My Favorite MUSIC List - There Should Be Something Here For You Too!

in #music7 years ago (edited)




From rock to classical, religious to traditional!

I am 37 years old, so it equals to 37 * 365 = 13505 days (well, a lot) and I don't remember a single day without listening music. I was 14 when I started to play drums ; and the instrument itself was already helping to create my own taste of music from the beginning (any drummers here?).

But don't worry, this post is not only for drummers!

I didn't use numbers (or a numbered list) here, because each work of art is unique on its own, and assigning numbers to them would be a crime in my humble opinion :)

Let's start! Here come the legends!

Deep Purple - Soldier Of Fortune


David Coverdale was the best it could ever be with his smooth, matchless vocals! Ican't even imagine this song without the powerful vocals of Mr. Coverdale (and that does NOT make Ian Gillan worse). I was first introduced to Deep Purple by my drumming teacher, and they had their place in my heart from that day. Deep Purple is deep ;)

When I'd take your hand and sing you songs
Then maybe you would say
"Come lay with me and love me"
And I would surely stay

Ara Dinkjian - Even If You Leave


Ara Dinkjian is an Armenian Ud (Oud) Virtuoso, and this song is his own composition. The song is instrumental, and after listening it you clearly understand why it doesn't need any words ;)


Derek And The Dominos - Layla


As always, oldies but goldies! This is the original version of the song which I certainly prefer over the unplugged version or any other version! Song-writing credits go for Eric Clapton and Jim Gordon!

What'll you do when you get lonely
And nobody's waiting by your side?

Bob Dylan - Sara


This is my all-time favorite Bob Dylan song. The song is a tribute to his then wife, Sara Lownds. In the song, Dylan also states that he wrote the song "Sad Eyed Lady Of The Lowlands" for Sara. And when it comes to lyrics, that is why they call Bob Dylan a poet.

Now the beach is deserted except for some kelp
And a piece of an old ship that lies on the shore
You always responded when I needed your help
You gimme a map and a key to your door

Joan Baez - Diamonds and Rust


Bob Dylan is not named in the lyrics but the song is about Joan Baez's relationship with Bob Dylan. What would you expect, a bad song? No, when a song is about Dylan and Baez, it simply won't happen :)

Well you burst on the scene
Already a legend
The unwashed phenomenon
The original vagabond

Djivan Gasparian - "Dle Yaman"


The primitive instrument, "Doudouk", is an Armenian traditional musical instrument made from the Apricot Tree. It's just a piece of an apricot tree branch yet has one of the MOST POWERFUL sounds in earth and its effect is simply incredible. To listen is to believe. Just hit the "play" button and never look back!


Deep Purple - Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming


This is the "Casablanca" of song-writing (you know the movie, right? Come on!) ;)

While you were out...
the message says
You left a number
and I tried to call
But they wrote it down
in a perfect Spanish scrawl

Scorpions - Winds Of Change


Scorpions was one of the 80s greatest bands (and they are still among the best of the best) - You know what MEGADETH's Dave Mustaine once said?

"As far as rhythm guitar players are concerned, there's James, there's me, there's Malcolm Young and there's Rudolf Schenker. There's no one else that touches the four of us. We're the fantastic four."

Queen - The Show Must Go On


From Zanzibar with love (Freddie Mercury and his family fled from Zanzibar, due to safety concerns, to settle in Britain)! Freddie Mercury was and IS one of the best vocals in Rock history!

"My soul is painted like the wings of butterflies,
Fairy tales of yesterday will grow but never die,
I can fly, my friends!
The Show must go on, yeah!"

Dire Straits - Sultans Of Swing


No one plays like Mr. Knopfler! I listen this to song at least 100 times a day (I mean it, I'm not joking), it has been almost 20 years when I was first introduced to this song and it becomes only better and better. If you don't know the song, please do yourself a favor and start listening to it. Don't forget to click on the "repeat" button!

