Curating Tributes to the Gods: Pagan Metal of Eastern Europe

in #music8 years ago



In a completely civilized world, there would be no music. Song is primitive. It stirs within us the most base yet most exalted feelings at once. Losing ourselves in the enjoyment of music is the closest we get to speaking with nature and conjuring divination (while sober). Music can communicate the inexplicable and encompass beauty within sound. A well-written song is an instant aesthetic masterpiece; it evokes all our senses as no other medium can.

Biased as I may be, I challenge anyone to find a culture with a more vibrant folk music tradition than Slavs. Eastern European cultures were comparatively late to ‘Civilization’ (thank fuck). Today the torch is carried on, by musicians blending their folk roots with metal, to harken the time when Cossacks ruled the Steppes; and further ago, still, when nomadism, tribalism, and paganism reigned unrestrained. When nature ruled man; completely.

'Tis the season for Metal and the Steemit Metalheads are coming out of the woodwork. Any Metal fan is essentially a primitivist; a tribalist out of step with the propriety of Western Civilization. Metal is your great reprieve; your spiritual Home. Although, as all must, we dress into the crowd, slightly conforming to the overly-civilized world and it’s facade about human nature.

So we understand better than any, that we are no different from our forgotten ancestors; never truly having evolved from our days of worship of Perun or Thor, knowing that now the only great difference between this time and the ancient past is:

The technology to pick up electric instruments and make digital recordings to upload online, so that great music from across the sea is accessible to all ears!

In that spirit, I'm sharing my curation of some Eastern European Metal faves.

Listen, as there are many things which only song can teach us.

Arkona -Russia

The most globally popular of Eastern European metal bands, I had the pleasure of seeing them live in my hometown. It did not disappoint. The blend of female traditional folk vocals with the harsh metal tone is impeccable. If you get a chance to see Arkona live, don't hesistate! They're on a North American tour right now: https://www.arkona-russia.com/en/concerts/

There are too many gems to pick from with Arkona, here's some to get the uninitiated hooked.

This is my fave for: the primal, paganistic chanting that contrasts into a beautiful melody with her talented voice in a beautiful language.


The stage was much smaller where they played here, in this small city...


My preference is on the more folk-influence side, so if you find there's not enough metal in these songs for you, don't write them off yet, they've got a varying mix on many different albums.

If you love Slavic folk music (or if you'd like to), check out ~1:34 on:


This isn't metal, but I must mention Stary Olsa, as thanks to the Arkona merch table, I was able to grab a CD of an album I could not order online. Stary Olsa are a tradional-historical recreation band from Belarus. They handcraft all instruments. Grab some mead


Temnozor -Russia

"Solntseh'vraht Kolyada/Sunwheel of Solstice"

There style is totally unique. In this song the vocals have a rural-folk style in the beginning verse which transition to an underlay complimenting the clean, baritone voice, later joined by a distinctively black metal growl. The overlay of traditional instruments, chant shared by the varied vocals, subtle melody of wind instruments combine to manifest the Pagan festival spirit. True to the album title 'Haunted Dreamscapes'

There's so much to love from this band that it's painful to pick just a few songs. If I was stuck on an island with only two more Temnozor songs, I would knife the person trying to torture me like that. Here's two more songs by Temnozor I love more than freedom from prison:

'Horizons of the Spring'

Beautiful acoustic guitar, woodwind instruments and spirited, yet relaxing, vocals --until it shocks the system with a transition to Black Metal form. If this song doesn't grant you a commune with the Gods, you're short just one more human sacrifice (of someone who doesn't appreciate the music)


So poetic, in lyric and voice, with the contrast of a heavy baseline, I can't believe such a sweet song exists...


Kroda -Ukraine

Blackened Folk Metal at it's finest; on the precipice of atmospheric. The hollow drums with double bass join the ambience of classic tremolo guitar, overlayed with an enchanting soprano flute. Kroda composes an overall eerie sound that will worm into your soul for eternity. So unique you'll never get it out of your mind after hearing it;
'Where Peace and Calm Were Immortalized'


More tremolo guitar and yearning, anguished vocals scream out a Sorceror's Ode to the Gods of thunder, fire and rain...


