BACK WHEN NEW ZEALAND MUSIC WAS THE HIPPEST IN THE WORLD

in #music6 years ago

The Clean were New Zealand’s answer to the Velvet Underground.

They were the hippest band in the world, and they made the Velvets look like Abba.

OK lets start with Anything Could Happen

And now something American viewers might relate to - Beatnik

New Zealand music was so awesome 40 years ago! – But it totally sucks now…

Tally Ho Off We Go

The Clean were an indie rock band that formed in Dunedin, New Zealand in 1978, and have been described as the most influential band to come from the Flying Nun label, whose repertoire included many major components of the "Dunedin sound"

@kiwideb is on holiday in Brisbane, hanging out with a bunch of bleeding Aussies for a few days. Pretend to be me she said, and do Kiwi Music posts just like mine. OK, I can do that I said…

Sort:  

Epic isn't it!

Drink yourself more PISS

Absolute classic song! Here is some beer chugging material.

Record labels are to blame.
They decided to "create" bands, like Milli Vanilli.
To hire performers to sing songs that were written by other people and performed by yet other people. All polish and glitz, but no soul.

Unfortunately, the internets has not helped in stumbling upon real indie bands. Boogle still hides this content.

Sad but true - since the White Stripes split up I've pretty much lost hope for new music...

I had to stop by just by the title alone, you know for the life of me I can not name 1 single New Zealand band, not a 1, I guess they never exported to the the UK or maybe I just missed them, not sure.

Loading...

Sorry sifty666 but there is no drug powerful enough for me sit through one of these clean guy's songs.

images.duckduckgo.jpg

LOL - here is one just for you - they got heavier and more transcendental over time - live in 89

My kind of music, It's like they are warming up their guitars for the real group to arrive. They have zero musical talent. I need some aspirin now.

images.duckduckgo.jpg
Music isn't good unless it hurts you some how.

I knew you would come to appreciate The Clean!


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

PS - My alltime fav clean song

What are you trying to say?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29