Introduction - Rafa Selase Piano Music, Spoken Word Poetry & Jazz Activism

in #music6 years ago (edited)

rafa-selase-jazz-fusion-artist-alternative-hip-hop-artist.jpeg

Hello Steemit Community, my story begins today! Why? Because I am hopeful that I will connect with a group of people similar to myself. I have browsed some of the categories and I must say that there are a lot of talented artistic people within the community. I am excited to see what will happen as I join this community. I am an artist, studying pianist & spoken word poet. I like to say I am a “Jazz Activist.” I live in beautiful Northern California!

How Did I Get Here?

Previously, I worked in Corporate America - Good Ole Silicon Valley. 12-16 hour days in front of a computer was the life I led for quite some time. While I was very thankful for my career and ability to make a good living, I got to a point in my career where I started asking myself questions. Like, is there more to life than this? Do I have more in me to give? Can I fulfill all that I am within this corporate infrastructure? Ultimately, after many thoughts, prayers, and plenty of self examination, I decided to leave. Or rather, jump ship. The corporate ship, that is!

The plan was to start my business, as I had already begun the process before leaving. Initially, I traveled a bit, attended workshops and business trainings that I thought were completely necessary. In the end, I found that most of the information is available to you at a small cost; typically a lot less than the big name expensive trainings! I was still thinking like an employee; waiting for someone to give me the answer. It seems entrepreneurship is about seizing the opportunity backed by a sound strategy! Investing in your business is a must and networking can be an advantage, but it does take time to establish relationships. I'm still learning!

With more time…miracles can happen!

After leaving Corporate America, I had a lot more time on my hands, so I started writing more. Eventually I began writing about my experience in Corporate America. The writing quickly became poetry, which eventually led to spoken word. I soon started sharing with performances at local venues. After a couple of open mics, a few clubs offered to feature me, which eventually led to me creating a full-on show with music, visuals and a little piano music during intermission. That's the condensed version!

What I found is time is powerful when you are able to give it to yourself.

Soon I co-produced my album “Red Blooded American,” which is a acid jazz, jazz fusion, folk and alternative hip hop album. I determined with my music that it’s better to let the music create its own definition rather than create music in a predefined box.

I have found entrepreneurship to be invigorating. Since leaving Corporate America, I have found more creative parts of myself that I never would have tapped into had I not left the 4 walls. Yes, it’s scary and different, but well worth it. Develop a plan, talk to your family, pray about it, meditate on it, and if it truly makes sense, make the leap. Sometimes it won’t make sense to anyone else but you.

But if you’re committed, that is all that matters. I will share my music, poetry and art. Everyone has unique talents, gifts and attributes when you allow time to nurture them.

Gratitude,
Rafa

Sort:  

I see you take priority in creating a good image of yourself. A wise man once said "It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it." Keep up the

Appreciate your comment! If I need insight on the latest video games I know who to talk too!

@rafaselase, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thank you IINC and @curie!

Congratulations @rafaselase! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64