"And he makes it fast with one more thing,
"We are the Sultans, we are the Sultans of Swing.

Komitas Vardapet - Divine Liturgy


Komitas Vardapet was one the world's first ethnomusicologists. He saved numerous traditional Armenian and Kurdish songs from disappearing to oblivion by transcribing them to his notebooks.

During The Armenian Genocide, he experienced a mental breakdown, and the news of severe massacres even worsened his condition. In stressful, critical conditions he finally moved to Paris (Villejuif) in 1919 with help of his friends, and lived the rest of his life in agony, without being able to say a single word.

"The Divine Liturgy" you're about to listen is the work Of Komitas Vardapet.

You don't need to be a Christian or a believer to enjoy this divine music, it's beautiful.

Note: Armenia is the first country to adopt Christianity as its state religion, at 301 AD.
("Can a state have a religion?" Well, the question is valid but it's a subject for another article)


Metallica - To Live Is To Die


Metallica was Metallica once! Their first three albums (Kill 'Em All, Ride The Lightning, Master Of Puppets) are legendary milestones in the world of Rock, thanks to the creativity of band members. An unfortunate, "too early farewell", Cliff Burton was a great bass player and a charismatic personality in his own silence, and without him Metallica was never the same again. Cliff Burton has his signature in the process of writing the song, "To Live Is To Die", but some of the lyrics are coming from Paul Gerhardt, the German theologian.

To me, this is the best instrumental song Metallica has ever written, if not the best song!
The album's ("And Justice For All") production quality is also amazing!

"When a man lies, he murders some part of the world
These are the pale deaths which men miscall their lives
All this I cannot bear to witness any longer
Cannot the kingdom of salvation take me home?"

Anton Bruckner - Symphony No 9


Into classical music? Among Bruckner's works, 9th Symphony is my all time favorite! But beware, you shouldn't be driving while listening to this! You have been warned. The melody between 08:36 - 09:00 is killing me, and to die is only to be reborn when it's a Bruckner piece!


Sinead O`Connor - You Made Me The Thief Of Your Heart


Wonderful performance from Sinead O'Connor! This song was part of the soundtrack of "In The Name Of The Father"! (Directed by Jim Sheridan ; Starring Daniel Day Lewis and Emma Thompson) - The song is written by Bono, Gavin Friday and Maurice Seezer.

"I'll never wash these clothes
I want to keep the stain
Your blood to me is precious
nor would I spill it in vain"

Survivor - Eye Of The Tiger


Need motivation? Whether it be your PhD or next kick-boxing championship, "Eye Of The Tiger" is the place to go!

"Rising up, back on the street
Did my time, took my chances
Went the distance, now I'm back on my feet
Just a man and his will to survive"

Laura Pergolizzi - Lost On You


There is something special with this lady, has that special "thing" we see in legendary artists. Oh and that bass work! I can't help but move my head up and down thousands of times.

"Let's raise a glass or two
To all the things I've lost on you"

Estranged - Guns N' Roses


It's so sad to see great talents wasting themselves, and "Guns" was no exception. Just listen to this piece of art! "Slash" at his finest with his melodic "lead guitar" playing. Great song-writing at its best. Extraordinary!

"Old at heart but I'm only 28"

Police - Every Breath You Take


Written by Sting (no, not the sword from "The Hobbit"), a classic. "Police" isn't always a bad thing, you know ;) Who would believe it! :)

"Every breath you take
Every move you make
Every bond you break
Every step you take
I'll be watching you"

Deep Purple - Child In Time


I wish they would teach this in schools. One of the greatest anti-war (Vietnam) songs ever written. Ian Gillan's vocals at its best. Deep Purple is a university on its own and it's never too late to start! R.I.P. Jon Lord!

"Sweet child in time
You'll see the line
The line that's drawn between
Good and bad"

Iron Maiden - Alexander The Great


Can you believe that this is among Iron Maiden's best and yet they never played it live? Why? I don't know (if I am wrong, please let me know in the comments) - The album "Somewhere In Time" is full of hits, as usual... "Deja Vu", "The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner" and "Heaven Can Wait"... Up the Irons!

