Sidibeat and the Cryptographic Orchestra | Explaining music

in #music7 years ago

Massive sound with a detailed analysis about the track and its creation.


dream_hcv924o0qv2.jpg
Like the artwork? Check out my other posts, they also have a custom artwork!

Sidibeat and the Cryptographic Orchestra

also on DTube: https://dtube.video/#!/v/sidibeat/uu1dwrr0


This Instrumental was created without using samples. All Sounds were arranged by me in my DAW using a Keylab 88 MIDI controller. It all came with the flow while I was playing around with a new Plugin Library.

Note: I did not study music science. But since I started learning to play the piano about 1 ½ years ago I built some knowledge in basic music theory. The explanation is based on my understanding of the music I create. I start my workflow with a Loop of several instruments.


01-Loop.png

The Drums

They are as simple as they can be. Drums should serve the other instruments while still providing the basic rhythm as a driving force. A 4/4 takt with the kick switching between one and two hits after every 4th takt. The snare is laying flat on the 2nd and 4th. Finally the high-hat Brings in some variation with playing eighth closed and an opened hit after one half, in the second half it the open hit is played twice: once before the snare Hit, once right after it which rounds up the drum loop, driving it forward since the high-hat and kick-drum are alternating. And that's it. The drums for the whole track.

The Keys

As you can see in the loop-screenshot I used two different pianos. KEY-UP and KEY-DOWN. For the loop we only have a look on KEY-DOWN. The other one is relevant for the arrangement section which we will take a look on further down this post.

The piece is written in a D-Blues scale. The piano is playing the chords
D - C - A - D - G - F - D - F - A - F - G - F - G - A - G - C - D

This chord progression is from the One Piece theme “Stronger” which came to my mind in an earlier phase of the production. I’m a huge fan of the anime and especially of that battle-theme. I took the melody for the refrain and built the rest upon it. Since I now had an idea how the heart of the track should sound like I played the piano in a way that it should back up the later coming brass ensemble. The left hand is playing the melody in the root note and one octave lower. The right hand is completing the chords hitting the eighth takt.
Let’s hear it combined with the drums:

The Brass Ensemble

It is playing the same chords as the KEY-DOWN piano, hitting only the root notes. At this point i gotta say that I totally fell in love with brass instruments after recording that layer on the loop. They really add this dramatic and characteristic vibe for cinematic productions.
Next my favorite instrument in this track is coming. The french horns. Right before the first half of the chord progression ends they built up behind the other brass instruments giving that massive heroic feeling before slowly fading out.

The Bass

It is also playing the root notes, but slightly shifted before the point where the horns and piano is hitting. This shifting combined with some breaks and moving up in the scale until the octave is giving the tune a funky touch.

The Percussions

For the percussion I took a tribal rhythm and modified it. The bongos and djembes are filling gaps within the drum loop making it more interesting to listen to in my ears. There's always something going on. At the end of the basic percussion rhythm I added some highlights with heavy bangs on the djembes. They are very reduced in the whole mixing. I didn’t want them to stand out that much. Here are they:


With adding the percussions I felt that the loop was finished. Next it was time for the arrangement.


06-Arrangement.png

The Intro

For the Intro I played around with an awesome plugin called Kinetic Metal from NI. It is creating some really atmospheric sound. It’s the heart of the intro section. Layer after layer i built upon that melody that I’m playing in the first takts of the track, adding more and more instruments: The french horn, then the piano playing some high notes, a clicking that adding tension, the percussive metallic sounds. Then I reduced the sounds a bit, removed the clicking just before THE SWITCH: initiated by one note of the Brass ensemble:

The KEY-DOWN kicks in, forcing the horns to become louder as well. Simultaneously the percussion loop comes in. Then the Bass, shortly after it the KEY-UP. The horns become more and more present. Drum cymbals start hitting hard. Just before the main loop with the massive brass ensemble starts I added a rise and hit delivering a smooth crossing from the intro.

The middle part

I used the brass ensemble for switches inside as well as in the beginning of the middle part. Right after the “refrain” ist finished you hear a short note played by the brass instruments. The bassline switches, supporting the kick drum of the drums. I brought back Kinetic metal in the first half of the middle part.

Then again the brass ensemble initiates the switch:

Kinetic metal takes off, KEY-DOWN comes in playing the eighth. The percussive djembes play their highlights only two times . Then again SWITCH.

The percussive loop comes in. The bass gets lowered a whole octave. KEY-UP comes in with a little lick at the beginning. After it I completely removed the bass. KEY-DOWN playing 2 chords simultaneously with the kick-drum. KEY-UP builds tension with a little pre solo. Then Bass and KEY-DOWN do a funky riff coming way up from the C-note down to the F in order to initiate the grande finale:

The solo

Well what should I say.. This is my first keyboard solo since 1 ½ years of practice. Personally I like it but I also listened to the song probably hundreds of times. I will never have the first impression of it because I created it. That is why your opinion is very appreciated! I tried to record it without cutting it. On the third try It felt good. I left it as I recorded it and moved on to:

The outro

Another hit and rise ends the refrain smoothing into the outro. The clicking and Kinetic Metal comes back, going down the note scale and taking down the tension. The track ends with a last clicking.

Finished
And that is the whole song! :) I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know by writing a comment ;)


The Temple Of Sound | Der Klangtempel:

https://steemit.com/music/@sidibeat/journey-to-the-sound-temple-reise-zum-klangtempel-original-instrumental-special


Vote, follow and comment for more original music content on steemit! :)!

Sort:  

thankyou for sharing how you made this!! good stuff!!

Thanks Dude! Ui another music Blog :) I'll check out your posts :)

nice!! thanks! u have some real nice posts urself!!!

That is so magnificent. I am very grateful for that! Love it.

Thanks dude :) Im glad you like it!

This is such an epic and incredible beat. It has such a vast array of sounds and mood switches and somehow I feel like I can listen to it in almost any situation in my daily life.

You have such a peaceful and serene beginning and then BAM at 1:20 duh duh feel like I'm getting ready for a spy mission :)

And then one of my favorite parts is what you at 2:00- 2:40 and take this beat to a whole new level. I can't stop smiling and nodding my head to this.

Every detail is so epically covered by your post. Any music producer and really anyone if they want to learn about how to create music this is an ideal post for them.

Thank you for contributing this to the Steemit community. We all know more about music because of you.

God bless.

Namaste

O geez, the smile on my face is huuuge right now! :D
Thanks for the awesome words, I love the way you feel the tune :)

Namaste

:)))))))))))))

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sidibeat to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 1.20 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sidibeat.

This post has received a 33.00 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @sidibeat.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 3.48 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @sidibeat. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44