'1/4 Tone Experiment #4' - New Original Musical Exercise! - Electronic/Microtonal Test + Walkthrough!!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-04-24 20.19.05.png

This is another session

where I was just messing around with the 1/4 tone tuning. This isn't a real song, but as I have shared the previous 3 attempts at microtonal stuff, I figured it would be good to share this too. I went a bit subtler with the microtones this time, they definitely still play a role, but in this, I was trying to see how well I could utilize some 1/4 tone stuff with a few regular instruments. Not sure if I succeeded, but it was definitely a learning experience!

Listen to '1/4 Tone Experiment #4' here.

Track 1 and Track 3 are

our 1/4 tone tracks. Each section is 5 measures of 4/4, and Track 1 plays 2 notes over the first 1 Track 2 plays, so we get a little microtonal feeling there with the passing tone. I have attached screenshots of both Track 1 and 3 below so you can follow along with them. Remember, each octave is actually 2 full octaves (C4 to C6) as every half note is now divided in half again.

Screenshot 2018-04-24 20.19.28.pngTrack 1, described above.
Listen to '1/4 Tone Experiment #4' here.
Screenshot 2018-04-24 20.19.33.pngTrack 3, described above.

Track 5 is next,

which is our drums. Nothing particularly interesting, I just added a simple beat so I could try out different stuff with a beat. Track 6 is a synth tone I've used a lot recently, it has a deep, heavy tone, and here plays staccato notes on the 1st upbeat of each measure. Just adds a little more color to it, not sure how necessary it really is, but again, this was just a bit of an experiment track.

Listen to '1/4 Tone Experiment #4' here.

Our final track is #7

which is our actual bassline. It does NOT use any quarter tones, so it was fun trying to find notes in our 12 tones to use without getting super dissonant. Obviously, this isn't always a possibility, as some quarter tones sound significantly more "out of tune" than others, because of overtones and whatnot. But I have attached another screenshot of the bassline below so you can see what it plays with the two 1/4 Tone tracks.

Screenshot 2018-04-24 20.19.22.pngTrack 7, described above.

That's it for this one, just another look into my "progress" using 1/4 tones haha. I am still not sure how much it is actually clicking for me, but I figured the more I try, the better it has to get. I'll be sharing some actual songs soon, but I hope you find these little exercises/practice in 1/4 Tones interesting!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

@grapthar You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hey @grapthar, on behalf of @msp-music, I've featured your post on my weekly music curation post! Thank you for sharing your walkthrough with us!

Here is the link to the post: https://steemit.com/music/@scuzzy/scuzzy-s-weekly-music-curation-29-04-25-or-msp-music-community-curation-initiative

Thanks I really appreciate that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36