Sharing Shards of Yourself ( music and badass women)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I admit I've been spending less time here than I used to. Life.
But in the time I have spent on the platform recently, I had an interesting exchange with @ziofeda who mentioned sharing songs and how that can be a really intimate experience. And it reminded me of a post I've been meaning to do for about a week now, on here.

Yes, a music sharing post.
We were talking about how when you share a song, you're also sharing the emotion the song gives you, the thoughts behind it, the person you think of when you hear the lyrics etc. You're putting yourself out there, and yet, you're not. Because most people out there don't know a thing about you and either don't know enough to interpret the song or simply don't care. A lot of people just don't care, you know?


And most people have their own separate memories relating to a song, their own lives and secrets they associate with that specific song. I'm in this rock music community on Facebook and I love it whenever I share a song and get a 'love' reaction because why? Is it just because they're a fan of the band and really like the song? What do they associate with it? How did they find out about the band in the first place?
I mean, I can only know what I associate with a specific song, but the possibilities for other people are endless. And I love that we can all be connected through one song, even though what we think of when we hear it is not the same by far.
It would be weird if it was, really...

So, Imma share a bunch of songs I've been listening to lately, with a focus on powerful women in rock and metal, because you know, they're really badass and everything. And I've been listening to a lot of female singers lately, so here goes.

Maybe you know the songs and like them, too. Maybe you share a different song that's really been hitting you lately, who knows?
Don't explain it, though, unless you really want to. Just share it, who knows, maybe someone else really likes it and you find a fellow music lover out there. Or maybe they didn't even know the band/song, but now they listen to it, they find they can really relate.

Check this woman out, just listen to the whole song, I think she has the most insane vocal range I've ever come across.

And then, a classic Halestorm which I really love (I know I've shared their songs before, but what can you do? I find Lzzy really relatable). Well, Lzzy deserves a post all for her, you know? She is just such an inspiring woman. A role-model, in many ways.

By the way, this isn't a complete list of all the female vocalists I like, just a few I've been listening to a lot lately. I know, there are a lot more out there. And hey, if you feel like recommending some, go for it :)
I love discovering new bands.

Right now, I'd probably recommend half of In This Moment's discography and I won't because that would get really repetitive, but just one more song ~

Isn't she fucking brilliant?

Thanks for readinglistening,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

This is cool. I'm always looking for heavier music with powerful female vocals. Bonus points if it ventures outside the usual chord progressions of mass marketed regular pop.

I put out a similar shout out two years ago and got some wonderful suggestions in the comments for bands I still listen to today. Igorrr is remains of my favorites, especially since they took on Laure Le Prunenec as a vocalist. I think her work with their spin-off project, Corpo-Mente, is just stunning.

Wow really nice :o Very powerful voice on this girl, I love it. Thank you. I did check out the post you linked and you did get some pretty interesting recommendations, though I haven't been able to go through all yet.
Also, I really like the first video in your post - wow.

Ha! I had never inspired a post before, I'm honored. And I kinda have to comment now, don't I? :P Good thing I actually like your taste in music - it would have been quite funny if you'd gone and posted some Justin Bieber stuff, you know? That would have left me speechless, literally ahah

Anyway, jokes aside, I'd already listened to Jinjer and, of course, Halestorm. The latter is probably my favorite among the songs you've posted, being old-school and all (how did you find a video taken with a smartphone with decent audio? I usually just skip those, maybe because I just hate when people take them instead of listening to the concert ahah) and it's a very powerful piece. I'm listening to a lot of old school stuff lately, although you know, once a metalhead, always a metalhead. Jinjer always left me baffled, in that she can pass from total sweetness and melancholy to a really, really badass growling, she scares me a bit! But there's some sort of emotional release when she starts growling. It reminds me of old Opeth, they had the same effect on me (maybe one of these days I'll post something). I totally love their music, they're really good at what they do.
About the rest, I found In This Moment...interesting. I can see why you like them so much, she's got a way of being fragile and strong at the same time, it's like she's owning everything that makes her who she is and screaming it out.
Diamante, on the other hand, wasn't really my cup of tea. They lacked in grit compared to the other songs, and were a bit more predictable. Her voice was a bit more...plastic? I don't know, I guess I liked the rest much more, to be honest :D

Now to answer your call to action, I'm not gonna post anything superpersonal, but I'm gonna stay on topic with powerful female voices. I've been listening a lot to Sophia Urista lately. It's a bit different from the stuff you posted, more bluesy, but I'm guessing you're gonna like her voice:

Maybe check out her stuff with Brass Against?

Let me know what you think!

What's wrong with Justin Bieber? :P I know, I know, what isn't? :))

I don't normally listen to recordings either, but I really wanted to find a live version of Jump The Gun and came across this little gem. Yeah, I get what you mean about Jinjer and Opeth. I was only introduced to Jinjer last week, sorta by accident, but I'm really glad it happened :D Awesome fucking band, even though I'm not usually into this growling, screaming sort of music.
Or at least, I wasn't...

I know! that's the vibe I get from Maria (In This Moment) too :D And I feel every word, you know, the spit in your eye attitude. I love it.

Yeah, Diamante is definitely at the bottom of the list for me, too, but she's nice, too and she was on the recommended list on YouTube, so I figured why not? :D

I love these songs, particularly the second one, the Tool cover. It's brilliant. It's got this really old school vibe (duh) and the girl's got a really edgy-gritty voice. I love it, thank you!

To be fair, I've never been a HUGE fan of growling myself. I don't listen to very heavy stuff anymore. But there are some contexts where I find it perfect, and early Opeth is one of them (or early Melodic Death, but again, I digress).

I knew you'd like her :P

Yeah, I think it really depends on the frame of mind you're in. Sometimes, you'd really like to scream...at yourself, at other people :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83