Pushing Through The Mid-Term Slump on the Musician's Guide to Steemit

in #music6 years ago

Hey y'all, here's a few important off-the-cuff thoughts here about the musician's guide as it stands today.

What We're Doing: Creating an uber-professional, non-profit "Musician's Guide to Steemit" that can become THE standard document for all musicians who want to join Steem.

Progress So Far: So far there has been a ton of support, with a bunch of people expressing interest and many donations coming in - upvotes, resteems, direct donations, the whole bunch. Its been AMAZING and gives me confidence that this project is on the right foot.

The Mid-Term Slump

I am a huge fan of Seth Godin's "The Dip" concept as you may know:

thedip.gif

Basically, every good project starts out exciting, becomes frustrating / lame, and then becomes exciting again towards the end.

Right now I think we may be entering that "frustrating / lame" part of the project. It's totally ok btw. At the moment spirits are still high and everybody I am working with is as excited as ever. I can just feel the shifting vibes in the air -- I can tell we are entering the dip and so I wanna catch us right here at the start.

Entering The Dip

This project started with a humble STEEM MARKETING PROPOSAL for a promotional e-book guide. Sounds familiar, right?

Immediately I knew that I had struck onto a cool idea - the comments, votes, and views told me that much.

We moved on and you know the story - each chapter so far as been a great success, with many upvotes and comments. Lots of you who are reading this are the same people who have encouraged me along the way so far.

Fundraising is where we started to enter the dip. It just takes a long time. [Fundraising Post 1] was a huge success, and posts 2 & 3 also did quite well - BUT, as the prices drop, we basically keep staying at the same amount of USD funds raised even though we raise more and more steem lol. Its a bit disheartening but just a short term problem.

What is the Solution To The Slump?

This is where we enter "thinking out loud" mode for the record -- im not committing to this right at this moment - but I THINK what I need to do is quite simple: Go even more all-in.

michal-parzuchowski-43274.jpgthis is how I feel // source: michal parzuchowski via unsplash

So far I've been posting about this project 2-3 times per week while maintaining lots of other content - token investigations, music content, other steem advice and motivational posts, personal finance, etc... Its awesome, but I think I need to temporarily flip the script. Post 1-2 times per day about the guide, commit 80% of my steem hours to it, and just be way more all-in.

I've been cautious so far, not wanting to move fast. But now I think it's time to run to the finish. Be less careful and more bold - hire more people, get more parts moving, and leap over the chasm from "first draft" to "final draft".

How You Can Help

I am not asking for anything from you on this post, other than, please do share your thoughts, criticisms, and advice if you have any.

I'm going to keep thinking about this throughout the week and - if I still feel this way come the weekend - next week will begin "Ultra Focus Mode" for me on the project.

Thanks for continuing to support me and give me your time/energy. Very soon we are expanding to a team with several other people, lets keep pushing until we can get there! :-)

Sort:  

The hardest part is pushing through the dip. Been feeling very dip with my endeavors lately as well. Stoked for your end product though! Always makes it worth it

Ah man push through! If I don't get my daily dose of new kendama tricks via Insta, how will I ever entertain myself??

I dont quite know how the average users feed looks like on here, that said, in my personal opinion, I think posting 1-2 times a day is reasonable. Its not too much for your audience to feel bombarded your your feed, and it gives people a bit more content to take in if they appreciate it. As far as going all in, Im transferring all the crypto I purchased a few days ago into steem myself, as this is where it holds value to me, and to be able to share it as I see appropriate. Keep it up man! Times are on the low for sure, but things come in waves ;-)

Hi Matt! My girlfriend @justlibby just made a podcast about her biggest failure in life and that was making and creating her app. She invested a huge amount of money in designing, programming and creating the app but forgot about the marketing. Make sure that you invest the same amount of time in promoting and marketing! Greetings from Vietnam!

Maybe this helps? "Having fun in life is the best hedge against the inevitable downturns that will occur, and, unlike most hedges, this one comes without the need to pay a commission to an investment banker." - Richard Thaler

Thanks @itsok thats a great quote and so true - I think my own secret weapon is that I am motivated by creativity more than money. Basically exactly what Richard is saying :-D

Luckily I am not in an emotional slump, I feel great today in fact :-) hopefully we can get this Musician's Guide project out of its slump soon and then everything will be WINNING.

I wish my upvotes worth a little more, so that I can upvote this post with a greater value 😢 Would love to support this project ;)

All good ed - all votes are helpful, seriously, and your support is awesome.

Good luck Matt, you have my support and encouragement for this great project - keep the faith and it will become a reality for sure.

Excellent content! I'm so pumped about the problems blockchain apps will solve for musicians!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66