Music rights in the Netherlands, are they also applicable to you?

in #music6 years ago

After living in lawless land in the Caribbean for a couple of years, I feel like I have totally forgotten that in other countries there are a lot of rules and regulations. Some of them we can call good, and some of them are a bit over the top. But it is good finding out about them again.

So what happened

I was at the gas station and went inside to pay. While waiting for a bit in line it occured to me that it was super silent inside. This is like the exact opposite of Sint Martin where gas stations are like half hangout spots with hiphop blasting through the speakers. I asked the guy in the gas station if it was always this silent, or if he didnt have any radio on or so.


Pexels, Anthony


He replied: “Yeah, we could, but it would cost us a lot because of the music rights.”

We chatted a bit about it, and I decided to look this up at home. Because I was aware of that for instance bars and clubs have to pay music rights for having the music on. But is was not aware at all that having the radio on in a working space also applies to this. So I went hunting

Buma Stemra

On the website of Buma Stemra this was quite easy to find. Here is what they say in Dutch and the translation of it.

Bij veel bedrijven staat een radio aan of speelt een pc tracks af. Voor het gebruik van die muziek bent u een vergoeding verschuldigd. Hier leest u wat de vergoeding is voor muziek op de werkvloer. Daaronder verstaan wij niet-publiek toegankelijke ruimtes in fabrieken en kantoren.

In a lot of companies a radio is playing or a pc is playing track. For using this service of music you owe us a fee. Here you can read the fees for music in working spaces. Working spaces are defined as non-public areas in factories and offices.

The prices are defined on amount of employees listening to it. I find that it is not cheap.

This got me thinking


Pexels

Because for starters, how is this checked? Do they have a control unit for it that busts into office spaces to see if there is any music on?

And second of all, I am not sure what I find of this.

Yes, musicians should make a living of of their music

That is something we all agree on. Or at least should agree on, because this is talent being sold, and time and effort.

But having the radio on? Isnt the radio paying for these rights then, before they cast music into the great wide open. Im not sure how that this works. How is this taken care of in your country? Or is this only part of the over regulated system in the Netherlands?

And how does this apply to our blockchain?

How does it work when a Steemit artist makes a song and puts it on the blockchain? And somebody decides to play it at work in a public office. Should that also be payed?

How does this apply to Discord channel with radio stations on it? #msp-waves uses it, #SMA is built on music. Does this also fall under peoples music rights?

Lets talk people!

How is this taken care of in your country?

What is your opinion about it?

What can we do as a community with this?

No judgement, just open discussion!




Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

While waiting for a bit in line it occured to me that it was super silent inside.
It should be occurred instead of occured.

Good questions.. Until a few years ago I never realized that businesses do have to pay for this, it was until my boyfriend mentioned it actually.. I have mentioned the post in the hive ;)

Thank you and I am seeing the result!!

But I had the same...Somewhere I knew this existed and you have to register and pay for music, but I totally was not aware of that that is also in an office setting. Im not really sure what to think of it... I find it a bit overregulated I guess?

For a very short period I had registered myself in the chamber of commerce, as being a photographer. I had registered on my own adress, not even an office or something. But just two days after me registering there was the letter from BUMA / STEMRA. From that time I should have to pay for playing the same music as I did before. But because I registered myself as a photographer means that I would use my house commercial ... and because of that I should have to pay.

I agree that musicians should be able to make a living ... but I don't think that this is the right way. And in my humble opinion it's a bit overregulated yes.

I contacted BUMA / STEMRA to explain the situation ... and never payd.

Wowwwwww that goes far!!

haahah, neh I wouldnt pay that as well.. that is really pushing the limit what they were doing there hahaha

Your post has been manually reviewed and curated by @anouk.nox and highlighted in Music Today Issue #26 | A SMA Community Initiative because we find your post valuable for the Steem Music Alliance Community.

You will also receive 10 WhaleShares thanks to our sponsor. To get this please provide us with your Bitshares account name.

For more information about SMA Community, please read our Music Today post and come visit us on Discord

SMA.png

Please keep posting quality content!

@smacommunity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84