You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Music is Big Band Part 6, Rehearsal 7 for a concert that will cost me $126.30!?!

in #music5 years ago

Hi @mcnestler I appreciate your comment! Yes, probably sarcastic, definitely grumpy. The costs I’ve incurred are real and believe it or not it’s gonna go way up in my next big band post. (Totally my fault, but I’m going to complain about the lack of leniency. 😬)

I wouldn’t use the word hobby, this is more like job training. For this big band series, I usually say “my costs are low for an education” or “it’s a cheap education.” Maybe I should say “it’s a low cost for job training?” 😊

I see your point though. I get caught-up in the financial irony of being a musician. I want to dilute the entitlement listeners and players practice. My goal is to provide entertainment, to maintain healthy boundaries, and to give perspective. I want to share realistic expectations for all our sakes.

I also want the irony of charging students for parking to be exposed.

Yes, I like doing it, but when does one’s passion become abuse? That’s one of the many embarrassing question we must ask ourselves. Thankfully, I have a healthy support system. People around me help in many ways... or are they “enablers!” Just kidding they know I love it. We fight for what we love, right?
You are not completely wrong! Thanks again for your comment. (By the way, I’m not on drugs. I would be a much better soloist.)

Hey! Do you play music or big band?
Did you see my comment to @enforcer48 above? That play list I put in there is lots of fun to listen to. It’s twisted, yet fun big band music.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46