"My son ask for thyself another
Kingdom, for that which I leave
is too small for thee" - King Philip of Macedonia - 339 BC

Pink Floyd - Another Brick On The Wall


Have you ever heard the word, "ICONIC"?

("The Happiest Days Of Our Lives" and "Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 2")

Whether if you are a rock fan or not, you heard this song unless you're living in a galaxy far, far away (hmmm, was that a movie?). From lyrics to song-writing, this is an absolute legend and inspired millions! This video is from the movie "Pink Floyd The Wall" and the song "Another Brick In The Wall" is actually the title of Three Songs with the same theme!

"All in all you're just another brick in the wall"

Cream - White Room


White Room is one of Cream's greatest hits, the band that had the legendary Drummer Ginger Baker, Eric Clapton and Jack Bruce. Want to see a version where Phil Collins plays the drums (he is a great drummer, by the way)? Here you go!


Eric Clapton and his "friends", playing "White Room" - Guess who's behind the drums?

"I'll wait in this place where the sun never shines
Wait in this place where the shadows run from themselves"

Blind Guardian - And Then There Was Silence


It's a great pleasure when "state of the art" music meets literature and history. This is a very complex song with rich melodies and rhythms, and it tells the story of the final days of "Troy" - F A N T A S T I C !

"Misty tales and poems lost
All the bliss and beauty will be gone
Will my weary soul find release for a while
At the moment of death I will smile
It's the triumph of shame and disease
In the end Iliad"

Miklos Rozsa - BEN HUR, "Overture" (Movie Soundtrack)


"Ben Hur"? No, not the NEW one, the old one directed by William Wyler! :)

Don't let the phrase "movie soundtrack" fool you! This is impressive music writing by Miklos Rozsa the Great! Just hit the "play" button and close your eyes. You will feel the genius of Rozsa, and even the sands of the desert.


The Animals - House Of The Rising Sun


The authorship of the song "House Of The Rising Sun" is still uncertain (interesting, right?) ; but The Animals' version is the most succesful, commercially. It's also used as the intro for the movie "La Meglio Gioventu" (one word..: "WATCH IT")

"Oh mother tell your children
Not to do what I have done
Spend your lives in sin and misery
In the House of the Rising Sun"

Ensemble Organum - Salve Regina


Ensemble Organum is a group co-founded by Marcel Pérès and you should note the group's name if you have a tendency for spellbinding vocal work! This is my favorite version of "Salve Regina" (Hail Queen). When I need some peace, "Salve Regina" is my ultimate destination. Just put your head phones and focus on these divine bass vocals.


Led Zeppelin - Kashmir


The best version of the song, in my humble opinion. Written by Robert Plant and Jimmy Page (and according to some sources, John Paul Jones), originally from their album "Physical Graffiti". "Record quality" is gorgeous here, I especially like the sound of the drums! (R.I.P. Michael Lee!)

"Oh, let the sun beat down upon my face
And stars fill my dream
I'm a traveler of both time and space
To be where I have been
To sit with elders of the gentle race
This world has seldom seen
They talk of days for which they sit and wait
All will be revealed"

Ennio Morricone - ORCA:The Killer Whale


My favorite Morricone Piece (from the movie "Orca - The Killer Whale"). Well, this is the true magic of Music. It's the magic of Mr. Morricone! You know what the movie is all about even without watching it thanks to his genius song-writing talents!

Just shut the lights off, pump up the volume and feel the smell of the sea itself. The courage, the hope, the loss... All is there!

- "Can you commit a sin against an animal?"
- "Why, you can commit a sin against a blade of grass. Sins are really against oneself."

