You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music Question for Today

in #music7 years ago (edited)

What methods for algorithmic and machine composition have you tried? @sunmoon

I am interested to combine those, the tough part is that classical composition is old world music, and pop music is new world. They have different rules that often constrict them. I think there are pop songs that could be adapted relatively well to the old world (stay with me - sam smith) since it has this rubato type of feel to the chord structure, maybe the orchestra could push the singer rather than the singer pulling the band.

Often the singer in the band is the star and therefore everyone follows them despite their rhythm changes, holding out notes longer, etc. Maybe altering the format to allow a classical sound to drive the piece could help that. But, it would be hugely tricky.

Do you have a link to any tracks you have done that I could listen to?

Sort:  

Hi @playitforward. I haven't done much with algorithmic or machine composition, but I'm learning python so I can eventually experiment in that direction. I did a mashup for the holidays (no programming involved) that's linked above. If you have time to listen, I'd love your feedback.

I appreciate your thoughts on the subject of classical/pop hybrid composition. It does seem like an immense challenge to do a hybrid well. I really like that idea/insight about how it might be done. What kind of music do you like to write? Is there somewhere online to listen to your work?

@suncloud, Please take a look at www.aldonbaker.com. I didn't want this page to be too into my own website and trying to upsell hard, but please take a glance if you feel like it. I write a lot of different genres all the time. So it's hard for me to pick one in particular. I'm jazz trained, college degree in music for film and game scoring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97