Sort:  

Thanks. Yes in the future I have a few idea I want to build. Conceptual musical instruments...I can't wait.

Awesome. Think you'd ever make anything like this?

http://metatonalmusic.com/ModalJI.html

actually yes. I only did acoustic instruments / no electric, so an acoustic version of this, but I am really interested in microtonal tuning. You most know Harry Partch? I highly recommend him as a reference for microtonal composition.

Yeah, I do know Partch! I haven't actually heard any of his compositions, for no other reason than I haven't looked into them yet. I've been really fascinated with microtonal music and different fretting variations on guitar for a while now.

Me too I am fascinated by the subject. I would say one of my conclusion and this is obvious when you think about it: fretless = unlimited microtonal possibility! I also did an experience where I add temporary fret on a normal guitar with metal cable similar diameter to a normal fret. This could be a good way to experiment with that sound without having to buy a custom guitar.

Oh yeah, I don't know if you've seen this guy on youtube, but he offers to give out free frets in person and I think you can order them from him online too. The easy method he uses is just double sided taping these frets on:


The fretless thing is really exciting to me, something I'm currently very fixated on long term is acquiring a fretless guitar and finding a fretless (or possibly even upright?) bassist and writing trio music in an experimental/black metal style. I think it's a different appeal than microtonal frets though, because you get a precision with that that would be difficult to achieve without them. Brendan Byrnes, who I recently wrote a review on, has this band called Ilevens that even play exclusively in 22-EDO:

I have this article where I sort of introduce microtonal concepts to @andybets too that you might find interesting.

yes thanks for all that. I knew about the first video. listen the fretless guitar at 4:50 / that's it microtonal no limit. I will explore the rest later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42