Megadeth - Symphony Of Destruction


Sometimes I wonder what if Dave Mustaine hadn't have his monstrous ego so pumped up? No matter what, I love Megadeth. Especially the era when Megadeth was releasing their best, "Rust In Peace" and "Countdown To Extinction" - Those were the days of Megadeth with Mustaine, Ellefson, Menza (R.I.P. Nick Menza) and Friedman. Guitar battles between Mustaine and Friedman were a great joy to listen!

"You take a mortal man
And put him in control
Watch him become a god
Watch people's heads a'roll"

James Horner - BRAVEHEART, "For The Love Of A Princess" (Movie Soundtrack)


It's still so hard to accept the fact that James Horner is not with us anymore. Can you imagine "Braveheart" without that soundtrack? I still remember myself heading into the first music store to buy the CD after watching the movie.

F R E E D O M !


Metallica - Fade To Black


"That song was a big step for us. It was pretty much our first ballad, so we knew it would freak people out... Recording that song, I learned how frustrating acoustic guitar can be. You could hear every squeak, so I had to be careful. I wrote the song at a friend's house in New Jersey. I was pretty depressed at the time because our gear had just been stolen, and we had been thrown out of our manager's house for breaking shit and drinking his liquor cabinet dry. It's a suicide song, and we got a lot of flak for it, as if kids were killing themselves because of the song. But we also got hundreds of letters from kids telling us how they related to the song and that it made them feel better" - James Hetfield

Let's say it once again..: "Once upon a time, there was music and Metallica was Metallica" - The role of Cliff Burton? I would say, "yes". I remember me and my friend covering this song in a small studio, as much as we can. Metallica's early days were such a great era for their music, they were writing really complex pieces where songs started and ended completely differently.

As always, please don't let the word "metal" fool you, give this song a chance and I am sure that you'll love it.

"Things not what they used to be
Missing one inside of me
Deathly loss this can't be real
Can't stand this hell I feel"

Dougie Mc Lean - THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS, "The Kiss" (Movie Soundtrack)


Movie Version

A note first: This beautiful theme was actually composed by Dougie MacLean and first introduced to us humans in his album, "The Search" - So I prefered to put his name there instead of Trevor Jones' who arranged a new version of the song for the movie "The Last Of The Mohicans" (It's also a great movie by the director Michael Mann , by the way)

Original Version


Rodrigo Y Gabriella - ORION (Metallica Cover)


"Orion" is a masterpiece from one of Metallica's finest albums, Master Of Puppets, and this cover is the best cover ever. Thank you Gabriella and Rodrigo! Surely they have a soul!

ORION (the original, from Master Of Puppets - Cliff Burton, what a great bass player!)

Jim Croce - You Don't Mess Around With Jim


Shame on me that I didn't notice the talent of Jim Croce before the Season 2 of the Netflix Show, "Stranger Things". Why "only the good dies young"? What a performer and song-writer! Shame on me! One simply doesn't mess around with Jim!

"You don't tug on superman's cape
You don't spit into the wind
You don't pull the mask off that old lone ranger
And you don't mess around with Jim"

Iron Maiden - Afraid To Shoot Strangers


I don't know you but to me IRON MAIDEN is simply the best band ever in the history of Heavy-Metal (NWOTBHM)! But you don't need to be an avid Heavy-Metal listener to enjoy this song, please give it a chance because you won't regret it! Trust me on this. You hear these wonderful, rich melodies? That's what IRON MAIDEN stands for! :)

"When it comes to the time
Are we partners in crime?

