Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 28 (Indie) – Mild Orange / Broods / Straitjacket Fits / The Chills

in #music6 years ago

It’s been a busy Monday (and a very cold one) here in the @kiwideb & @sift666 office, with no time to think about music. But I did have a quick peak at the Video of the Day. Meh. But one woman’s “Meh” is another person’s “Awesome” so let’s check it out.

nz-music-month.jpg

Featured on the NZ Music Month website today

Mild Orange are described as Alternative / Indie, and UnderTheRadar website says:

Dunedin-based four piece Mild Orange have dropped their debut full length record Foreplay. The collection is chock full of mid-paced, optimistic but introspective guitar-driven tunes such as standout tunes 'Stranger' and 'Some Feeling', the latter of which features excellently smooth spoken words from guest artist Bena Simanu.

The track chosen for Video of the day is Terendara:

What did you think? I decided to try another one. Here’s “Foresight”.

That was a bit more enjoyable, and maybe if I listen to them some more, they’ll grow on me. But to me they’re a bit dreary. I bet there are others reading this though who just love them.

OK, there must be some NZ Indie bands that are more my cup of tea. I found a list of them here. The first one that jumped out at me was…

Broods

Mainly because a couple of months ago, I asked @andysantics who she was into at the moment, and she said Broods. At the time I included their song “Four Walls” in a post. Today let’s check out “Heartlines”

Yeah. These guys are more my gig.

Straitjacket Fits

Another name that jumped out at me. Like Mild Orange, they were a Dunedin band. But I think the Dunedin scene was a bit different back in the 80s when Straitjacket Fits were active. They comprised some former members of the band The DoubleHappys and were around from 1986 to 1993. Here’s “She Speeds”, which some consider to be amongst NZ’s top 10 songs ever.

Other bands in the 80s Dunedin scene included The Clean (as featured by @sift666 here), The Verlaines, and The Chills.

The Chills

The main member is singer/songwriter Martin Phillipps, and they have been around, off and on, from 1980 to the present. One of their best known songs, back in the day, was “Pink Frost”.

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.
If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Dunedin music was awesome once. It's a real shame that new NZ music is just as bad as other modern music now.

Here is a video that explains why very well:

That video made a lot of sense. I still have faith, though, that somewhere out there are real musicians. It's just so much harder to find them now :-(

I'm glad you do - I'm a jaded cynic looking for the next Jane's Addiction...


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87