Drum Cover Of Poor Mans Poison - The Gallows

in #music6 years ago (edited)


I came across a moving song on someone's blog last night that went right through me. I'd never heard it before, and obviously never played it, but I sat down on my set today to figure it out.

The original drums were just brushes sweeping on a snare drum, so the canvas was blank to make up my own parts. I added gong and wind chime triggers for some magical character.

If I played it two more times, it'd be perfect, but my neighbors came home. The delicate dynamics, crescendos, emotional lyrics, and feel changes were difficult for me to adapt to at a soft volume (I usually power through heavier songs with ease), but I did my best in the window I had to play.

The delicate feel made me stray from the pocket occasionally, and I mishit a layup fill when my stick air-balled the drum. Oh well. I'd prefer a better take for the blockchain, but will try to learn from said blogger's posts that imperfection is juuust finnee.

I used a lot of "ghost notes" on the snare under a shuffle beat to fill the quiet space. It's much easier to play those on an acoustic drum, but I'd also like Steem to be a million dollars.

It's a dark song, so black & white video it is. Hope you enjoy.

@steemmatt


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Duuuuddee!!!! This is one of my favorite songs and my goodness I didn’t think it could be improved upon, but you did it! I’m super impressed!! 🔥

What a crazy coincidence! You should check out the blogs of the person who introduced me to this song. One of the highest quality, thought-provoking, authentic and talented pages I've seen from top to bottom.

I have never heard that song before. You did it wonderfully!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Nicely done!

Good to meet you at SteemFest, hopefully you can get some shit hot drums next year!

Much appreciated, and likewise. My biggest regret in joining SF late was that I couldn't get on the stage to perform. Playing live is big goal of mine for next year.

Beautiful work, Matt! It was awesome meeting you. We had too little time to talk in the end. I hope you are all good and back in NY. :)

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have received a personal award!

CleanPlanet
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Music is the best part of human life . You listening music your mind us fresh . Thanks for sharing @steemmatt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 61362.14
ETH 2643.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58