Dave Weckl / Jay Oliver - Higher Ground


"Higher Ground" is composed by Stevie Wonder, and the reason you see the names Dave Weckl and Jay Oliver there is because it's also a drum battle where everyone becomes a winner, especially the listeners ;) Ever heard the phrase "Elvish Craftsmanship"? This is Elvish Craftsmanship in music ;)

"I'm so darn glad he let me try it again
Cause my last time on earth I lived a whole world of sin
I'm so glad that I know more than I knew then
Gonna keep on tryin'
Till I reach my highest ground"

The Proclaimers / I'm gonna be (500 miles)


This "positive mood and energy" song also used on a Ken Loach movie, "Angels' Share". I also suggest the movie itself. As all Ken Loach movies are, it's a powerful movie about struggle. Feel depressed? Click on play. Do it right now, thank me later :)

"When I wake up, well I know I'm gonna be,
I'm gonna be the man who wakes up next you
When I go out, yeah I know I'm gonna be
I'm gonna be the man who goes along with you
If I get drunk, well I know I'm gonna be
I'm gonna be the man who gets drunk next to you
And if I haver up, yeah I know I'm gonna be
I'm gonna be the man who's havering to you"

Beethoven / 7th Symphony - 2nd movement


I really don't know how many times the work of Beethoven used in movie soundtracks, especially this one. Have you watched the movie "The Man From Earth"? If not, and if you are a fan of philosophy and "critical thinking" like me, do it now! You will also see the genius of Beethoven there too ;) (No spoilers here)

"Edith, I was raised on the Torah, my wife on the Qu'Ran, my eldest son is an Atheist, my youngest is a scientologist, my daughter is studying Hinduism, I imagine there is room there for a holy war in my living room, but we practice live and let live!" (from the movie, "The Man From Earth")

System Of A Down - Holy Mountains


System Of A Down's "Holy Mountains" is about Armenian Genocide, the people and the homeland lost forever. So powerful and one of SOAD's most personal songs ever along with "P.L.U.C.K"

"Can you feel their haunting presence?
Can you feel their haunting presence?
Liar, Killer, Demon
Back to the river Arax"

Running Wild - Genesis


15 minutes (IT - WILL - WORTH - IT) of pure melody and INCREDIBLE guitar riffs. If you're a rocker and never heard of them before, this song will make you cry. If you're not a rocker, this is a great chance to start! :)

Running Wild is from Germany, and this song is their "magnum opus", from the album "Black Hand Inn" - Running Wild is also famous for their powerful intros!

The question that is on man's mind since the beginning of time is...
"Where do we come from, where do we go ?"

Stan Jones - Riders in the Sky


I prefer the original movie, The Blues Brothers (R.I.P. John Belushi), but no matter what both movies are great. This video is from the sequel, Blues Brothers 2000. The song itself first recorded in the year 1948 and it is still alive and well.

"You may go if you wish. But remember this:

Walk away now and you walk away from your crafts, your skills, your vocations; leaving the next generation with nothing but recycled, digitally-sampled techno-grooves, quasi-synth rhythms, pseudo-songs of violence-laden gangsta-rap, acid pop, and simpering, saccharine, soulless slush.

Depart now and you forever separate yourselves from the vital American legacies of Robert Johnson, Muddy Waters, Willie Dixon, Jimmy Reed, Memphis Slim, Blind Boy Fuller, Louie Jordon, Little Walter, Big Walter, Sonnyboy Williamson I and II, Otis Redding, Jackie Wilson, Elvis Presley, Lieber and Stoller, and Robert K. Weiss."
- Elwood Blues

Deep Purple - When A Blind Man Cries


Are you ready to hear one of the greatest guitar solos ever written? This song unfortunately is not as popular as "Smoke On The Water", but to me it's one of their best. Do they have a "bad" song anyway? Well, no :)

"I'm a blind man, I'm a blind man and my world is pale.
When a blind man cries, Lord, you know there ain't no sadder tale.
Had a friend once in a room,
had a good time but it ended much too soon.
In a cold month in that room
we found a reason for the things we had to do"

Sort:  

What are your own favorite songs? Let them come! :)

#life
Earl Nightingale : We become what we think about.

It's nice to see someone else with a wide interest in music genre. Can I just say, I really love those headphones in the pic!

Thanks a lot! The image you see there (headphones) is taken from the https://unsplash.com/ website. You can find hundreds of hi-res photos there. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46