Church of Industrial Music: Front 242 - 05:22:09:12 Off

in #music5 years ago

... or Evil Off. This was a sort of companion album to 06:21:03:11 Up Evil (or Fuck Up Evil), though Evil Off was the first one I heard. This was still early in my exploration of industrial music, and I didn't really have a definition in my head for EBM yet, nor was I very familiar with techno at this point, so to me it was just extremely cool electronic music. It may be blasphemy to some, but this remains one of my favorite 242 albums. It certainly is a departure from their earlier sound though, so I can see why it may be controversial, I guess.

R-26038-1183136400.jpeg.jpg

To this day, the gated vocals in "Animal (Gate)" give me one of those thrills like I suppose a Van Halen fan gets during a solo. Maybe kinda gimmicky, and not as impressive today for sure, but it was pure awesome the first time I heard it, and I still really dig it. Speaking of things I still really love after all this time, this album is chock full of excellent synth work, and the bassline in "Happiness (More Angels)" may just be one of the coolest synth-bass sounds ever. Front 242 are definitely masters of great synth lines and sounds, and this album is one of my favorites in that regard.

Listen to this album on Deezer: https://www.deezer.com/us/album/352166

On the subject of thrills, I also happened to be discovering cannabis around the time I got this album, and there are some awfully nice psychedelic moments in here. I remember the whole thing being something of a trip (and still is, in a different way), but the stretch from "Junkdrome" on is, I think, particularly trippy (and was especially so back then). "GeneCide" and "Crushed" still trigger those memories and feelings the most for me.

Though I may not still experience it in the same way I did as a young pothead (now that I'm an old pothead), I still think of this as one of the greatest examples of "techno-industrial". I think that phrase alone makes some industrialists cringe (particularly ones even older than me), but I've always really enjoyed it, and this album in particular. Having heard their earlier stuff, I do understand why it might appeal more to fans of that EBM sound, which I also enjoy, but I put this on at least equal ground.

Sort:  

I love Front 242, although "Quite Unusual" from Official Version was my introduction to the band. This album took me a few listens to get used to, along with Off, but it is a fantastic collection of tunes and an interesting mutation of the Front 242 sound. I appreciate a band that is willing to experiment, and 242 has consistantly entertained me AND often given me a reason to dance! Thanks for the reminder!

Posted using Partiko Android

Right on, I could see how it might take some adjustment from the earilier stuff. Cheers!

Early 242 like Operating Tracks changed the world forever. Unlike you and I, few know this!

The two albums you talked about were the summary of their career in my opinion. Saw them many many times!

Indeed! I think you're right, which is part of my reasoning behind this series. I think a lot of industrial and related acts like these guys had influence that reached outside of that relatively small bubble. I think in some cases that influence may be second-hand (for example, people influenced by Autechre, while Autechre had more direct industrial influences), but I hear industrial & EBM influences all over the place these days.

That's an interesting way to put it, and again, I think you're right. :)

Cheers!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43