“Rainy Night in Soho” covered by Sinead O'Connor … (Celtic / Rock – Music to Your Ears, Covers–58)

in #music5 years ago

She sings like an angel, or like a person who found the measure of her dreams on a rainy night.

Sinead O'Connor – “Rainy Night in Soho”

“Rainy Night in Soho” (2019 – original from 1986)

Backed by her band and an unidentified orchestra, Sinead O’Connor recently sang this classic Pogues tune in a most honest and heartfelt way. Indeed, while she did not pen the lyrics, she may have lived them.  

Escape from Hell

When she sings about certain friends who “fell into hell,”  she may be alluding to the song’s writer and her friend, Pogues’ frontman Shane MacGowan. In 2001, Sinead helped to rescue MacGowan from the hell of his heroin addiction, by reporting his drug possession to the police. 

Singing in the Rain

In her unique voice, she sings like a human being who has suffered various pains and sorrows, as well as like an angel who has experienced the joys of paradise. Or maybe just like a person who has found “the measure of my dreams”  on a rainy night in Soho.   (Image source)

Sinead O’Connor

The Irish singer Sinead O’Connor achieved fame in the late 1980s.  

Right on, Fight on

While Sinead’s primary claim to fame is her soft but strong singing voice, she is well respected (and sometimes scorned) for her willingness to speak out in support of those who suffer and those whose rights have been violated.   (Image source)

Singing the Truth

Over the years, Sinead’s passionate and vocal support for various charities and causes has aroused some controversy. Nevertheless, she refuses to be silenced. She continues to speak the truth – and to sing it.   

During the years and decades of her career, this courageous and honorable woman has won and been nominated for dozens of awards, including Grammy, Billboard, MTV, and Golden Globe awards.   

(Image source)

I've been loving you a long time
Down all the years, down all the days
And I've cried for all your troubles
Smiled at your funny little ways
We watched our friends grow up together
And we saw them as they fell
Some of them fell into Heaven
Some of them fell into Hell

I took shelter from a shower
And I stepped into your arms
On a rainy night in Soho
The wind was whistling all its charms
I sang you all my sorrows
You told me all your joys
Whatever happened to that old song
To all those little girls and boys

Sometimes I wake up in the morning
The ginger lady by my bed
Covered in a cloak of silence
I hear you talking in my head
I'm not singing for the future
I'm not dreaming of the past
I'm not talking of the first time
I never think about the last

Now the song is nearly over
We may never find out what it means
Still there's a light I hold before me
You're the measure of my dreams
The measure of my dreams    (Image source)

        The Pogues – “Rainy Night in Soho”    
           (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


          My previous post re The Pogues’ original – "Rainy Night in Soho"  

Lyrics by Shane MacGowan, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Cover Versions” ...

         Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears "Posts 1~20"  
         Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears "Posts 21~40"  

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

I have noticed that the current voting round has just finished. I’m going to transfer to you next one.
But can I use STEEM instead of SBD? since the payout system havent generated SBD for long time, I almost ran out SBD :)

Sure. Sending Steem is fine.
Glad to see you're posting regularly. The future of Steemit is coming soon, so I hope you will be ready with many interesting posts.

Thank you for understanding.
I hope you will be ready to upvote my future posts, too. Because I have no intention of stopping using your service. Haha

OK!!! :-)
With my voting power and my SteemPower, I'm looking forward to helping more of those great writers such as you to become more and more successful on Steemit.

Full Steem Ahead!!!

Hi @majes.tytyty

When I was younger I loved Sinead O'Connor, she had a lot of disconnected time and I lost her, but I always enjoy her music a lot

Ya, she's unique, talented, principled, and a great artist. I too did not listen to her for years. Making these MTYEars posts, I've become re-acquainted with her music, and found many more great songs by her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62