A little background...

in #music7 years ago

Before I start the sharing of my favorite music or recording my experience writing, I think it is apt to share more about my background and why I am where I am today and why I decided to finally engage with the world on another level.

Ever since I can remember I have loved music. To me it is not a hobby or guilty pleasure, but rather a life force - something that I feel is so inherent to who I am as a person. I would go as far as to say that music and my analytical mind are two of my most dominant characteristics. And yet somehow I feel intimidated by those around me who are successful musicians or play in any form, as if I have nothing to offer but they do . And this is where Steemit comes in, it's a way for me to engage with that part of myself and put myself out there, making a digital version of me and putting it out into the ether instead of internalizing it. As for outside of the platform, I am putting myself out there, trying to find someone to play with for the first time in years.

Montage.PNG

I am very blessed to have the family that I do, encouraging me to share who I am, and even if no one listens it feels great to throw this out there. The music definitely originates from their stimulus at a young age, listening to Queen, Paul Simon, Leonard Cohen and other classics which seem to have no identifiable link other than my dad's enjoyment. These were my preferred musical influences up until the age of 11 when I started defining my own taste. I went through the typical silly teenage phase listening to Green Day, Blink-182, Good Charlotte and the rest - you know thinking you were a misunderstood person. Then when I was 16 I discovered a local South African music video channel which has greatly influenced how I see music and how I find new artists. I feel like that was the defining moment in developing my taste today, and everything new I find is just pure happenstance and being in the right place at the right time.

As a result of my upbringing and self-discovery I have been exposed to a wide variety of genres and feel that I can't actually discriminate against any (except for a few specific artists). This exposure means that I will be sharing all artists of many genres I enjoy and it won't be a typical specifically "indie" radio station.

maxresdefault.jpg

I also feel that I should warn you, I am not well-equipped with all the genres, terms and jargon of the music industry - I only know what I need to to enjoy music at its core. If you are able to look past that I am sure we will get along great!

I will end on this note: I approach music as I do many other interests in life, with my own view; I have always been one to reinvent the wheel rather than learn the ins-and-outs of an existing one. This stubbornness means that I won't be able to be classified as a master in any field, but is also essential to who I am.

"A jack of all trades is master of none, but oftentimes better than a master of one".

Sort:  

Congratulations @ruancombrinck! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ruancombrinck! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65839.11
ETH 2661.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88