Production Tutorial - "The producer's Toolbox'' Extra lesson: Step by step production process of a @Meno song.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

Today I'm going to add a little lesson on how I produced a @meno song , and try to break it into steps , so maybe you can grab certain tips or tricks that you may like along the way !

messy studio.jpg

Making my mess in an amp room... I love it!

So , the song I'm picking up for today is Meno's Puppets , a really cool song , and certainly one of my favorites of his , that is why I went on to produce it in the first place haha. Let me show you the demo and some acoustic performance so you get what was my starting point for this one:


That time when Meno played upright bass... I wonder if that instrument still exists?

Ok , so as you can see , the idea of the song is already established , it's pretty much a rock song with that touch of songwriter style to it , so , I already knew that I was not going to touch the essence of the song , just make decisions in order to ''build the story'' a little better.

So , let's try and break it into steps:

1. Drums

This is more of a personal opinion , but to me drums are THE most important part of a production ( after having a good song and arrangement of course ) . Badly performed and/or recorded drums will diminish the quality of the whole finished product very noticeably. So , my personal recommendation , don't cut your budget on this one , or at least try not to. I am not a fan of sampling or over-editing drums , unless the style of song requires it . I like to have a good drum performance from start to end , a couple takes , and make corrections from there , trying not to lose the human element in the performance.

drum .jpg

This photo is from the actual drum session for this song...a lot of microphone testing!

As in 85% of all the productions I do , I had my brother @piterman behind the drum kit! We recorded this session at MCL Studios in Buenos Aires and we had Carlos Laurenz as the recording engineer , a true pro! It was a very nice learning experience for me as I watched everyone in the studio work. I was still kind of an amateur producer by that time so I was filming and taking notes like crazy !

We got some very nice raw drum tracks from this session , I was very happy with it and I barely edited the parts , just very specific things.

This is with no editing or processing whatsoever , completely raw drum track!

2 . Guitars

Well , this is more of my area but I took a very different approach of what I usually do , no formula works for everything , so instead of building many layers and parts I took more of a band approach , as the song is played live with 2 guitars , I tried to keep that vibe .

There are two main guitars:

A strat doing the main song motifs played by me and a more overdriven guitar doing the riffs played by brother Jose Antonio , who used an Ibanez prestige , that guitar was his main one for more than 10 years , before he started building his own instruments.


Not the actual guitars , but you get the idea of the contrast I was looking for!

The rest of the guitar layers come in an out in order to bring variety to each section of the song , clean layers , doubling up parts , etc. This way I can make more obvious contrasts between the verse , chorus and bridge. Here in the isolated guitar tracks its very obvious:

Gear wise , I used a Vox Ac15 ( again!) with a modded Boss DS-1 for the distortion sounds but instead of using a Shure Sm57 I used a Sennheiser e609 as it had some extra brightness that worked better for this song in my opinion.

3. Bass

I actually played this one , even though I'm not really a bass player I sometimes record it and I find it fun! I went for a really distorted and dirty sound for this one , to add that rock element to the song , bass is an extremely important compliment to the guitar tone , the reason why I tend to go for trebly guitars is because I am thinking of the bass filling up that space, it then is easier to mix as they are not fighting for frecuencies that much .

I used a Jaguar-style bass that my brother @meno made , recorded direct using the trusty Sansamp Psa-1 plug-in. A must for bass tones in my opinion , simple , yet very effective!

Let's hear the isolated bass track:

4. Editing , Mixing , Mastering

Well , now it was time to put it all together ! I did all the editing , my brother Jose Antonio mixed it in his studio and the mastering was done by Sergio Vivar in La Real Sociedad Studios in Ecuador !

As a final touch I added a little intro with a George Carlin quote , just for fun. This is the final result!:

Well , this wraps it up for today ! I hope you get some ideas from this step by step process to apply in your own recordings! Do you like the final result? Can you spot the similarities and differences? If you have any studio experiences like this I'd like to know them!

As always , I am happy to discuss or answer any question related to this article , or recording in general :) .

Thanks for reading and listening!

Signing Off

Pechiche Mena

export (2).png

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Great breakdown pechi... I think Philo might enjoy this... let me call the Philo of the Dendron.. I will cast my spell...

I summon thee @philodendron nous ne sommes pas dignes, mais nous osons le faire

(self voted for visibility)

How did I get here? lol, @meno, you crack me up..and not only are you very funny but wow you have such a beautiful voice! I really really love this song!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 90%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Awesome man, it's really great that you've shared your tracks.
@piterman is one hell of a drummer, i'm really glad that you guys are brothers and working together.
I agree with the drum aspect of a production. I think it's because the drums are purely acoustic instrument and take a lot of space, and the widest spectrum in the mix. They also give the general vibe and beat to a song. So, recording good drums is of great importance, because you can re-amp the guitars or mask them through Amp simulators with DI signals, but with drums you cannot mask anything (unless that's your original idea).
Anyways, really thank you for sharing this. :)
Cheers!

Thanks dimitri! Yes , I agree with everything you say , being a guitar player I can get around with a Mix of amps and/or emulations , a lot of effects now are a plug-in , making it easier and easier to have a professional setup on a reduced space. That doesn't happen with drums at all , you need a nice , room , a nice assortment of mics , at least 4 channels for a Very minimal drum tracking approach . 2 Oh , Snare and Bass drum.. etc etc , it's a whole art in itself to get a good drum sound . I personally don't like programmed drums at all... in some styles it works better , but even then I'd rather have someone play it and then do some crazy EQ and editing .. just my opinion though ! Cheers! and thanks for your comment!

This is what we need more of on Steemit! IM REESTEEMING THIS!

Thank you so much @iamhbros! I'm glad you liked the post , and I appreciate the resteem very much!

Buena data Pechiche! Gracias por compartir!

Gracias mati :)!

brother, a true paradise. Great site, great results. I hug you.

Thank you very much my friend ! Im glad you liked the post ! Abrazo!

That was a really good post!
The song is awesome! It sounds very professionally mixed.

Thank you @amberyooper! You should give us a tour through Nug-Studios! You have a very interesting collection of gear ! Cheers!

Now this comes in handy for good, my band just got togheter again and we have 5-6 songs to record, budget close to zero, but at least we get a demo, a draft so folks can have a taste of what we're all about.
Would a SM 57 be enough for (nug)metal guitars?

Hey @hz423creations! , yes , its always nice to have some sort of recording laying around ! your ''business card'' for lack of a better term hahaha... And yes , of course an SM57 ( with some BBQ sauce of course ) works for almost anything ! Just try and find a good spot in the speaker , start from the center ( where you get the most treble ) and slowly move to the side and find that EQ point that you like, you might try with distances , but for metal since you will need more of a tight riff sound , I'd recommend you do some close- miking.. about 6 inches away from the speaker grid. hope this helps!

It helps a LOT man, never microphoned a cab in my whole life lol, business card is absolutely what I meant haha, I don't get people's attention just by saying that I'm BeeCoin's CEO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02