1980 Song for John

in #music5 years ago (edited)

On the day 8th of December 1980 I was in Livorno, Italian Military Navy Academy. I was studying to became a Lou Tenent Junior Great, in Italian Sottotenente di Vascello. I heard about John Lennon's death at the radio.
I felt immediately very sad. So sad as I had lost someone in my family. Many friends and colleagues of mine who lived with me in Livorno felt the same. It was really a shocking huge loss for the world.
After that period in Livorno, I actually became a LTJG or STV and I moved to my current home: La Maddalena, a little island where 11,000 people live, between the two big islands of Sardinia (I) and Corse (F) to work with Italian Navy as a Pharmacist. La Maddalena belongs to Sardinia, so it is Italian.
I organized a home music studio, using a Tascam four tracks recording unit, that was very good in 1980. Nowadays it seems a little ridicolous, but in those years also Sting used it to compose his music.
I composed '1980 Song for John' a few weeks after John's death, using only an acoustic guitar and making four tracks with it and my voice, using also the same guitar as a bass.
Around 2000-2001 I recorded it again in my 'new' home studio, using a Roland eight tracks digital recorder, something really good for that years. I used it until two years ago, because I replaced it with the current Apple LogicPro.
The song you are going to listen is still the one I recorded with the Roland recorder.
In 2009 the American journalist Mark R. Elsis heard this song and wanted to insert it in the soundtrack of his film 'Strawberry Fields - Keeping the Spirit of John Lennon Alive', a documentary about the Strawberry Fields corner in Central Park - New York, where many people go and remember John. Phil Spector works also in this film with the director Mark R. Elsis. Phil Spector is the producer of Let it Be, the last Beatles' album, and of 'Imagine', the most famous John's song.
Unfortunately, immediately after this film, Phil Spector was imprisoned becaused he, maybe accidentally, killed a woman in his home and I think he is still in prison.
Maybe someone can appreciate this song, even if the recording is not the best. The guitar solo you will hear has been done with my Fender Stratocaster played with my fingers, without a pick.

1980 Song For John - Words and music by Mauro Filigheddu

Some years ago when they where four, you know

They gave the world a kind of magic sound

I’ve used to listen to them for so long

They gave the world the way of spinning round

But now he’s with Lucy

He’s in the sky with diamonds

I was a boy and they were little men

Now I’m a man and one of them is dead

I read the news, the news today oh boy

And that’s the reason why I feel so sad

But now he’s with Lucy

He’s in the sky with diamonds

-Guitar solo-

Some years ago when they where four, you know

They gave the world a kind of magic sound

I’ve used to listen to them for so long

They gave the world the way of spinning round

But now he’s with Lucy

He’s in the sky with diamonds

He’s in the sky with diamonds

Now he’s with Lucy

He’s in the sky with diamonds

SfJ 1600.jpg

Sort:  


Thank you for using your ATOM to get a manual upvote from @MusicVoter2 via our Discord.

Let me pour you a !DERANGED !BEER
Don’t drink too much though or you’ll need a !COFFEEA in the morning! !TRDO

Earn more ATOM tokens listening to independent music on AtomCollectorRecords.com

!giphy johnlennon




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!


Hey @maurofiligheddu, here is a little bit of BEER from @musicvoter2 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

coffeea Lucky you @maurofiligheddu here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45