Introducing myself

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

My name is Kenneth LaFave. I'm a professional writer whose subjects include classical music and jazz, the arts, ideas, food and general culture, and I'm excited to start posting here at Steemit.

I've published two books on musical subjects, "Experiencing Leonard Bernstein" and "Experiencing Film Music" (Rowman & Littlefield). The latter came out earlier this year and was given a rave review in The Wall Street Journal. "Mr. LaFave hits the target," Terry Teachout wrote. "Once you've read ('Experiencing Film Music'), you'll never again be able to ignore the presence (or absence) of music on the soundtrack of a movie." I'm also a composer/songwriter, and the co-writer of Psalm 23 on Jessi Colter's new album "The Psalms" (Sony).

I thought I'd start by sharing an anecdote I just heard about the last words of Buddy Rich, the fabled jazz drummer known for his strange way with words. Apparently, as he lay dying on a hospital bed, Rich started to moan an complain. A nurse rushed into his room and asked, "Mr. Rich, is something making you uncomfortable?" The jazz master retorted, "Yes, country music." And then he died.

To me, that's right up there with the last words supposedly uttered by Col. George Custer, reported by the only white survivor of the Little Big Horn: "Where the hell are all these Indians coming from?"

Glad to be here, looking forward to posting on my favorite subjects.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @kennethlafave :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41