Sunday's Steemit Spotify Playlist up on Monday! Sharing music builds community and is super fun!

in #music8 years ago (edited)


I've been listening to a lot of new rap and hip hop lately and the playlist reflects a lot of what I've been jamming this week.

Between rap beats and Chill Nation playlists on Spotify and YouTube, I've been obsessing with backing tracks and the composition of beats...I've been listening to this music differently than ever before, and that always excites me--especially since I am diving into this Launchpad situation and live loops with full creative force.

It was seriously same feeling as when I first realized I only hearing the bass line in a song as a kid, and how those parts make up a beautiful whole.

Super excited to apply my new ears to new tracks for my new project. :)



Track Listing:

1 Judgement Day - Chris Webby
2 Everywhere We Go - SonReal
3 Intro to Anxiety - Hoodie Allen
4 Until We Meet Again - Rittz
5 All of a Sudden - Moosh & Twist
6 Ain't Nothing - Juicy J
7 Crown Royal - Rittz
8 Southside Money Getter - Haystak
9 Can I Get A Witness - SonReal
10 Blessings - Lecrae



Guilty Pleasure Artist: Rittz


Rittz Image Source

I can't not love Rittz. I was actually first exposed to his music a while back, and had the chance to see him when he opened for Yelawolf in Springfield, MO a while back, and I've been able to see his talent in person.

He has a new album out, and I've included a couple of tracks on this playlist. I noticed that thematically, this album seems to be his wanting to make a statement that he's not just a fast rapper, but that his rhymes do contain more substance. The new album proves more depth than previous, and it totally works...however, I also included his classic, "Crown Royal," because Rittz knows how to make the party music.



Click Here to jam this week's Spotify playlist by and Follow to keep up with new themed and specially curated playlists every Sunday(ish)!



Standout Artist: Lecrae


Lecrae Image Source

I first was exposed to the interesting magic that is Lecrae when I was skimming through various artists' attempts to impress satellite radio listeners on Sway in the Morning in the segment Five Fingers of Death.

During this frequently-occurring segment on Sway's show, guest rappers will freestyle cipher-style over 5 very different beats, mixed live by their in-house DJ. Totally off the dome. This is not only a showcase of skill, but also a sort of place that "separates boys from men," so to speak.

In a world where every single rap song on the radio (including admittedly many on this playlist) are full of vulgarities and curse words, as a devoted Christian, Lecrae doesn't need to utilize that particular language to get his points across in a powerful, provocative, artistic, and masterful way.

While his songs are on a predominantly and overwhelming Christian theme, I would argue that one would not need to be a Christian to appreciate his talent and his willingness to stand up for certain beliefs within an industry dominated by vulgarity...which, I also enjoy...I just really dig when there's someone as a minority in a particular musical genre who believes so strongly in what they contribute that they don't care what the consequences are. That's real character.



Lecrae on Sway in the Morning attacking the Five Fingers of Death





Follow me @jessamynorchard for more assorted randomness!

Support Steemian-Original Music by tagging YOUR tunes with # originalmusic
I even blogged about it.

Click here to read my Steemit intro to learn more about what I'm all about.

JessaMatrix

ALL proceeds from my Steemit account go toward furthering my dreams of being a full time artist and creator. This includes needed equipment, recording costs, gas to and from out of state gigs, and things like food when I'm on the road. To be a full-time creator has been my goal for as long as I can remember, and your upvotes absolutely help me get there. All of my love and thanks to you.💚

All photos, unless otherwise credited, are taken or edited/altered by me and are all hosted at Imgur.



Love what you hear? Consider becoming a monthly Patron at:

http://www.patreon.com/jessamynorchardmusic

www.sadbastardmusic.com

Sort:  

Huge hoodie Allen fan myself. Ever heard "no interruption"?

Only recently. I'm not sure on which planet I've been that he managed to completely slip my radar until recently. I spend a lot of time listening to and discovering new artists, so to see this dude has been making great tunes on the scene for like five years at this point...it was one of those moments where I thought, "Where the hell have I been?"

I'm definitely becoming a fan. Love that new album.

Lecrae!!! The dude is really talented....its pretty difficult being a Gospel Rapper. I'm yet to listen to anything from Rittz tho....I hope is really good


Rack up the money. They lied to you and get paid to do it, it seems.


Does the allowed attack on my account, ON THE APOLOGY, look like a valid apology? Wtf is wrong with people... @iLoveUpvotes


https://steemit.com/blog/@klye/a-public-apology-to-iloveupvotes-skeptic-livehonest-livemoral-topikzmonster#@thedeplorable1/re-dwinblood-re-thedeplorable1-re-klye-a-public-apology-to-iloveupvotes-skeptic-livehonest-livemoral-topikzmonster-20170213t192644994z


And FFS, I'm NOT @skeptic since no one can even pay attention to my reply's on the apology sheet to me... ... ...


Don't worry user, I upvoted you before I posted. Hope it's ok since this is the only way I get to have a voice on steemit is through other post/s. Didn't you know if the big guys don't agree, you don't get to exist here.

Sincerely. @iloveupvotes ~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44