Introduction & My 5 Most Influential Dance Tracks

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Glad to find the Steem Platform! This is my first post here and I'm looking to use this as a place to write about some of the music that I love. A little bit about myself. I've been a DJ and avid dance music lover since I was about 15. 17 years later I DJ significantly less than I did in my 20s because of life commitments, but I still spend much of my time largely obsessed with Techno, House, and Hip-Hop as well as producing techno as a side project. Looking forward to using this to write more about the music I love and interact with this community. With that said, here are some of the most formative and influential (not necessarily my favorite) tracks from my early 20s and teenage years in no particular order. Hope you find some classic songs that you like.

1. Felix Da Housecat - Silver Screen Shower Scene

Released in 2003, this track was the one of the defining tracks of the short-lived Electroclash genre which was known for being a interesting mash of synthpop, punk, and techno (with notable artists as Tiga, Erol Alkan, ADULT., Fischerspooner, and DJ Hell being key members of that movement). This genre became the springboard that I needed to get into less commercially acceptable electronic music. Being a huge fan of synthpop like New Order and Depeche Mode at the time, Electroclash brought so many genres together in an anything goes vibe where songs by Duran Duran stood up alongside more difficult techno artist like Pan Sonic or Thomas Brinkmann creating an energetic and accessible way to get into Electronic Music. Silver Screen Shower Scene epitomizes the anything goes values of the scene for me. The distant monotone lyrics that dripped of excess oozes a casual cool that was unlike anything I had heard at the time all pinned down by throbbing beat that surprises when the 80s styled synths finally hit. It was exciting in a way that music often failed at and an important intro for me to artists that would come to define the music I love.

2. The Chemical Brother - Out Of Control

Released in 1999, my love of New Wave once again rears its head. Featuring vocals from New Order's Benard Sumner (and a video featuring a young Rosario Dawson), this song's more structured lyrics provided an anthem for my younger years and that structure was a key entry point to moving from listening to pop to techno . The Chemical Brothers provide a near constant build that gives way to a breakdown that gives a huge hand in the air moment of brief euphoria before plunging back down to the beat. It's fantastic drama as The Chemical Brothers have delivered for almost 2 decades.

3. Dave Clarke - What Was Her Name? (Feat. Chicks on Speed) (LFO Remix)

First off, RIP Mark Bell. Even if you aren't terribly familiar with his work with LFO, you may remember his production touches on some of Bjorks best songs from the 90s. In my period of listening to Electroclash, I picked this up falsely believing Dave Clarke to be a big electroclash artist because of a popular Fischerspooner Remix. Luckily I was wrong in the best way. This song is sound design at it's most insane that holds up over a decade later and will truly​ test any hi-fi stereo with a synth line that rapidly sears through nearly every conceivable​ audio frequency. It's trippy and suited for those 3am moments when you want to push a willing crowd into a frenzy. This song single-handedly​ influenced me​ into moving into play techno.

4. Layo & Bushwacka! - Love Story

Featuring samples from both Nina Simone and Devo, this has a rare quality about it that makes it function in dark clubs and on huge stages. The thumping beat that drives the opening inevitably give away to the ear catching piano chords and Nina Simone vocals that instill a sense of melancholy that stays with you long after you listen to it. It's a classic slice of house music with a restrained sense of melody that has stayed with me for many years since it was at the peak of it's popularity.

5. Pan Sonic - Hapatus

This song is an exercise in minimalism. One of Pan Sonic's more accessible​ works, this is one of those records that never fails to inspire me when producing. I originally purchased​ this on a whim from a Tower Records that was going out of business when I was 16, this is one of those records that is one of the largest influences for me as a producer. I love how it does so much with so little creating a hypnotic and trippy vibe that is so far away from many of the maximalist songs that dominate the popular consciousness. Listening to this before I start a production session ensures an afternoon of creativity. I didn't fully understand it when I first heard it, but it's mark on me is so evident.

Well, I hope this was an interesting first post for me. Looking forward to sharing more music with you as I get envolved in this platform more.

Sort:  

Liked the post a lot! Very original selection. Pan Sonic had a huge impact on me, particularly Kulma LP.

Thanks! Glad to see another Pan Sonic fan on here. Vakia and A were pretty influential to me. I could nerd out on their music for days.

Birds of a feather. Bird is the word. Very nice post. Get that start yknow. Ive been on since october. Use the tag introduceyourself first on a post a bunch of times and that should help. The numbers by the name is yer rep. Whales with the large numbers are the originators or amazing advanced kind humans. Those with lower than twenty five are in adjustment, spammers, or plagarists not contributing. I have a sense your a creator. Welcome you are an early adaptor. You will do great.

Thanks, getting used to the platform. I'm not a spammer so I'm going to have to get that score up, but I suppose that this can be expected for the first post. I just want to find a place to write about music. My other social feeds are filled with friends who don't quite have the same depth of music that I do and I'm glad to find a community that will interact in this way. Thanks for the help.

Amazing track selection for the intro post, man, so happy to see fellow music lovers here on the platform. I am super new to myself and I am glad to see other curators sharing their love and passion for music. My welcome to you, though quite belated I guess and I hope to see you around here more, @iamevilradio. Cheers!

Thanks for the kind words. I'm happy to see a small community of music lovers here interacting in a genuine way.

Agree! Looking forward to getting to know you all a bit better and I am sure it will grow as more people come in, I definitely am telling everyone I know about steemit, including the music buddies.

Huge fischerspooner fan. Djd them heavy rotation for five years straight i got turned on early through surfing kazaa shared folders. Talked to warren fischer outside their performance in chicago #1tour. Told him he should compose electro operas. My fiance at the time had casey sign her motorola flip phone. Crazy cool, time just kinda stopped,

I was on a Fischerspooner kick yesterday and decided to listen to their first album again. The 15th (which is an awesome cover of a Wire track) is so effortlessly cool and Emerge and Sweetness are these underrated bombs that still hold up well. Then I saw they had a pre-release for a new album. The 2 tracks that were out on the pre-release were interesting. Excited for the new album.

Lord help me, nina simone! Love it, havent heard this, im familiar with the masters at works - sinnerman. That inlands empire david lynch nina simone remix trac kills,

Nina Simone has to be one of the most sampled artists of all time. I could do a whole list of the best Nina Simone samples... which would actually be a pretty good idea for a list. Also, Inland Empire is always good for when your head needs to be messed with.

Spin layo n buskwacka back in 2003. Hipnotic and dreamy. Guaranteed altered state of conciousness

They've got some great records. Deep South and Low Life were great and I've got great memories of Bushwacka!'s remix of Billie Jean. Plus Layo's label End Recordings was a killer label back in the day.

Congratulations @iamevilradio, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43