You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Music is Big Band Part 6, Rehearsal 7 for a concert that will cost me $126.30!?!

in #music5 years ago

Hey @steemseph,
interesting choice of topic. I do not exactly know if you are serious or if its just sarcasm, but I like the idea of adding upside costs to a general "free hobby".
As far as I can understand it, no matter if it costs you something you like doing it :P Being part of a big band brings you further to your goal of being a musician :)
IF I am completely wrong here I am sorry: you can just ignore my message :P

Sort:  

Hi @steemseph,

Maybe I should say “it’s a low cost for job training?”

This is what I was referring to :P I think you can be right but that is just the hard work you put in in the first place in order to be successful in the future. Its like "free" professional help and if you feel confident enough you can already start to do your own thing.

Hey! Do you play music or big band?

I used to play the guitar being a kid, but dude lets not talk about it. I am not really a musician. AH - and I was in the choir back in Highschool, good grades for not that much effort :P

I love artists for being artists and I often thought what a nice life would it be if I was Jack Johnson, Ben Harper .... but I am more the listener than the producer :)

I am curious about your process and keep up the effort! In the end passion pays off.

I am going to listen to it, thanks bud. Have a great weekend :)

Hi @mcnestler I appreciate your comment! Yes, probably sarcastic, definitely grumpy. The costs I’ve incurred are real and believe it or not it’s gonna go way up in my next big band post. (Totally my fault, but I’m going to complain about the lack of leniency. 😬)

I wouldn’t use the word hobby, this is more like job training. For this big band series, I usually say “my costs are low for an education” or “it’s a cheap education.” Maybe I should say “it’s a low cost for job training?” 😊

I see your point though. I get caught-up in the financial irony of being a musician. I want to dilute the entitlement listeners and players practice. My goal is to provide entertainment, to maintain healthy boundaries, and to give perspective. I want to share realistic expectations for all our sakes.

I also want the irony of charging students for parking to be exposed.

Yes, I like doing it, but when does one’s passion become abuse? That’s one of the many embarrassing question we must ask ourselves. Thankfully, I have a healthy support system. People around me help in many ways... or are they “enablers!” Just kidding they know I love it. We fight for what we love, right?
You are not completely wrong! Thanks again for your comment. (By the way, I’m not on drugs. I would be a much better soloist.)

Hey! Do you play music or big band?
Did you see my comment to @enforcer48 above? That play list I put in there is lots of fun to listen to. It’s twisted, yet fun big band music.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88