You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating Tributes to the Gods: Pagan Metal of Eastern Europe

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Thanks for an long post about a topic that really interest me. Both the music and the underlying reinvention of Slavic pagan beliefs. I guess I could find many cultures with just as vibrant folk traditions :), but leave that be - very cool post.

You might be interested in these fabulous artworks by Polish artist Masianis Andrzej.

https://steemit.com/art/@katharsisdrill/pagan-slavic-gods-by-masianis-andrzej

Sort:  

Are you of Slavic heritage? I bet there's lots of good resources that are only in Slavic languages out there. one of my fave festival rites is one where people dress up as wolves...I cant remember what it's called.

No, I am Scandinavian, but the Northern Slaves are neighboors, and the first kings of the Slavic realms were Norsemen for some reason, so their is a lot of connections. The wolf -clad men sounds like the Viking berserks called Ulfheðnar.

And then mythology just interests me in general.

It's shitty that the Xtians destroyed so much during their conversions of 'barbarians'. At least they stopped being overly zealous in Scandinavia and there is much info on paganism from Iceland (comparatively). I really enjoy Njal's saga for an account of how people adopted the religion. The best part is how it's a mockery of people giving up their heathen beliefs in subtle ways.

Sadly my own people was christened earlier than the Eastern people and they destroyed one of the last big places of worship of the old Slavic Gods. But it is through the monk Saxo, secretary to the warrior-bishop Absalon, that we know most about the Slavic Gods, as he in many details describes the God Svantevit who was worshipped at the city and fortress of Arkona.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52