.

Sort:  

This is such a great idea to spread around votes and help smaller/newer posters on the platform.

This is a great service you are providing.

Stemm on !!!

OMG! I'm so honoured to be on that list; can't even say enough to cover the wide range of gratitude i feel within....
Thanks so much for being a blessing to me; I'm ever grateful and i bet i won't forget this exceptional act of kindness in a hurry. I'm so blessed to know someone with a great soul as yours @tcpolymath

Oh man! I can't believe I'm in this list!
Thank you so much for your support! I am honored and very very flattered!
More power to you sir!
You have my full support on this goal as well! :D

It should be an interesting race to see who the first graduate of the list is. I think you've got a good shot.

Yikes! Hahahaha! I didn't thought of it as a race!
Now I'm pressured! Lol!

As far as I know you're the only one with a rocket-goat.

Lol!
Rocketeer goat, take us to the moon! :D

Thank you so much for including me on your list, I really appreciate it, as well as all of your comments on my posts (I like your blog too) :D

How early does the vote have to be given in order for it to have more value? before the 30 minute mark? I'm so curious to find out how all of this works!

P.S: when you say native 500 sp... what do you mean?

How early does the vote have to be given in order for it to have more value?

Within the first 30 minutes, the earlier the better. After 30 minutes they're all the same.

P.S: when you say native 500 sp... what do you mean?

Native SP is the number of SP listed in your account without the parentheses; it's the amount of SP you own, rather than is delegated one direction or another. For instance @doctorworm currently has 10.194 native SP even though it behaves like it has 1500.

Ohh ok ok, so I figured but I had to ask to be sure! There's a lot I still need to learn around here haha. Thanks!

Oh wow..

This is such a pleasant surprise Tim. I'm truly humbled and honored to be in your good graces. You have been such a motivating factor and a great help when I really needed it/ needs it. Hopefully in the near future I can give back in morw ways than you have done for me and this many others because you truly are amazing. Thank you for sacrifice to help us grow.

Ps; I am trying to do daily vlogs, but @dtube & @dlive have been such a let down I just don't know what to do. Hopefully the narrative changes soon.

Sincerely,

-Elsie.

Hopefully in the near future I can give back in more ways than you have done for me

This is why supporting you has been an easy choice.

There's always YouTube or Vimeo and embed the video in your post. I wish dTube and dLive would work better too.

I feel like using those outside platforms beats the purpose of being on a blockchain platform to begin with. Doesn't sit well with me. And I'm not a fan of youtube, Willing to try Vimeo tomorrow if it doesn't work.

Thank you for the support once again.

Xo

Thanks a lot for including @photocircle to this great initiative and it's really inspiring. In due time we will find ways to support and help you with this project as well.

Hey @doctorworm & @tcpolymath,

Thanks for including @archisteem under this awesome support initiative and continuous support for the #placestoremember project. We will definitely look forward to more mutual support for the planktons and minnows around.

Sincerely,

@archisteem and team

It is wonderful that you want to support newcomers. It's not easy for a beginner to remain here if he is putting a lot of effort in his posts and he is not discovered. Motivation is important!

Thanks. Since you're a musician you should come play Open Mic with us, that can get you plenty of interaction. https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-86-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

I followed you but I don't know how often you'll see me on your posts, since dTube/dLive/dSound don't work for me more often than not.

wow thank you Tim... always a pleasure brother ;9)

This looks fun! Did not know you were doctor worm. Well, glad to know another mad scientist. Big respect from me to you for this. I am very interested in knowing the math behind your discovery.

That's in this post.

I'm half-convinced SBD is going to hit $1 in the next few weeks, making all this somewhat pointless.

@tcpolymath I think it's going to hit a $1 point too. Thanks for the link. I found it before and forgot to mention. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44