Too fucking good!!! All I can say...

Hromovlad -Czech Republic

Song of choice: 'Vodou život prekvitá'

It's got anguished, pissed-the-fuck-off vocals, speeding scales, double bass drum. What more could you ask for?

Pagan Reign -Russia

Melodic and war-like; cacophony blends into classically structured songs. A more than healthy black metal influence.


Death; gift of the gods!

Nokturnal Mortum -Ukraine

Hailing from the Ukraine, this band will blow your mind if they haven't already. True to the neo-classical aspect of Black Metal meets Folk, the composition of their songs is symphonic, majestic and war-like. The chorus to 'Kolyada' like a ritualistic trance fit for primordial solstice rites .


Behemoth -Poland

Legendary and Satanic

Blood of Kingu -Ukraine

Paying tribute to the fearless, brutal soldiers of ancient Scythia who once combatted on horseback to terrorize all who dared approach the Black Sea;

Blood of Kingu's 'De Occulta Philosophia' is a purely instrumental concept album based on Scythian culture.

WTF? How do you do a concept album without words? When you listen you'll 'just know.' Trust me. It's just music, it can't hurt you...right? The fabled search for the Holy Grail is really just the search for something that can make us go 'Holy Fuck!!!'
Look no more, here it is:


What was your favourite?

Sort:  

I think I will spend the whole day listening to this music. Tnx.

My favorite... was when I hit play on the first link and started reading. This article came with special effects. Perfect mood setting music to go along with your writing style.

I won't have time to listen to all of the music. I've bookmarked this though. I'll be back here from time to time to check this out.

I'm Canadian, my family bloodline is majority Ukrainian. I'm sold on this. Good job.

Metal has really long form songs too. only a few and an hour is gone. I'm constantly listening to music. The fall really has metal on my list again. tho it remains my fave.

Really like your comment about my post having a soundtrack :) There's a lot of Ukrainian diaspora and us descendents in the Canuck prairies.

Yes, we're everywhere. A history I really, really need to sit down and learn more about.

I know who I am, but I don't know who I was. Cabbage roles and perogies.

Thanks for an long post about a topic that really interest me. Both the music and the underlying reinvention of Slavic pagan beliefs. I guess I could find many cultures with just as vibrant folk traditions :), but leave that be - very cool post.

You might be interested in these fabulous artworks by Polish artist Masianis Andrzej.

https://steemit.com/art/@katharsisdrill/pagan-slavic-gods-by-masianis-andrzej

Are you of Slavic heritage? I bet there's lots of good resources that are only in Slavic languages out there. one of my fave festival rites is one where people dress up as wolves...I cant remember what it's called.

No, I am Scandinavian, but the Northern Slaves are neighboors, and the first kings of the Slavic realms were Norsemen for some reason, so their is a lot of connections. The wolf -clad men sounds like the Viking berserks called Ulfheðnar.

And then mythology just interests me in general.

It's shitty that the Xtians destroyed so much during their conversions of 'barbarians'. At least they stopped being overly zealous in Scandinavia and there is much info on paganism from Iceland (comparatively). I really enjoy Njal's saga for an account of how people adopted the religion. The best part is how it's a mockery of people giving up their heathen beliefs in subtle ways.

Sadly my own people was christened earlier than the Eastern people and they destroyed one of the last big places of worship of the old Slavic Gods. But it is through the monk Saxo, secretary to the warrior-bishop Absalon, that we know most about the Slavic Gods, as he in many details describes the God Svantevit who was worshipped at the city and fortress of Arkona.

I do love Behemoth!! Wot? Where is Finland in all this?? Noooooo! I demand a RE-EDIT immediately ;)

ok, I will do a Baltics one next. :D

That was the best 'Replies' pop up comment today :)))

2 cool cats on Steemit eh ;)

Since you are posting music related stuff here maybe you are interested to create some connection. We have NEWS: We are testing our first live streaming. Please give us your feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60231.85
ETH 3263.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43