2000, a good year for music? For #x-daysofmusic

in #music6 years ago (edited)

@steevc nominated me for the #x-daysofmusic in his recent post. I can't for the life of me find a free to use '2000' image, so you will need instead to look at my handsome avatar.

Was this the start of the end (of listenable music) or was it just that I listened to the radio more than usual in the year 2000?

Yes, the year of my birth was a hectic one. I was married the year before and had clinched a lucrative contract in Crawley, West Sussex of all places.

It didn’t feel right to leave @bingbabe ‘up north’ so I waddled into a property rental agency and babbled to the agent in best ‘baby’ that I wanted to rent a 4-bedroom detached property in Maidenbower, a rather ‘posh’ area.

After some questions about the legality of someone in nappies trying to achieve such a feat, I was granted the keys. The threat of pooping on the counter worked a treat!

The DVLA kindly granted me a driving license at the age of 3 months after some backhanders to a rather shifty bloke in a back alley with a big nose, bad complexion, pungent odour and rotting teeth.

Well, he told me he was from the DVLA and maybe there was some naivety... I was a little young after all.

We drove up and down the M6, M40 and that horrendous road named the M25 many times in the subsequent months, always with the radio on and I was digging the music while I drove with special extended plastic legs so I could reach the pedals.

The car was completely packed with clobber and our cat, ‘Food’ was squashed among all the gear somewhere in the back.

In the space of six months, he became a truly seasoned feline traveler and got very used to being stuffed in among all the other clothes, food, and household goods.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Here’s what I remember from my early years:


Dido – Here with Me (2000)

Even in my infancy, I loved these deep melancholic songs. This is probably the last truly great song I have heard in modern times; that is the 21st century.

There have been good ones, but this is epic in my mind.


Delerium featuring Sarah McLachlan - Silence (2000)

Oooh, I was a bouncing little baby. This one had me dancing away but had the melancholic overtones that I still love now I’m at the ripe old age of 18. Who said I only like progressive rock?

There have been several remixes but the original one is my favourite.


All Saint - Black Coffee (2000)

At this age, I should have liked girly bands. All glitz, glamour, smiles, smooches and no talent you say? While I'm not an All Saints fan, they pulled out the stoppers with ‘Black Coffee'.

The song has something and seemed to be endlessly played on the radio during my main drives from north to south. I still listen to it nowadays.

This thread does have a chance of dying out if the rules are not modified a little. So, I will nominate THREE people to try and keep it going.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

I nominate @k0wsk1 to join this challenge, as he is around the same age as me, more or less.

I nominate @nonameslefttouse to join this challenge, as he needs a break from art due to the loss of his brushes.

I nominate @verhp11 to join this challenge, as he won’t want to miss out on this one.

The rules are to be interpreted as you like really, but are something like this:

  • Pick years from when you were born to now. It really doesn't have to be all of them

  • Feature some songs from one of those years in a post with some details about why you like them. You can write something about the year in general too.

  • Nominate some other Steemian(s).

  • Use the hashtag #x-daysofmusic


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

FOR TSE: I'll say it again. I missed the sweaty guy. As you can see, I have him now constantly within reach.

I thought about you ES, when I made the post and what to use for the main picture ;)

I am just shocked, shocked I say, that you failed to nominate me for this all-important tribute/challenge/blabberfest.

Just for that, I'm of a mind to barge in where I'm not wanted and squander precious bandwidth pretending like you didn't forget about me. :D

Sorry man... you can still do it though if you like without a nomination. ;)

I was never a fan of Dido! I'm sure she's a lovely lady, but... I used to call her Dulldo, but that sounds rude. I like the other choices, especially Delirium. I posted a different version of that on another post recently - the video for this Tiesto remix is amazing, and it gave me another place to add to my bucket list.

I used to call her Dulldo

LOL, besides the first album, there was not much more in the bag.

Oh my - it was played to death in our office :/

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 323 (11/26/18)

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Fixed, thanks.

That's a great one, but just that I enter correct, you have select some years from your birthyears up until now?

I just picked a year mate. I was going to do '78 as it has a special place for me but so has 2000. I just added the satire to spice it up a little.

I remember how unique Dido was when she first started putting out singles. There was something about her voice that was mellow and soothing. It is curious to wonder what ever happened to her.

She is still about, but I think she gave us the best first. Her debut album was great.

thank that you join my challenge... Welcome to #x-daysofmusic

I didn't know you were the originator! thanks for creating it.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.151 which ranks you at #3076 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 3084).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 280 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61008.54
ETH 2713.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44