My picks for the top 5 Music instructional Posts on Steemit for week ending July 1, 2017. Upvoting with 100% Steem PowersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

One great thing about Steemit is that people are incentivized to pack their posts with great information. One area that is particularly impressive is Music Instruction. You can get a whole course worth of knowledge in one post. Just think, reading one post can further your ability and even open doors for your career.

One of my goals here is to do my part to help Steemit become the #1 place for musicians. I’ve seen a few impressive posts over the past few days and I want to help them get all the credit they deserve.

The purpose of this post is to share my Top 5 music instructional posts of the week. For each post, I will:

  1. Upvote with 100% Steem Power
  2. Follow and Resteem
  3. Give links and a quick reason why I think you should check them out.

If this catches on, I’d like to make it a regular thing. As we all know, the feed is a bit overwhelming and the search function still needs improvement, so by no means is this a thorough analysis of all the educational posts out there. It’s just what I’m finding. If you have a favorite instructional post (and yes, you can self-promote), please post links in the reply!

And now, my top picks for the week ending July 1, 2017:

music-1753207_640.jpg

How to read music and find notes on the piano

https://steemit.com/musictheory/@morodiene/how-to-read-music-and-find-notes-on-the-piano
by @morodiene
Morodiene has come out swinging on Steemit with this content-packed lesson. Complete with video (and a nice timestamp table of contents), this post is guaranteed to provide you what you need with discovering how to understand printed sheet music, and the layout of the piano. As someone who also has been teaching piano for over 20 years, I highly recommend this post.

microphone-1246057_640.jpg

Audition Tips (PART 2) - PREPARE YOUR VOICE

https://steemit.com/music/@kimberlyjohnson/audition-tips-part-2-prepare-your-voice
by @kimberlyjohnson
I’ve performed for years as both a keyboardist and vocalist. I can tell you that as far as preparing for a performance or audition, VOICE PREPARATION is an incredibly important and often-overlooked key to success. This post gives you great tips, many of which are simple common sense and easy, low-hanging fruit to put into action. Give your voice its best sound and longevity!

music-1770291_640.jpg

The Holy Grail of Music Theory: The Circle of Fifths

https://steemit.com/music/@soundreasoning/the-holy-grail-of-music-theory-the-circle-of-fifths-fast-music-theory
by@@@soundreasoning
I’ve taught music theory and harmony at the college level, and I can attest that knowing The Circle of Fifths is a gift that keeps on giving. For those of you who reject the idea of learning music theory, just remember that theory provides tools you can use, not rules you must abide by. Check it out!

console-2021936_640.jpg

Beat breakdown 1: how to produce a song from start to finish

https://steemit.com/music/@atlassound/beat-breakdown-1-how-to-produce-a-song-from-start-to-finish-free-mp3-steemit-exclusive
by @atlassound
Music production is such a huge part of the game now that it helps to learn all we can about good work flow, working with DAWs (Digital Audio Workstations), and the principles of good mixing and sound design. Here’s a look at the building of a track from start to finish.

Steemit musicians are trending and building an audience online - how to get your music heard on Steemit

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-musicians-are-trending-and-building-an-audience-online-how-to-get-your-music-heard-on-steemit
by @luzcypher
We’ve got instrumental instruction, vocal instruction, music theory, music production, and finally we have a helpful post for your music career. I think it’s only fitting that the music business pick goes to this great post that helps you get going right here on the Steemit platform. I just joined the community and will hopefully get my act together soon and become an active part of it. First, I need to step AWAY from the computer and finish writing my new song!

I hope you find this list helpful and I wish you the best of luck in growing as a musician and a member of the Steemit music community!
If you like what I’m doing here and want to get these fantastic posts in front of more viewers, please upvote, resteem, and follow me for more music. Thanks!

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention in your post about Steemit Open Mic. Upvoted, resteemed, and you have a new follower.

I'm incredibly honored! Thank you so much for the shoutout, @musicsteem! Your compilation will definitely make a difference in the Steemit music community. Have a wonderful weekend! :)
-Kim

Thanks again, @musicsteem! I do hope to hear you on Openmic one of these days. I think Steem can be an excellent resource for musicians, Lord knows we need it. Try to get anything heard these days on Youtube or even on Facebook and you're literally begging people. I hope more come on and contribute so that we can cultivate a community of positive musicians encouraging one another (and leave the nasty critics in those other places :D).

I agree! And I will make it to Openmic soon!

The Circle of Fifths was a great post for which I read and saved. One not mention was done by Creatr entitled the Braille Piano Method for which he has a series. Folks may find that also resourceful.

https://steemit.com/music/@creatr/the-braille-piano-method-lesson-two-chords

Excellent, thanks for sharing the link! That's what I'm hoping to achieve for musicians here: easy access to resources.

Thanks for all information

Thanks for the selection of music posts. Nice variety and good info in those posts. Cheers.

circle of fifths is pretty much all you need to know. lol. this is a really cool post though. nice to see people using steemit in so many different ways.

Wow! Great post man! I 'm new to here and I'm enjoying it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64