DNCA - Kissing Strangers (where have I heard this before...?)

in #music7 years ago

Something that has always fascinated me is detecting plagiarism in songs. I don't know why, maybe it was my dad influence; as a musician he has good ears and he's able to detect similarities in song easily.

But today what used to be an entertaining activity for me has become tedious and boring since almost every pop song that hits the billboard and radios seem to be a mashup, a rehash, "inspired by" or in some portion "sampled" of another song. Or, as they say today, "has the vibe" of another song. Dumb excuse. If you are going to blatantly use the work of another artist, at least recognize it in the credits, right? or purchase the song rights, or ask permission. Some of they do, but still it's not excuse that every pop song now contain parts of another songs. Pop songwriters are not even putting an effort on their work.

Anyway, today I went shopping and I heard an earworm song called Kissing Strangers being played in the store. This song is from a group called DNCE, where one of the Jonas Brothers is in the group; the song features, of course! Nikki Minaj. Boy how they are spoonfeeding us Nikki Minaj. I liked the song, it got stuck in my head, I was suddenly hummering it, thinking about adding it to my playlist...

But wait... Why do I like it? Maybe because it sounds an awfully lot as this one?

Is it just the vibe? Am I just splitting hairs on this one?

It has a "brit-poppish" vibe, don't you think?

Sort:  

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +UP

Congratulations @n4t4h! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @n4t4h! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44