Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 26 – Aldous Harding / Lorde / OMC / Coconut Rough / Sisters Underground

in #music6 years ago

When I was reading up about Marlon Williams yesterday, I discovered he had recently broken up with Aldous Harding – another NZ musician I hadn’t heard of! So let’s check her out today.

nz-music-month.jpg

Aldous (Hannah) Harding

A singer songwriter who describes her style as gothic folk, she has released two albums “Aldous Harding” (2014) and “Party” (2017). Here’s “Imagining My Man” from Party.

In the comments, someone compared her to Mazzy Star and another to Nico. Hmm, I like Mazzy Star. Nico, not so much. I checked out a couple more tracks off Party, and they weren’t my gig. I prefer this song, “Stop Your Tears” from the first album. This reminds me a little of Loreena McKennit.

Lorde

Lorde was also mentioned in the comments of “Imagining My Man”, and I realised that although she’s probably one of the best known kiwi artists recently, none of us have talked about her yet.

Her best known work might be “Yellow Flicker Beat” from the movie Hunger Games. Or it could be “Royals” from her 2013 album Pure Heroine.

Her second album Melodrama came out in 2017, and it doesn’t seem to have made quite the same splash as the first one. Check out “Green Light” and see what you think.

OMC

For a complete change of pace – it’s Saturday, let’s party with OMC and “How Bizarre”

And we’re running out of days in May. Let’s throw a couple more in.

Coconut Rough

Here’s their classic synthpop song from 1983, “Sierra Leone”.

Sisters Underground

And to wind down, let’s cruise out with these funky sistas, “In The Neighbourhood”

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.
If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

My youngest son was impressed with "The neighborhood". He understood it well. He likes that kind of song that repeats one phrase several times then he sings along.

I liked "Lorde." She is deep and somehow reminds me of you.

Thanks for sharing @kiwideb.

Nice to know that other members of the family got some fun out of the post too. Today's post is rather different, but you still might like at least the first couple!

I will check.

So cool!

It's fun to enjoy! 👌

Excellent! Glad you liked it.

@kiwideb You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61