My Music Five from the Seventies Part One Challenge - an @slobberchops challenge

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Music has a way of touching one's soul!
I believe the music of the seventies was greatly influenced by the 1969 Woodstock art & music festival which attracted over 400 000.
Some of the artists performing were Santana, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Jimmy Hendrix, Joan Baez, Crosby Stills & Nash and Joe Cocker to name a few.

During the year of 1970, the Rockumentary Woodstock was released; I still had two years of school left and was mesmerized by the music and the magnitude of the show. I wore John Lennon glasses and sported a shaggy dog hairstyle - cropped short on top and long at the back, our school principle jokingly asked if a lawnmower had walked over my head :) We used to tie-dye our clothes, psychedelic colours were all the rage and everything was just groovy.

tie-dye.jpg
Source

Make love, not war was the favoured slogan of many anti Vietnam activists and of course sounded fabulous to any teen growing up in that era.
Many of us dressed like Hippies, I loved the look, but being too much a part of the establishment did not want to venture that far out!
The drug scene was at its strongest and it was not unusual seeing people going cold turkey in public, quite a frightening sight.
But the music carried on playing and the music of the early seventies certainly was fabulous!

hippies-19480_960_720.jpg
Souce

Being a child of the seventies, when @slobberchops initiated his Music Five from the Seventies Part One Challenge, I could not resist joining in the fun, hope you enjoy my selection.

THE YEAR 1970
Santana, one of my favourite groups of that era, is a Latin rock & music band formed by the Mexican-American guitarist Carlos Santana in San Francisco, California in 1966. Santana still performs worldwide today!

No guessing I will start my selection with Santana and that will be Black Magic Woman, released in 1970, one of their biggest hits and my all time favourite as it captures that era so very well. Brings back fond memories of the trendy Disco's, anyone remembers those?
The song was written by the British musician Peter Green and first performed by Fleetwood Mac, but became a hit by Santana, reaching number 4 in the US & Canadian charts.

The link I've provided was recorded live at Tanglewood - Lenox, MA - enjoy!
Note the tassels in their shirts, something we all did to our clothes; luckily my Mom had two arty brothers so did not say anything about my weird outfits but I know it drove some mothers nutty at the time.

The video below is from musicvault.com

THE YEAR 1971
Then along came 1971 - I was in my final year at school and one thing my mother could not fathom out was that I studied with music blaring - my dad understood as he was a true musician, but I honestly could concentrate more with background music!
I adore the music of Leonard Cohen, that musical poet, my all time favourite, but I much prefer his songs from the 80s.
So I'm sharing a more popular 1971 hit single by Creedence Clearwater Revival's Have you ever seen the Rain. This was the group's eighth gold selling single, it went on to number 1 in Canada and charted 8th in the US Billboard Hot 100.
CCR had four years of chart topping hits, with many social and political conscious lyrics including anti Vietnam War songs but they sadly disbanded acrimoniously in 1972.

The video I'm sharing is from Warner Music Videos

THE YEAR 1972
I left school, was accepted at a teacher's training college, but turned it down at the last minute for an apprentice draughtsman position at a firm of land surveyors. This was a life changing decision as I met the love of my life through a work colleague. I got my driver's licence in the year 1972 as well and the song by The Eagles Peaceful Easy Feeling which only reached number 22 on the charts, really described how happy I was! This still is one of their most popular songs.
Glenn Frey died unexpectedly in 2016 but The Eagles still perform today. His son Deacon Frey replaced his daddy in lead vocals with this song. I however am sharing the original version and here they're performing in Voorburg in 1973, although the song was first released in 1972.

THE YEAR 1973
As I said earlier, I met my hubby through a work colleague and we're still together after many many moons and through many ups and downs!
A beautiful nostalgic song written by Jim Croce, Time in a bottle is my next choice, for obvious reasons as this is a scarce commodity nowadays and seems to be running away with me in my autumn years!
Although the words sound like it's written for a lover, he wrote the song in 1970 when his wife told him she was pregnant. The song was part of his first album, but when he died in a plane crash in 1973 in Louisiana, the words became more meaningful as it dealt with mortality and needing more time. A single was released at the end of 1973 and became his one and only number 1 hit.

THE YEAR 1974
I got engaged early in 1974, and married in December, yep a long long time to stay married by today's standards!
I don't think the Swedish group Abba needs much introduction after the musical and the movie Mama Mia, and I know many people don't want to admit they secretly enjoy Abba's music, but please do yourself a favour and listen to this beautiful whimsical song Hasta Mañana. The song was initially chosen for the Eurovision Song Contest, but then the group sang the riskier song Waterloo which won!
Hasta Mañana, Spanish for Until Tomorrow, was released in 1974, became a Top 20 hit in Australia and a Top 10 in New Zealand. It reached number 2 in South Africa and still is popular here.

Here they're performing in Australia in 1976

Thank you to @slobberchops for this challenge, I really enjoyed going through the memory banks, hope you enjoyed my selection and hope to see yours here as well!

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

What a great selection, and I love the snippets of information you include! I've heard of Jim Croce, but I never knew he died in a plane crash - how terrible, especially so soon after his son was born. What a beautiful song.
And I never knew that Hasta Mañana was almost Abba's Eurovision entry! I remember watching them perform Waterloo at the Eurovision Song Contest when I was a child - me and my sister had never heard anything like it in our lives! I don't think Hasta Mañana would have had quite the same effect, though it's a nice song!

It was a great music era, I also did not know about Jim Croce but remember the song well. It was interesting about Abba keeping this song as a backup plan, but they took the chance on Waterloo and it worked!
Thank you for your lovely feedback @natubat :)

@lizelle Oh Wow! The seventies! I was in a bit of a different line in music, but one of my fancies, Alvin Lee was one of the greatest guitarists at the time. I sported a headband with small coloured butterflies on at the time to keep my long hair out of my face when I travelled around on my old Triumph Bonnieville. T-Shirt, Jeans and shades were the garb of the day! We didn't have to wear motorbike helmets at that time and it was so great to feel the wind flowing through one's hair. So many memories of the old rebel days Lady Lizelle! This is a great post and I hope you do well in the challenge by our friend @slobberchops

Oh it was fabulous carefree days @papilloncharity, I know the look you described here ;)
I don't know Alvin Lee, will look him up, I love Gary Moore's guitar playing especially his song Parisienne Walkways, absolutely stunning!
Thanks for your support my friend :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 286 (10/19/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine, much appreciated :)

hola amiga, no tengo tiempo para usar el traductor, solo pase para saludar. Espero este muy bien.

Hola amiga, estoy muy bien, también he estado muy ocupada, es un placer verte de nuevo. ¡Mantener bien @karlin!

good take on the challenge giving a taste of your experiences and the music

Thank you for stopping by @tattoodjay, it brought back many memories indeed!

We had the time of our lives with music growing up in the seventies @lizelle fond memories with plenty of great bands to choose from.

Oh it was a great era, loved the music! You're right, there were so many groups around at the time, I could have written a couple of My music fives around this :)
Thank you for your support @joanstewart!

This is a very detailed post, @lizelle, well done for creating something so extensive.

As a huge Abba fan I do know Hasta Mañana and prefer it to Waterloo, the song that made them famous,

Thank you for the challenge @slobberchops, it was lovely going back in time plus I learnt a little more about some of my favourites!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36